Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic for all
This book gives an insider's insight into working class life. Even though it was written in 1957 it could easily be describing the working class culture of today. If you think people in the 1950's had a rather old fashioned attitude then think again, nothing has really changed at all! Throughout the book the author is frank, honest and outspoken, he also reveals some...
Published on 8 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hoggart, Uses of Literacy
Fascinating, and full of anecdotes. Good, exemplary scholarship. Dialect unique to the north, of England.
Intriguing for historians, and those who value trends in literary criticism
Published 2 months ago by D. Llewellyn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic for all, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This book gives an insider's insight into working class life. Even though it was written in 1957 it could easily be describing the working class culture of today. If you think people in the 1950's had a rather old fashioned attitude then think again, nothing has really changed at all! Throughout the book the author is frank, honest and outspoken, he also reveals some quite personal details about himself. I bought this because I need it for my studies and thought it was going to be rubbish, but how wrong I was! The only thing I wasn't keen on is that it is set in northern England, I'm from the South and found it hard to identify with some aspects, especially the quoted dialect. However it is an excellent book for all, no matter what your class or location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hoggart, Uses of Literacy, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) (Paperback)
Fascinating, and full of anecdotes. Good, exemplary scholarship. Dialect unique to the north, of England.
Intriguing for historians, and those who value trends in literary criticism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Working class problem? Not for them - they just could have done with more money, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) (Paperback)
I'm left feeling bemused. The only thing more bizarre than this book is its reception. Is there a book about that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. B. Grose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just seems out of date and seems more like a rich boys study of the working class of the 40's and 50's. The conclusion is the only part worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on everyone's book list., 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) (Paperback)
Brilliant read, especially if you know Leeds. Even if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every library should own this!, 9 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) (Paperback)
This is a duplicate copy of a well-used book which has a lot of information which one needs to have when writing. The bookk was bought for my husband who has read it several times and refers to it. As he is not available I assume the foregoing is all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences)
The Uses of Literacy (Penguin Social Sciences) by Richard Hoggart (Paperback - 25 Jun 1992)
Used & New from: 7.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews