Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Musa's translation of Dante
As a non-Italian-reader I came to Dante through the no doubt common path of T.S. Eliot's poetry and critical writing. Mark Musa's Portable Dante is a useful volume in that it includes La Vita Nuova as well as The Divine Comedy. (Although unfortunately no extracts from Dante's treatise on vernacular poetry, which Eliot and Ezra Pound so often mention.) I've enjoyed reading...
Published on 27 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My favourite translation but.........
The Mark Musa translation is the one I find easiest to read out of the 4 I have, and I wanted a Kindle version, BUT
This version for some reason has the notes scattered throughout the text rather than separated at the end of each Canto as in the hard copy version.
It makes it almost impossible to keep the thread through the Cantos, especially for a largish note...
Published 17 months ago by S. Harris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Musa's translation of Dante, 27 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Portable Dante (Viking Portable Library) (Paperback)
As a non-Italian-reader I came to Dante through the no doubt common path of T.S. Eliot's poetry and critical writing. Mark Musa's Portable Dante is a useful volume in that it includes La Vita Nuova as well as The Divine Comedy. (Although unfortunately no extracts from Dante's treatise on vernacular poetry, which Eliot and Ezra Pound so often mention.) I've enjoyed reading C.H. Sisson's translation (which contains a good fat section of commentary at the back); but this one is obviously more literal -- for example the small section Dante wrote in Provencal (Purgatorio XXVI) is given in Provencal and translated in a footnote, which is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A translation that captures the Comedia's essence, 30 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Portable Dante (Viking Portable Library) (Paperback)
Little is needed to be said about Dante's masterpiece of poetry and allegory. Many translations exist, but this one I found to be the best. Not only is it clear in expressing what the Poet himself wanted to evoke, it also captures his sense of rhythm as well as brilliant synthesis of words. Keeping the meter and discarding any meagre attempt to rhyme in English, Musa has provided what is probably the best version of Dante for those who cannot enjoy him in his native tongue. Finally, the scholar's notes make for great guidance through the historical/mythological/theological alterations of the Pilgrim's sojourn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Portable Dante, 23 July 2009
By 
Beatrice (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Portable Dante (Viking Portable Library) (Paperback)
A very easy to read translation for a novice to Dante's Inferno and the Comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My favourite translation but........., 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Mark Musa translation is the one I find easiest to read out of the 4 I have, and I wanted a Kindle version, BUT
This version for some reason has the notes scattered throughout the text rather than separated at the end of each Canto as in the hard copy version.
It makes it almost impossible to keep the thread through the Cantos, especially for a largish note e.g. the one on the Old Man of Crete in Canto XIV
Hopefully at some point the publisher will upgrade this version to one resembling the Kirkpatrick version, which has the notes linked as foot notes at the appropriate point in the text
but for this formatting problem I would have given it 5 stars
Addition 15th May 2013 - Having seen the paperback preview of this I now realise that the notes are actually at the foot of each page, and the Kindle version reproduces the notes in the right place, BUT, does not have the page breaks. Hence it appears that the notes are scattered at random
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Penguin should be ashamed, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Linda Smith (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew what to expect from previous reviews but it is the only Kindle edition of the Musa translation. Penguin is a major publisher who should be taking the trouble to convert their books properly, including a final edit. Having the footnotes strewn through the text is extremely irritating. It's not as if we paid considerably less for this mechanically-produced, no-human-involved spin off that has none of the production or storage costs of the printed version. My rating is inspired sheerly by the publication - it remains a great text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Portable Dante (Viking Portable Library)
The Portable Dante (Viking Portable Library) by Dante Alighieri (Paperback - 29 Jun 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews