Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top book.
But Grant and Naylor doing their seperate things just isn't right... the guys are a gestalt entity for Christ's sake. Their whole becomes much greater than the sum of their parts.
As with the other Dwarf books this is arguably better than the TV series, with all the characters fleshed out a lot more believably, and storylines briefly touched on in the shows are...
Published on 5 Aug. 2000 by Christopher Morris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, brilliant , disappointing ending
It was quite confusing to visualize in the backwards world, and if that wasn't bad enough this book jumped around too much!!! The writing however was brilliant. Complete with juicy bits that really tantalizes your imagination. A few really good laughs. However I found the ending a little disapointing, leaving to many questions unanswered.
Published on 25 Feb. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top book., 5 Aug. 2000
By 
Christopher Morris "twister84" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
But Grant and Naylor doing their seperate things just isn't right... the guys are a gestalt entity for Christ's sake. Their whole becomes much greater than the sum of their parts.
As with the other Dwarf books this is arguably better than the TV series, with all the characters fleshed out a lot more believably, and storylines briefly touched on in the shows are expanded into actuality.
This book IS funny, and this book DOES have a good story. It's just a shame the trilogy couldn't have ended the way it was meant to. With Doug Naylor sharing the typewriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, brilliant , disappointing ending, 25 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
It was quite confusing to visualize in the backwards world, and if that wasn't bad enough this book jumped around too much!!! The writing however was brilliant. Complete with juicy bits that really tantalizes your imagination. A few really good laughs. However I found the ending a little disapointing, leaving to many questions unanswered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Jan. 2008
By 
Shrew (Belfast, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
A fantastic peice of science-fiction comedy that outshines Doug Naylor's "last Human" in every way. Very well written and has an intrigueing plot that, while it borrows its general situations from episodes from the series, does not spend its time rehashing the same plot twists and verbal interchanges. "last human" contained many conversations and jokes between characters that where merely carbon copies from the tv scripts, very lazy indeed. "Backwards", however, develops the basic ideas of several episodes and turns them into something new and wonderful. I have read this book at least five or six times since I first read it and i'm sure I will again. If you like Rob Grants humour then I would highly recommend his other book "incompetence". it is laugh out loud funny very very often. Great Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ouch., 8 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
Grant is "the cruchy half" of the Red Dwarf scriptwriting duo - and how true that is. Naylor's the sentimental one who wants Lister and Kochanski to get together...Grant's the one who does one liners, cackles hysterically, punches Doug round the head and works out horrible, horrible things to do to your favorite characters. Grant's genius should be confined to half-hour shows, where it can't do too much damage within budget and the actor's contracts. Sorry, Rob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL, 5 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
I was completely enraptured by the first two Red Dwarf books. When I received Last Human and Backwards, I was hoping for more of the same, and I was curious to see what the stories would be like since each one picks up from BTL. I was rather disapointed with Last Human. It was a fairly decent space adventure, and I admit the ending was marvelous, but it just wasn't funny (Red Dwarf the ship wasn't even technically in it). I was hoping that Backwards would be more like the first two, and it was, but not in a good way. It's like and evil twin to the first books. Any one who reads the Hitchiker's Guide series, and then reads Mostly Harmless, understands what I mean. I really liked the characters, they're almost like good friends, so it's almost painful to watch what they go through in this book. They've never had it easy, but this isn't painful in a funny way, like Rimmer dealing with his clone in IWCD. It's just like seeing some of your favorite characters get tortured horribly for three hundred and fifty pages. From Rimmer's terrible childhood, to the ten years they spend stranded on Backworld, to the agonoids who wish to torture them to the end of time, to their mutilation at the hands of the Gunmen of the Apocalyspse, it's all harsh, mean-spirited, and never funny. I don't think there's a single moment throughout the book where they weren't suffocating, being beaten, or being thrown into the void of space. And on top of everything else, I hated the first half of the book anyways because of the impossible-to-follow backwards logic. This is worst than Mostly Harmless; at least that was funny, and not terrible. Just a little too harsh. Tjis, on the other hand.... ugh. If you're not a Red Dwarf fan, you won't understand the book, and if you are, then I doubt you'll want to see these characters put through this sort of torment for no reason. An utter watse of paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but..., 18 Oct. 2004
By 
H. Playford "mambohels" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
I bought this book, along with Doug Naylor's effort "Last Human" a couple of months ago to bring to University with me. I have read the "Red Dwarf Omnibus" by Grant/Naylor multiple times, and absolutely adored it, so I thought these two books would be a great choice.
I am a little disappointed. Whilst both Last Human and this one, Backwards, have their moments of hilarity and inspired comedic setups, there just isn't the magic that was present when Grant and Naylor wrote together. In this case it is not true that: 'two halves make a whole,' as I was left slightly unimpressed by both author's books.
I have to say, however, that Backwards is far superior to Last Human. It is more in the well-known Red Dwarf spirit. I almost got the impression that in this book Rob Grant was more than willing to embrace his years as writer of Red Dwarf and use his experience to create a warm-hearted, eccentric yet entertaining read. Conversely, Last Human's author Doug Naylor seemed to wish to make a departure from the Red Dwarf style, which left me cold, I'm sad to say.
So, in conclusion, buy this book (Backwards) it's great, if not as great as the first two R.D. novels. In my opinion, it is better than Last Human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!! not to be missed., 14 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
I have just this minute finished this book and am glad to say, it was well worth the time and money. The leaps through realities leaves you confused and intrigued, but also raring to read on. I couldn't put the book down. Yet again Rob grant makes your sides split. I find this book an extremly good singular effort by Grant and a good read. This book continues from 'Better than life' very well and I feel that this book is easier to understand if you have read the previous book before hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a worthy addition to the first 2 Red Dwarf books, 27 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
After the joint ventures of Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers and Better Than Life, Rob and Doug chose to write separate novels branching from the end of Better than life. Of the 2 books Backward is far superior. OF all the characters it's Rimmer's book. Grant's style of writing is very good not great but hey he's a TV writer.
The reason Backwards works is because of Rimmer: as a reader we get much more of the Rimmer/ace Rimmer problem leading top further deepening of the red dwarf crew. Of all the books this is the most positive, readers will say "positive what!!!" In backwards there is a lot of death and explosions and negative points but the development of Ace can't help but show the hope of Rimmer and feel pity.
The book is at time beautifully written: the two comparisons of Rimmer and ace Rimmer in the 100m sprint adds more life to the books. For these reasons alone it is the worthy 3rd Red Dwarf novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke me a kipper, ill be back for breakfast, 27 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
While not as good as Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers, it is better than Better Than Life, and is chock full of good laughs. Rob Grant's writing style is a lot like the first two books, which is great. He doesn't recycle old plot elements like GELFS or that, but creates aganoids and lots of interesting surprises. One very large drawback: the book is only 300 and something pages, and given the quality of the book, is much too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Red Dwarf Novel Yet, 6 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Backwards (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
It is clear that Grant is a very good storywriter; in my opinion it is better than Last Human. However, it wasn't *as* funny as Last Human. As another reviewer has already pointed out, Naylor was clearly the comedian of the sci-fi duo. Grant has his funny points in this book though, as I found out when I was thrown out of Waterstones for laughing too much.
This book doesn't need large reviews to make it appreciated; it just needs to be read by all of the Red Dwarf Nuts out there.
I highly recommend buying this novel, but only if you can understand Grant's perception on the future and time. This book does stand out from any other sci-fi novel becasue every event is...well, backwards. I could *not* put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backwards (Red Dwarf)
Backwards (Red Dwarf) by Rob Grant (Paperback - 7 Nov. 1996)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews