Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An understated classic
I have tried numerous times to read Undertones of War, and given up each time as i became frustrated by what i percieved as difficult language and a rambling narrative. But finally, at aged 35 i read my Grandfather's book, and it finally all clicked into place. The humour, the understated horror, his warmth, humanity and love for his fellow soldiers shine through the...
Published on 8 Feb. 2009 by Ms. Ck Blunden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story
But I'm not fond of his writing style. I have not opened this for about six months because I have so much trouble with it. To me his writing is stilted and doesn't flow.
Published 22 months ago by Sanfidele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars UNDERTONES OF WAR, 17 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE AUTHOR WRITES WITH SINCERITY ABOUT THE FIRST WORLD WAR AND HE SHOWS TENDERNESS AND AFFECTIOMN FOR HIS MEN. THE CHAPTER CONCERNING THE BATTLE OF THE BOARS HEAD IN WHICH HE WAS INVOLVED SHOWS UP THE ARROGANCE AND IGNORANCE OF THE GENERALS. THE PHRASE "lions led by donkeys" is more than an adequate descripion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reality of trench life, 11 Feb. 2015
By 
R. Harrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grim reality of trench life, not unlike the great Chronicles of Ancient Sunlight series of novels by Henry Williamson. Good to find it available after all these years. Poems seem lesser than Owen's, to me, at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blunden's perspective on Somme and Ypres., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must-read book if you want to learn more about the Battles of the Somme and Ypres. Blunden uses his poetical skills to involve his reader in trench warfare during World War One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poetic and a challenging read, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult read. Not always easy to follow the time and location changes. Brilliant descriptions of place and soldier's response to seasonal changes despite the killing madness of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blunden - Undertones, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing quite like reading first hand accounts from the trenches. Gives a much better feel to what they had to put up with and more so when you visit Flanders to pay your respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But I'm not fond of his writing style. I have not opened this for about six months because I have so much trouble with it. To me his writing is stilted and doesn't flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brillian I found it very warming as I am a huge fan hen it comes to gaining extra knowledge! It is a brilliant book to be able to say that I have read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful purchase. Very impressed by its condition. Thank you also for a quick delivery. Magnificent all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tough read, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a brilliant book, but I found the reading really tough as the print is quite small.worth the effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most beautifully written account of trench warfare I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undertones of War (Twentieth Century Classics)
Undertones of War (Twentieth Century Classics) by Edmund Blunden (Paperback - 26 Mar. 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews