Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars52
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2015
Too much child abuse horrible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
The book is okay but dated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
yet another book to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Only buy this if you want to read about children having sex or being raped. For some strange reason people think that it is acceptable because it was written by a literary woman in the 1940's - but don't kid yourselves, if you buy this book then you should know what you are buying.

Here are some examples of the type of thing the short stories are about (cut and pasted)

THE BOARDING SCHOOL is a harrowing tale of voyeuristic priests and a young boy being gang-bang sodomised by his classmates.

PIERRE – The anarchist who appears in Elana has aback story of his own, in which his sexual awakening involved the necrophiling of a woman’s body rescued from a quayside. Chased and almost captured, Pierre receives a slow sexual education from other women but he remains haunted by his crime.

THE HUNGARIAN ADVENTURER tells of the downfall of a notorious womaniser, known only as The Baron, a modern day Casanova. He meets a Brazilian stripper and decides to settle down to married life. They have two daughters and a son. Feeling the urge to commit adultery, the Baron takes his sexual frustration out by turning into an incestuous paedophile, trying to seduce first the daughters and then the son. When they reject and leave him, he is abandoned to die alone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Very poor condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
A beautiful read for an erotic piece of literature. The words Anaîs uses to describe every situation and the way all the stories connect with one another draws the reader in from the beginning. Would definitely recommend!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
I'm half way through this book and found some of the stories troubling. I'm wondering what is the purpose of the book. Is it to describe the peverse world we live in. Of course some of the stories are fun, but it does get boring after a while, it's just the same stuff re-written in different contexts. Frankly, my own imagination is much more fun! It's the first book of this type I've read. I'm not going to bother buying another.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Crude and crass
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
She's got guts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Left me cold!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse