Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a great read.
Are you looking for an excellent read which will make you or someone in your life laugh? Then look no further. The Moon's a Balloon (and "Bring on the Empty Horses!") are two of the funniest and most satisfying books I have ever read.

David Niven was not always a star. He had to go away and learn his trade in "B" movies before being allowed to enter the big...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Ned Middleton

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Kindle Balloon
This, as widely described, is a very engaging, very human biography. The book is fully reviewed elsewhere. This is a review of the Kindle version, and how disappointing that the publishers are prepared to put forward an edition for which they would be disowned by their mothers, had it been published on paper. The proof reading is terrible, inexcusable. Footnotes appear at...
Published on 17 Feb. 2011 by S. Cussons


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book because l have heard nothing but praise for it and I was never disappointed. I particularly liked the close friendships he had with all those people l had read and seen as a callow youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most entertaining read!!!, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. Michael Diamond (The United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moon's a Balloon (Paperback)
David Niven's autobiography has been, according to the likes of Michael Munn's latest biography on Mr Niven - 'The other side of the balloon', undermined by apparent confessions by the great man that he was 'fast and loose' with the facts in this autobiography.....well be that as it may, this book reads a bit like a boy's own adventure and as one review on Michael Munn's book explains (Mr C J Pilton) the book is an amazingly entertaining, often hilarious read - and yes, you are left inspired and uplifted by many of the anecdotes in the story - and lets be clear, the tone of the book seems to indicate Mr Niven's tongue was firmly in cheek a great deal of the time - so I shall take it ALL with a pinch of salt, and just enjoy the hilarious story.

Such a gentleman it would seem in interviews and on film, and yet here we read about wartime commando exploits,going AWOL, multiple expulsions from schools, Hollywood high jinks and females a plenty - what a guy!!!

And he makes reference to it in his introduction - I can imagine the cynic accusing him of much name dropping - but to me, it just read like a who's who, a fantastic insight into Hollywood at that time, as well as a very well written attempt to explain what seems like a most extraordinary life.

I have read it twice and twice I have been immensely entertained, I have recommended it to three people with a penhcant for autobiographies, and all their feedback has been positive - and I will read it again - Thankyou Mr Niven for such a fantastic, ripping yarn - and what a world away his book is from the inane drivel peddled by 'celebrities'these days.......Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and interesting, 10 July 2013
By 
L. Erickson "LINDA" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading it and found it made me laugh in places, but also empathise with him through his difficulties. It is an entertaining book, easy reading for a journey on a plane or train.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this as a teenager and lent the book to ..., 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this as a teenager and lent the book to somebody who never returned it. Just sorry I can't read Bring On The Empty Horses on kindle as it's my only means of reading now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 8 Mar. 2013
A very good read. David Niven is a very good story teller and humorous. Fascinating life he has lead from childhood to army to Hollywood to WW2 and back to Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The moons a ballon, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband nagged me into buying this book, I am not a fan on these sort of books, but hey I tried it and it is a very good read, would highly recommend anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful read, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful read, very modest man who wrote with great humour and eloquence. I hope the 2nd volume is out in Kindle edition before too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good laugh, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny interesting read for anyone who remembers David Niven and the Hollywood
stars of his day. Easy to read and a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon's a Balloon (Hardcover)
I read this book over thirty years ago and decided I would like to read it again. What a wonder raconteur David Niven was. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just loved it all old hollywood stars and all round world war II make you realise we should not complain
well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moon's a Balloon
The Moon's a Balloon by David Niven (Paperback - 27 Oct. 1994)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews