Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An very enjoyable and feelgood read
Peter Mayle's earlier books on his time in Provence have introduced us to a utopian world of sun, fine wine and cuisine, the quirks of provencal living and a number of interesting characters. What he does in Hotel Pastis is use this idyllic world as a background for the telling of what is generally a very uncomplicated but warm and cheerful story. We've all read those...
Published on 18 Dec 2002 by Matthew Child

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a gentle read
A nice book. Very pleasant and easy to read. Dont know that i would read another book by this author straight away as I suspect they might all be the same.
Published 11 months ago by ali100


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hotel Pastis a very enjoyable read, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion this is the best and most enjoyable of Peter Mayle books having now read most of his books,a bit far fetched in places but fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life changes, love changes, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly good read. Some unexpected turns of events. Now awaiting the sequel, does Ernest get together with Madame Pons?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
another great read,have not yet read s bad book by the fantastic peter Mayer ,just about to start the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great easy going read, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
Loved Hotel Pastis as much as the books that have gone before, A Vintage Caper, A Good Year and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life's Story, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
What a great and amusing writer Peter Mayle is. He combines a strong story with outrageous humour and by the end of the work I was disappointed that it had ended. I really love his work and can't think why I have only just come across this author. I was tempted to try him by an offer on Kindle and have been hooked ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!!!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, wasn't quite what I was expecting, but was a really good read. I read this authors "Provence" books many years ago, and this one was as entertaining and funny as I found those books, brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars magnifique!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent read from the pen of Peter Mayle. Lots of twists to keep the pages turning. I would have liked a little more detail of the peripheral dénouement. However this did not detract in any way from the novel. If you like France don't put this one back on the shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a gentle read, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
A nice book. Very pleasant and easy to read. Dont know that i would read another book by this author straight away as I suspect they might all be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Reading, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book especially when reading it in France with a book in one hand, glass of wine in the other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hotel Pastis, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Pastis (Kindle Edition)
Amusing and humorous, the scents & flavours of the
Luberon are all waiting here to transport you to deepest Provence......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotel Pastis
Hotel Pastis by Peter Mayle (Paperback - 7 July 1994)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews