Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BARGAIN
As a David Lodge fan [see my report on Deaf Sentence ] I thought it was time I read some of his earlier work and this three for the price of one decent paper back tempted me . I am so very glad that it did .
David Lodge at his insightful , humorous best as we trace the trials , tribulations and ambitions of two entirely different academics from each side of the pond...
Published on 16 July 2010 by Alexander Bryce

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three in one
Although I enjoy David Lodge books I was very disappointed when this volume arrived . I was expecting three books , not the three in one book which I find very heavy and awkward to cope with especially to read in bed which is where I usually do read. L Wilson
Published on 3 April 2010 by Mrs. L. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BARGAIN, 16 July 2010
By 
Alexander Bryce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
As a David Lodge fan [see my report on Deaf Sentence ] I thought it was time I read some of his earlier work and this three for the price of one decent paper back tempted me . I am so very glad that it did .
David Lodge at his insightful , humorous best as we trace the trials , tribulations and ambitions of two entirely different academics from each side of the pond . The slightly stayed , but randy none the less , English lecturer and the more worldly and even more randy American professor. Set against the two countries very different worlds of academia and written by someone who knows of which he writes this is a very interesting and laugh out loud trilogy .
Written between 1975 and 1988 and spanning three decades they engender a nice feeling for the not so distant past with references to costs , communications and general living standards which beg the question : Is this really how we lived just 20 to 35 years ago ? It could take place in another century . Come to think of it : it did , but you know what I mean .
I mentioned that there is humor . There is also eroticism . And indeed humorous eroticism or erotic humor. Bags of both .
A compact volume for light , entertaining , holiday reading . It is a great buy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Campus Novel Genre, 3 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
Whether you are new to David Lodge, or whether you are familiar with his other works, this trilogy is a must for every reader. No small book collection or vast library is complete without it.
Lodge's trilogy spans three decades of the 'international [university] campus'. In Phillip Swallow and Morris Zapp, we see two central characters who are poles apart professionally and personally and yet drawn together time and time again with hilarious and sometimes chaotic results.
Lodge demonstrates his knack of telling a good yarn and makes writing the contemporary novel appear effortless. If, like me, you thoroughly enjoy this collection you will probably go on to read his many other novels or critical works.
David Lodge is one of England's most talented and brilliant living writers and this trilogy is one of his best works. It is simply first rate. Just read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun campus novels, 18 April 2010
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
I always love campus novels, working in univerities as I do, and so much enjoyed this trilogy. (Didn't like the TV series as much though). I'd recommend anyone at a university to read these novels, Kingsley Amis's 'Lucky Jim', Malcolm Bradbury's 'The History Man', and for a 21st century take on things, 'A Campus Conspiracy' by Anon, and P.J.Vanston's dark university satire 'Crump'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a bit of social history, 20 Mar. 2004
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
I can't dissect this novel as well as the other reviewers but apart from being a rather cracking humourous read, these novels give me sense of what campus life was like in the twilight of the golden age of British academia and some very witty observations on the 70s and 80s Britain. Having used this set as a "taster" i went on to read far more dAvid Lodge than I originally expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Campus Novel Trilogy, 11 Mar. 2008
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
`Changing Places` begins a trilogy of campus novels (along with `Small World' and `Nice Work`) by the popular British author that are now available to purchase as an anthology. Reading all three books is further necessitated by the fact they share common characters. `Changing Places` is about the transformative experience of living in an another culture (albeit ones not vastly dissimilar, in this case the UK and US) and the social transformations taking places at the tail end of the 60s. The plot conceit, as with `Nice Work', is that two completely different people are displaced by an exchange programme foisted upon them by their employers. In this case, it involves a reserved British professor temporarily trading posts with a brash American academic - Morris Zapp and Phillip Swallow respectively.

While these characterisations are somewhat cliched, they are nonetheless written with an empirical astuteness of someone who recognises that most stereotypes have an element truth at their core. As with most of Lodge's novels, it is a compulsive read with attractively realised characters. Insightful, witty, and sometimes a little too symmetric in its plotting, his novels can be a little too neatly predictable. However, there is enough sex, humour and cutting social observation to sustain even the most cynical reader.

Of the 'trilogy', 'Small World' is arguably the most dated. Revolving around the frivolous exploits of a newly-made academic jet-set riding high at a time of increased travel opportunities and university wealth, it is the more prosaic of the three. Morris Zapp and Phillip Swallow get into increasingly improbable situations that start to border on slapstick, while a peripheral cast of characters cross paths in a series of unlikely comic coincidences around the world.

While Lodge has a great eye for the hypocrasies and pretentions of academic life, 'Small World' has less interesting things (compared to the other novels in the trilogy) about life outside academia and the context in these absurdities are allowed to take place. Given the unbeleivable nature of much of what happens, we depend a lot on the novel's humour, which frequently borders the banal. Moreover, of what is smugly depicted about the changing fortunes of the academics - their jet-setting in particular - seems dated now in a more global context where international travel is less and less exclusive. However, as always, Lodge is cutting when examining the petty conceits, jealousies and - in some cases - paranoia of his cast of writers and lecturers.

The third novel in the series, 'Nice Work', is a clever, well-constructed comedy and social commentary about a clash of cultures in a fictional industrial town in the Midlands. Well-paced and meticulously plotted, the novel revolves around the unlikely convergence of Dr Robyn Penrose - a professor of Women's studies and purporter of deconstructuralist and feminist theory - and Vic Wilcox, MD of an industrial engineering plant.

Written aptly at a time of great social transformation (Thatcher, class strife, the decline of industry and massive cuts to public spending) David Lodge pieces together an astute oberservation of British life. Moreover, he is a master at developing tangible and appealing characters by telling the story - alternately - from their perspective. Billed as `the campus novel meets the industrial novel', this is a highly readable and thought-provoking work. Taken in tandem, the three novels provide an entertaining view of academic life through three decades that is as interesting as a piece of social history as it is funny. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad professors fly around, 19 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
Anyone who's ever read other Lodge novels (and especially How far can you go? or The British Museum is falling down) will immediately recognize the unique style Lodge applies in his writing. Lodge is an avid observer of the ever-changing environment people live in and as he is a member of the scientific circles of the society, he focuses on this aspect of human existence. The Trilogy with its three novels reveals the usually unexposed facets of university life, but Lodge does that in the most entertaining manner. Without presenting summaries of plots of the individual stories, let it suffice to say that each of them is separate in their developments, however, the fates of the main heroes are intertwined in all three of them, so when reading the second or the third novel, there will be moments in which references will be made to events in the other(s). I would heartily recommend the Trilogy to anyone who wishes to spend a few hours a day taking a laughable read about "mad" university teachers. If one has ever been to a university, these stories will stir those happy memories of youth well spent, or youth wasted (depending on how one views that), but will certainly not leave one feel indifferent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Changing places, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
Enjoyed first book very much, particularly the way each chapter is written in a different literary style. Looking forward to reading the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain with laughs and serious reflections, 11 April 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
These three novels represent David Lodge at his most insightful on universities in general though "The British Museum is Falling Down" shows his talents on academic life equally well. In this collection he does not explore the Catholic theme but deals with different reactions to university life. This is particularly true of the exchange between Morris Zapp and Philip Swallow from - respectively - the USA and GB of the lates sixties in "Changing Places" which highlights cultural, social and individual differences with humour and insight. "Small World" is less appealing, to my mind, as the central character's naivete is amusing up to a point but reveals less of the acute perceptiveness for which we read David Lodge. "Nice Work" takes Robyn Penrose, feminist lecturer on the industrial novel into a factory where she shadows the unreconstituted Vic Wilcox and teaches him a number of things! There is humour here but also a serious theme: work in its many forms. The two main characters hold our interest as do a range of minor figures such as Vic's wife and family. All these novels are full of insights, strongly created scenes and humour - sometimes laugh-aloud - and all leave us with a sense of satisfaction at having encountered a readable yet thought-provoking book. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - literate, colourful, comical., 27 Dec. 2011
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
I have been reading this author's works over the last year - why because they are genuinely enjoyable.
It may partly be my age which seems to correspond with many of the events and attitudes I too experienced from the late 60's onwards and which David Lodge captures and elaborates so well. Try one for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, intelligent and evocative, 30 Jun. 2011
This review is from: A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work (Paperback)
This book is so well written and for me easy to read. Having experienced the British location of changing places around the same period, I can re-live how it was, picture the University then. People could be eccentric. The housing stock for rent was dodgy. David Lodge captures perfectly the funny side of life and how good we were at poking fun at ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work
A David Lodge Trilogy: Changing Places, Small World, Nice Work by David Lodge (Paperback - 29 Aug. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews