Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 18 Nov. 2006
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
I have read this book twice now and is an excellent read. It gives such insight into the apollo missions.

The first time I read it I whizzed through it. It is totally engrossing.

I just wish I could have been there to see it all for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giant leaps for mankind, 5 Mar. 2007
By 
C. R. Williams "rockinhepcat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Andrew Chaikin recorded the personal experiences of our heroes and together with the facts of the missions makes this book, in my opinion the best account of the Apollo missions ever documented.

I have read this book many times, used it as reference and I will read it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full moon, 6 Mar. 2001
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Probably the most useful and best-written account of the Apollo project that anybody needs, this even manages the seemingly impossible feat of making missons 12, and 14-17 interesting - no mean feat, as they were essentially lengthier re-runs of earlier missions. According to the blurb it took the author 8 years to write, and he interviewed all the then-surviving astronauts (a couple have passed away since then), including the reclusive Neil Armstrong, so kudos for all the hard work. It would have been wasted if the book had been a dry textbook, but it's well-written, dramatically-paced, and compelling. As somebody else mentions, it makes the silly 'faked moon landing conspiracy' seem extremely childish and silly. There's a spartan set of pictures (check out Michael Light's 'Full Moon' for many more) and a useful set of appendices which summarise the facts in compact form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight in to mans race to land a man ..., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Excellent insight in to mans race to land a man on the moon. Lots of info backed by a real feel for all the events concerning this world changing event. This is not an easy read but anyone who has an interest then it's a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling surprise, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
This book was a surprise to me. Not so much a tale of derring-do and macho engineering as an insightful, sensitive and thought-provoking examination of the personalities of the astronauts who made those extraordinary journeys. The author and I are obviously comtemporaries as many of my memories of those days match his and I still look back on them with a mix of wistfulness and wonder......did those things actually happen?

It's one of those books I'm sure I'll go back to again and again, and sadly as the lunar astronauts are (literally) a dying breed the author's words are in many instances a suitable epitaph for a remarkable group of men.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book. I couldn't put it down, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Terrific book. I couldn't put it down. If you lived through the Apollo program this will bring back memories and fill in all of the facts you may have missed at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful,Stunning,enthraling., 15 April 2008
By 
A. Thorpe "crossan8" (Cheadle Cheshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Only read 31 pages so far but I know that this book is just a classic,so descriptive that you feel as if you are there during all of the events,it enhances my feelings about those pioneering,heroic supermen of my youth.I have also ordered the updated version which is the 5oth anniversary edition, it is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the most informative books I have read!, 22 Jan. 2000
By 
Colin P. Renouf (Croydon, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Andrew Chaikin has captured the spirit behind the Apollo missions brilliantly. This book provided the underlying story for 'From Earth to the Moon'. Now my friends and colleagues are reading this and are also finding they don't want to put it down. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Men dared to sit on top of Rockets!, 27 Aug. 2008
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive book about the Apollo space program that does an exceptional job of capturing one of the most incredible times in human history. It was a time when the belief was that we could do just about anything we set our minds to.

Andrew Chaikin does an amazing job of capturing the courage, the commitment, the sacrifices, the driving motives and vision of the astronauts, supporting crews, wives and more. This 600+ page book hardly wastes a word. The book was so good it was turned into a mini series by HBO.

It is clear that Chaikin has a deep passion and respect for the space program and the people in it. He brings the truth to this writing without much dirty laundry being exposed.

This book deserves a place on any space buff's book shelf. It is also a great read for anyone interested in true life adventure of men who dared to sit on the top of rockets and go where no one had gone before. Highly recommended!

The Re-Discovery of Common Sense: A Guide To: The Lost Art of Critical Thinking

Failure is Not an Option: Mission Control from Mercury to Apollo 13 and Beyond (Thorndike Paperback Bestsellers)

The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts
A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts by Andrew Chaikin (Paperback - 5 Jan. 1995)
Used & New from: £9.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews