Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful rich novel with great characters
Saul Bellow has created a wonderful off the wall at times, complex easy reading novel - its about a man's yearning and searching with the words "I want" going around in his head leading him on to find himself. This book had me laughing out loud and wondering about the many insightful happenings and wisdom from the characters that have profound teachings. This is a real...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Mr. R. N. Lock

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The emperor's new clothes..
A case of... ?
Occasionally genuinely amusing and unique in its approach, but more often than not obtuse and vague in its intentions. A real struggle to finish. Has dated greatly in comparison to the Roths and Updikes of the same period.
Published on 25 July 2005 by Alfie Knox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful rich novel with great characters, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. N. Lock "Ricky Lock" (Bexley, Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Saul Bellow has created a wonderful off the wall at times, complex easy reading novel - its about a man's yearning and searching with the words "I want" going around in his head leading him on to find himself. This book had me laughing out loud and wondering about the many insightful happenings and wisdom from the characters that have profound teachings. This is a real mix and different, I also loved the backdrop of Africa that the story weaves around - this book will be well remembered after, and for me it will always leave a smile on my face when I remember it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book that's Fun to Read, 22 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This book proves that great writing can be readable. I read this novel for the first time over twenty years ago, several times in between, and it was just as wonderful last week. You laugh, you cry, you empathize. If you're tired of beach books, but also weary of pseudointellectual book snobs who tell you that prose must be labyrinthine to be literature, and that laughable isn't laudable, take this book on vacation and share it with a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaving the existance of becoming for existance., 14 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
One of my personal favorites. An inspiring novel that will strike a chord in the heart of anyone who has felt in need of something greater in their lives than themselves, Henderson the Rain King is a hectic journey of one man through not only the world, but life and, perhaps most importantly, his own soul. Henderson is constantly in a process of becoming in his own mind, and in his fervor to try and metamorphasize into a type of finished being, he fails to notice that through his evolution he is achieving his goal of simply existing. He is lovably egocentric; existing as the sun of his own universe while striving to gain an orbit of his own. He uses his wives to try to fill some empty spot in his existance, professing over and over again his love for his current wife, with little notice or mention of any real depth or desire that she may possess, speaking only of her beauty and creating a view of the female gender that smacks of Hemingway. Henderson's deficiency is one of the soul, and enlightenment is the only path which will bring him peace. He possesses a jaded love of life, in so much as he has experienced enough horror in the world that he cannot look upon it in wide-eyed wonder, but is struck profoundly by the sights and moments in life which are filled with rough hewn and genuine beauty which do inspire in him a sense of awe. It is these moments and spaces of depth within his soul which make his dark optimism for life so endearing. He is, as he himself says, a creature constantly becoming, yet it is through this constant evolution that he reaches his goal, finds peace, and fulfills the "I want"s. He is a man not of thought but of action, and it is only from within himself that he may realize that it is only through perpetual becoming that Henderson the Rain King may exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The emperor's new clothes.., 25 July 2005
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
A case of... ?
Occasionally genuinely amusing and unique in its approach, but more often than not obtuse and vague in its intentions. A real struggle to finish. Has dated greatly in comparison to the Roths and Updikes of the same period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good bits, 21 Aug 2012
This book starts off really well with some great phrases and a bellicose main character whose opinions are on life are brashly entertaining. He is a man of great energy and likes to barge his way into every situation and take control. This gets him into a couple of spots of bother on a trip to Africa. The first of these is tinged with black humour as his unbridled enthusiasm in himself leads to an inevitable disaster.

Sadly it goes horribly wrong after that with vast rambling philosophical passages that I found difficult to penetrate let alone understand. I probably just didn't get it and I didn't actually dislike the book as a whole. I just found it a bit frustrating. Like Henderson himself, for all it's opening bluster it offered nothing. Maybe that was the point though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henderson The Rain King, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Very original voice - funny and thought provoking. Slower to start but worth reading as it sets the scene and then you are off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THANX JONI...A WONDERFUL READ, 8 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
I decided to read this book because I had heard that Joni Mitchell, one of my musical idols, had copped the title of her song "Both Sides, Now" from one of the lines in this book. I'm so glad that I decided to give this novel a try. It has so many heartfelt and honest observations about life in it that you find yourself rereading and rerereading sections just for their truth and beauty. This is the first book by Bellow that I'd ever tried, and now I certainly want to read more by him. Henderson's adventures in Africa are exciting and humorous in themselves, but it is Henderson's observations about life, and how he grows and matures over the course of the novel, that make the book for me. By all means, give this wonderful book a read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And it is hilarious!, 11 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
Not only does Eugene Henderson's journey of discovery touch and teach the reader, but he is an unbelievable buffoon. This is one of the funniest books -- period. Bellow makes Henderson so self-centered, he can't be bothered by details... such as which of his children are in the custody of his ex-wife. She's got one of them, well fine, she can have it, God bless the both of them (or something like that)! Really, Henderson is capable of something great (including great suffering) because he's human, only honest -- plus a few pounds and nose-size. The Counting Crows' _August and Everything After_ includes songs based on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fell below expectations, 7 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
I expected this to be a much better book than it was - as, after all, it is a 'classic'.
Our book group chose to read it last month, and not one of us enjoyed i; we are quite a varied bunch - this joins one or two other books in our 7 year history as definitely 'not worth it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am the rain king, 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
The words 'I am the rain king' were the reason that I picked up this book. The lead singer of Counting Crows, Adam Duritz, made me read this book. He did this by simply comparing Henderson to himself in the song 'Rain King'. This made me realise what a wonderful book it must be. When I read it I was not disapointed. It holds a world of thoughts and feelings that can be taken from the words and felt by the reader. "He's a figure of excess. He wants more than he has; he thinks he deserves more than he's got. Joyously and pathetically, he pours all over everyone like a big open wound. In one sense, he's great because he's actually living -- but in another, he's a mess, and he's heading for a very dark place" - Adam Duritz, on Henderson the Rain King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics)
Henderson the Rain King (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) by Saul Bellow (Paperback - 28 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews