Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I'm not sure I would have been able to get to the root of Buddhism as easily without Steve Hagen's book. Because of this book, I see the clarity of the Buddha's message. I respect the Buddha Dharma as it is essentially a scientific and experimental approach. One is not asked to take a leap of faith as so many other religions require. Buddhism is an adaptable approach that...
Published on 12 Mar. 2002

versus
69 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buddhism: Vague and Hollow
Steve Hagen is American. It's really unfair to turn this against him, but I want to use this fact to illustrate just one of the ways in which his approach to Buddhism seems quite suspect. At the core of this very unclear book is one, clear-cut message: that in order to truly "see" reality, the mind must let go of all pre-conceived ideas, beliefs and concepts. Supporting...
Published on 30 Mar. 2010 by Rusty


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
I'm not sure I would have been able to get to the root of Buddhism as easily without Steve Hagen's book. Because of this book, I see the clarity of the Buddha's message. I respect the Buddha Dharma as it is essentially a scientific and experimental approach. One is not asked to take a leap of faith as so many other religions require. Buddhism is an adaptable approach that can work with any culture imaginable and any religion imaginable. Steve Hagen has presented a work that westerners can digest and easily find application to their everyday lives. Why? Because the core of Buddhism remains in the 4 noble truths and Mr. Hagen has done a superb job at focusing on just that. I fit the sterotype of a western skeptic myself, and can't find any argument against the 4 noble truths. If you are sincere about investigating Buddhism, read about the core of the Buddha's teaching, sincerely apply it to your life, then decide for yourself the value in it. Mr. Hagen's book is not the only way to do this, but I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and simple, 13 April 2009
By 
C. V. Crosbie "Savi" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
clear and concise exactly what I needed. For anyone who wishes to know just what Buddism is about this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Begginers Start here, 25 Jan. 2006
By 
Philip Walker "always learning" (Staffordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
This is the 1st book about buddhism I read. I have read also Buddhism without beliefs, Buddhism is not what you think, Returning to silence, and Everyday Zen. This was an excellent introduction and 'plain and Simple' as the title suggests. Simply an excellent starting point for those interested in learning about buddhism...get your toes wet with this first before moving onto far more indepth texts such as Everyday Zen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking!!, 29 Mar. 2009
By 
Ms. B. Jenkins "Bikerbint" (Swansea Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Not being an intellectual had to re-read sections to grasp the concepts but I really loved this book and it has left me wanting to further explore Zen Buddhism..I would love to be able to take Steve's classes I bet he's one hell of a guide..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Excellence!, 27 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
This man is able to strip buddhism down to what it is really all about (presence and awareness). This book is so simple, highlighting the Buddhas deepest teachings in the way I think the Buddha would've done it himself. Buddha is famous for remaining silent when he was asked a question which had nothing to do with the brass tacks of presence and awareness. This man has done him proud in this book and for anyone interested in Buddhism or spiritual enlightenment this is a must read book. A book called THE ONE also highlights this simplicity deeply and beautifully and together they should help to bring the enlightenment you seek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book on Buddhism, read this, 21 Jun. 2001
By 
John Wilkinson (Liverpool United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
Steven Hagen's book strips away all the cultural accretions surrounding the subject and gets down to the core message.
His style is easy to read and connects with real life.
Rather than dwell on the ins and outs of reincarnation, 'other realms' and distracting imports of mainstream eastern buddhism, Hagen sticks to the main message of the Buddha.
An excellent introduction and one I have come back to after reading other 'recommended' books that seem to miss the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to Buddhism., 2 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
I have read a number of introductions to Buddhism and this is probably the one I have found the most helpful. It explains the core teachings of Buddhism without asking the reader to accept anything on trust, and as such seems ideally geared to the sceptical Westerner. It is written in a very clear and straightforward style - it could hardly be more enlightening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to Buddhist insight and practice, 25 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
Although the author continually stresses the attainability of enlightenment and the practicality of the techniques for cultivating it, he manages to do this without ever suggesting that it is anything less than the only thing that matters - the only truly satisfying goal of a human life.
Although "Buddhism Plain and Simple" generally avoids technical discussions of Buddhist philosophy, there is an extremely interesting appendix which presents one of the most "technical" subjects in Buddhism - the twelve-link chain of Dependent Arising (pratityasamutpada). Each of the twelve links is presented from two perspectives - Bondage and Liberation. For example, regarding the first link, Ignorance, Bondage is "to ignore the Reality of this moment. It is blindness to the direct perception that this moment neither arises, persists, nor perishes.". In contrast, Liberation is "to see the Reality of this moment. It is to perceive directly that this moment neither arises, persists, nor perishes." Each of the twelve links is given a similar treatment. I find this the most refreshing and compelling presentation of this subject that I have come across. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judge THIS book by its cover., 9 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. S. Hooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this book looking for 'something', what I found was much greater.

It is not a book of answers, it provides the reader with the desire to ask the questions and this is much more powerful than a series of spoon-fed answers which, by definition cannot be relied upon.

It may, as some have suggested, seem a little repetitive but as I read this over a series of evenings I found this repetition to be useful as it helped to put the thoughts I was experiencing into context.

Religion, Faith, Belief whatever your preferred term is handled in here but if you are looking for something to try to help your understanding but do not want to feel the pressure of a given 'tradition' or to have to kneel to be worthy then this book may help you. Religion is addressed but at no point do you feel you must begin to chant or pray in order to complete the experience.

There are still many unanswered questions for me such as 'what is consciousness?' and this is my next step; however, I feel that this book has empowered 'me' to try to see 'me' as part of The Whole.

A few evenings invested in this book is but a small investment in time and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise; thought-provoking; highly recommended, 13 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for those of us who have been pondering questions about the meaning of life for some time. I picked up this book expecting it to be an introduction to Buddhism - but it's not what I expected at all (a welcome surprise!) This book is direct and to the point, bypassing all the exterior "trappings" of Buddhism as a religion to expose the core of what the Buddha's teaching actually was. Therefore this book is aimed at the seeker (as opposed to the researcher). This book seems unstructured in parts but that is a good thing - it has a natural flow to it which helped me to pull together a lot of what I have been learning/discovering/remembering over the past few months. A refreshing, insightful and inspiring read. It turns out that the Buddha-dharma is what I had been working towards, via such books as The Happiness Hypothesis. It's fantastic to have this book express all of that so concisely and clearly, to be read and re-read. The only problem is of course that now I have to live, not just read more books about how to go about living :) To sum up: This isn't the book for you if you are interested in just learning about Buddhism; this is the book for you if you are serious about "waking up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana)
Buddhism Plain and Simple (Arkana) by Steve Hagen (Paperback - 29 April 1999)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews