Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking if characteristically erratic collection
Originally commissioned by his architect friend, Species of Spaces is a meditation on the spaces which we occupy and the ways in which we order them. Forming the main section of this book, it is also one of its highlights: original, informed and often witty. It's a piece which takes a fresh look at what surrounds us, offering a refreshing perspective on how we live. The...
Published on 25 Jan. 2001 by Mr. Paul J. Bradshaw

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated
It is nice in parts, but too much panning for too little gold. The "art of elucidation" is after a while boring and annoying and it is questionable whether a phenomenology of living and space can be arrived at simply by listing things.
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by gardenboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking if characteristically erratic collection, 25 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Species of Spaces and Other Pieces: Georges Perec (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Originally commissioned by his architect friend, Species of Spaces is a meditation on the spaces which we occupy and the ways in which we order them. Forming the main section of this book, it is also one of its highlights: original, informed and often witty. It's a piece which takes a fresh look at what surrounds us, offering a refreshing perspective on how we live. The rest of the book is taken up with a collection of pieces ranging from the autobiographical to the surreal. Some of these pieces are extremely compelling pieces of storytelling, while others give you an insight into the oblique perspective of Perec. Occasionally, however, there is a weaker piece which, being a completist text, it is naturally hard to avoid. But this considered, as a whole the book is a special collection which should form part of any Perec fan's bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spaces in words, 18 Oct. 2009
this is one of the most beautiful and accessible works by Georges Perec. An essay on the way in which we use space and how we might consider other forms of inhabitation from our bedroom to the universe. It's lightness would have delighted his friend and collaborator Italo Calvino (see Six Memos for the Next Millennium (Penguin Modern Classics)). It's full of humour and linguistic dexterity but also pathos. if there are shortcomings in the world we live in, perhaps these are our own responsibility for not caring and not looking deeply or imaginatively at the what surrounds us. One of my favourite books and most repeated gift to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Question your teaspoons!, 23 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Species of Spaces and Other Pieces: Georges Perec (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Mr Perec and other Oulipo writers, and I reckon this is a fine introduction to his range and vitality as a writer. I return to the different pieces again and again, they are thought-provoking and insightful by turns. Especially good are Think/classify, the title-piece and his thoughts on fashion. In these short works, his interest in penetrating the world we inhabit through the things around us often termed mundane is really refreshing. Sociology is made accessible here and distilled with literary and linguistic knowledge to make a quite unique mix.
For such a technical master, Perec also manages to move on an emotive level - Rue Vilin is a piece about periodic returns to the street where his ma lived before she was taken by the Nazis. Also, the analysis of his psycho analysis is revealing without ever saying too much.
Finally, the translations manage to keep the readability of the selections very well I thought.
One criticism is that there were not more pieces included, perhaps some more Oulipo related work might have been put in - there is not much of this translated into English, although it is maybe not the easiest of tasks to do well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bit wild but good buy, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived quickly and it's a great book for architecture students, although it is quite confusing! I'm sure it will last me over the years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really useful to the architecture students, it shows a new way to explore space and learn from the info-ordinary thing surrounding us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and valuable to me for the contents of Spaces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best architectural education
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over rated, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is nice in parts, but too much panning for too little gold. The "art of elucidation" is after a while boring and annoying and it is questionable whether a phenomenology of living and space can be arrived at simply by listing things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 14 April 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Species of Spaces and Other Pieces: Georges Perec (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
The cleverest man who ever died, bit doesnt make you feel stupid- only more aware of the things and words around you. A great accompanyment to "A Void" and "Life..." and a reasonable introduction to Oulipo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Species of Spaces and Other Pieces: Georges Perec (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics)
Used & New from: £5.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews