Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine introduction to Neruda's work
A girlfriend handed me this book while she went upstairs to change for our date. She came down ready 20 minutes later but we never actually left the house, as we spent the evening reading Neruda's poems to each other. Neruda writes with such imagination, conjouring delicate and emotive images that sometimes require several readings to appreciate. Delightful, intelligent...
Published on 2 Mar. 2004 by Thomas Pots

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor layout
This is a surprisingly poorly-produced edition. The bilingual layout has the Spanish text nicely laid out on the left pages, and the English on the right, but the gutter chosen for the English is wrong so that the text is practically in the spine and the book has to be forced right open for comfortable reading. The paper is also poor. Nothing can spoil the poems...
Published on 17 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor layout, 17 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This is a surprisingly poorly-produced edition. The bilingual layout has the Spanish text nicely laid out on the left pages, and the English on the right, but the gutter chosen for the English is wrong so that the text is practically in the spine and the book has to be forced right open for comfortable reading. The paper is also poor. Nothing can spoil the poems themselves, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine introduction to Neruda's work, 2 Mar. 2004
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
A girlfriend handed me this book while she went upstairs to change for our date. She came down ready 20 minutes later but we never actually left the house, as we spent the evening reading Neruda's poems to each other. Neruda writes with such imagination, conjouring delicate and emotive images that sometimes require several readings to appreciate. Delightful, intelligent and more, it has been very sympathetically translated, though some of his rhyming works lose their rhyme in translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Pablo Neruda, 3 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
I love this volume, as sparse as it is because it is bilingual. No, don't speak Spanish. A smattering but enough to read out loud, although poorly. So with the English translation it is easy to follow and Mr Neruda was an orator and spoke with his verse to communicate to the heart of people. It covers 1924 up to 1967 and looks as if it has cherry picked a lot of the well known poems and missed some such as "Body of Woman" and "Lazybones". But it does have "Tonight I can Write the Saddest Lines" from Twenty love poems and a poem of despair and the visceral "The Word" from Plenos Poderes. A credible job in editing and the translations do not jar.It is accessible poetry and this book is a good place to start for those who like words to enter your blood and make your heart sing and cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most touching poems ever, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
This book is filled with some of the best works of Pablo Neruda. Reading it brought back memories of people I know and have met. The poem Escribir, Por ejemplo:'la noche...., this poem was the first given to me by a very good spanish friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chile poet, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
I have 3 of his books and enjoy them all especially after visiting his house when in Chile last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) (Paperback)
great item and seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics)
Selected Poems (Penguin Twentieth Century Classics) by Pablo Neruda (Paperback - 26 Mar. 1992)
Used & New from: £1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews