Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Delight
This is the best of Thomas. His affinity with the Welsh, his love of language, particularly their language, his melancholy and his air of delightfully mischievous humour just permeate this work through and through.
This was originally written to be heard, as a play for voices, i.e. radio. Reading it, however wonderful, and it is, is never going to replace the joy...
Published on 22 Nov. 2007 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange read
Did this for an english A level. Weird in parts but funny in others. A must for any english literature enthusiast.
Published 15 months ago by alison williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Delight, 22 Nov. 2007
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
This is the best of Thomas. His affinity with the Welsh, his love of language, particularly their language, his melancholy and his air of delightfully mischievous humour just permeate this work through and through.
This was originally written to be heard, as a play for voices, i.e. radio. Reading it, however wonderful, and it is, is never going to replace the joy of listening to it, or seeing it in production. The play brings out the musical quality and the joyous rhythm of the words, and I would recommend using the book as a companion piece to the radio play, which is also available to buy.
I love the wonderful use of alliteration and repetition which makes this work seem so primal and ritualistic. I love the cheekiness of the characters; the blind captain, who reminds us that what we have to do is listen, the anally retentive housewife with two dead husbands who she still henpecks even after death and the drowned sailors like a Greek chorus pulling us back to the reality of ever present death roiling under all that effervescent life.
A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The moon is a permanent eclipse, 18 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
One full day, from night to night, in a Welsh village, town and harbour. All Dylan Thomas's art is there everywhere everpresent in those few odd but packed pages. Unforgettable oxymorons : « night's first darkening snow ». Unforseeable metaphors : « his dream buckets down ». Unpredictable similes : « her ears fall off like figs ». A permanent joy, even in the most squalid situations : « and quick as a flash he [Mr Pugh] ducks her [Mrs Pugh] in rat soup ». The permanent music of the language and of innumerable songs : « We are a musical nation ». The simple and healthy desires of man for woman and especially of woman for man : « Tom who is two yards long, Dick who is three feet thick, Harry who is as sweet as a cherry, the good bad boys from the lonely farms, Willy Wee who is six feet deep, and Mr Waldo in Pembroke City, the chimbley sweep, till a kind young woman took pity, come and sweep my chimbley ». Everywhere we are at sea and in the hills enjoying life and its misfits, misdeeds, and misadventures from wave to wood, from beach to bloom and broom, « Let me shipwreck in your thighs ». « Off to Gomorrah » as Jack Black says, « all black like the Ace of Spades ». Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universities II and IX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars For Captain Cat, 21 July 2004
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Under Milk Wood seems to be very out of fashion at the moment, maybe suffering from a hangover of being so popular in the 1970s. I don't think any schools or universities put it on their reading lists these days.
It is colloquial, but at the same time universally appealing. The lyricism of the language is so nice to read. And there's a bit of everything here, sadness, love, humour, marriage, poisoning, dreams. In its themes it is rather like James Joyce's Finnegans Wake, with the difference that Under Milk Wood is always a pleasure to read and never frustrates.
This play maybe sad in tone, but is never maudlin or cynical.
It concentrates on small town life, and small town squalor but is never political. Overall it's a very affectionate book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Saw it live, 21 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
In the 1950s a friend insisted that i go to see Under Milk Wood at the Theatre Royal in Newcastle. As a non-Welsh lover I went reluctantly, and spent ttwo hours with my chin down to my lower chest! I have loved it ever since that night.

Donald Houston as the narator was superb - his voice, lighter in colour than Burton's, made the verse sing.

Oh! to die of drink and agriculture.

Bert G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I first read 'Under Milk Wood' for my A Levels many years ago and it totally mesmerised me. Not only did I love Thomas's unique and inventive way with words but I could actually hear the Welsh accent coming through as I read - how did he do that? Since then I've listened to the audio CD several times and have never grown tired of it - indeed, on every listening there is another gem I find to chuckle at or remember.

For anyone who loves words and language this book is a must - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under Milkwood, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Delightful. Have three children. Read it each time when a child was being born. Helped the whole procedure! Delightful! Delightful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for someone studying at Uni - loved it and found it really useful to aid study and advance knowledge of Dylan Thomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange read, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Did this for an english A level. Weird in parts but funny in others. A must for any english literature enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) (Paperback)
!st class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics)
Under Milk Wood: A Play for Voices (Penguin Modern Classics) by Dylan Thomas (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews