Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I'm not sure I would have been able to get to the root of Buddhism as easily without Steve Hagen's book. Because of this book, I see the clarity of the Buddha's message. I respect the Buddha Dharma as it is essentially a scientific and experimental approach. One is not asked to take a leap of faith as so many other religions require. Buddhism is an adaptable approach that...
Published on 12 Mar. 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so clear...
I did not enjoy reading this. Yes, it was written in a plain, easyflowing manner, but ended up leaving me cold. It was very repetitive, but not very practical and I think it leaves the reader feeling rather clueless as to how to supposedly go about what is written in the text. It's all very well saying "everyone can do this NOW", but if we are so ignorant (as the...
Published on 15 Jan. 2013 by NineOrangeTrees


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Beautiful book, eye opening, especially to someone fed on a strict diet of rationality. Seeing that trying to conceptualize everything isn't the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must to read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and helpful book. Clearly written and true to its title. If you know nothing about the subject or want to know more, this is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommend, even if you have read other books on ..., 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Very straightforward to read. Give views that made a lot of sense. Definitely recommend, even if you have read other books on Buddhism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply in nature!, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Lovely book, easy to read and understand. Now just to put it into practice and enlighten my life and the life of those around me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Plain and simple, is exactly what this is, strips everything down, easy to read, and written in a wonderful understanding way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as it says on the cover, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
this book is written in a simple format that is easy to follow with no gobbledegook. explains very well what i wanted to know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begginers Introduction, 11 May 2006
By 
Mr. I. J. Thompson (Batley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
As a complete begginer in buddhism i bought this book to help inprove my knowledge, on what i have discovered to be a Very indepth subject. This book was an excellent aid in starting me off learning about buddhism, one which i would recommend to anyone. If you want to know about buddhism from a non-biased point of view and not from specific schools within buddhism this is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 23 April 2010
By 
Eric Ramaz (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
A friend of mine lend me this book a while back and I bought this one for another friend (couldn't help reading it again too^^)
An amazing book, very easy to read...it's enlightening, what else can I say?
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Me "MeMe" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only book on Buddhism I need. Refer to this slot. Good for beginners and anyone interested. I've got a paper back too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and straightforward, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
A good introduction - which delivers what it says in the title. A good starting point for anyone new to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana)
Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) by Steve Hagen (Paperback - 29 April 1999)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews