Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of a movement?
Fascinating story of the life of a strong, complex and tragic figure. Intelligent and highly readable biography. Gives a well-balanced look into both the intellectual and personal life of a woman widely considered to be the first feminist. Inspirational and addictive reading. Highly recommended.
Published on 4 Dec. 2004 by Jennifer Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the edition....
This is an excellent and moving account of a woman taking on the dominant, restricting forces in British society at the end of the 18th Century. Her political dissent is comprehensive, from party politics to the education of daughters. Wollstonecraft was both intellectually and emotionally driven, and this bio catches both the acuteness of her thinking and the...
Published on 27 Mar. 2013 by Philip S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of a movement?, 4 Dec. 2004
This review is from: The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft (Paperback)
Fascinating story of the life of a strong, complex and tragic figure. Intelligent and highly readable biography. Gives a well-balanced look into both the intellectual and personal life of a woman widely considered to be the first feminist. Inspirational and addictive reading. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two sides to the coin, 25 May 2011
Claire Tomalin's enthralling and very detailed (occasionally slightly too detailed) biography of the life of Mary Wollstonecraft is a masterly piece of research and reveals a surprisingly conservative side to this early and most influential feminist writer. The political and social upheaval during Wollstonecraft's lifetime produced a surge of interest in the prevailing male-centred conduct books. In response, an increasing number of writers, many of whom were women, protested against the inequities of British patriarchal society and the lack of proper educational opportunities for women. Tomalin's biography gives a very clear description of this background and includes information about many of Wollstonecraft's contemporaries. It is a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent biography, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft (Paperback)
I have literally just finished reading this book and feel compelled to write a relatively short review. I am left with a feeling of sorrow yet high admiration for Mary Wollstonecraft as a person, her indelible unconventionality, her (shamefully unknown) legacy and her dramatic and tragic life. I say 'shamefully unknown' because, unless one expresses interest in this particular area in history, not many people will know who she is/was.

I am tempted to read some of Tomalin's other books if this one is anything to go by. More than once I had tears in my eyes at the end, that is how much the author pulls you into Mary's life.

All in all, this is an excellent biography, and I'm sure you will agree with me if you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life and Death of Mary wollstoncraft, 24 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft (Paperback)
I have long been interested in the writing of Mary Wollstonecraft. Claire Tomalin's book is just what I needed to help me further understand how M.W. became the feminist she was,particularly in a historic period when women were not required to have an education.
I would recommend any interested in M.W. to read this book first before reading in detail her writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the edition...., 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent and moving account of a woman taking on the dominant, restricting forces in British society at the end of the 18th Century. Her political dissent is comprehensive, from party politics to the education of daughters. Wollstonecraft was both intellectually and emotionally driven, and this bio catches both the acuteness of her thinking and the irascibility of her temper. Parallels with the contemporary situation of women and the recurrent dismissal of feminist politics are unequivocally implied by this account of Wollstonecraft's personal and political struggles. Details of who was where in France at the time of the French Revolution were difficult for this reader to follow, but the later sections about Wollstonecraft's death and the subsequent betrayals of her ideas by friends and acquaintances is by turns moving and maddening.

Get the book, but not this edition, which is so shabby. You can't tell where some quotations begin and end, some are in French and some are not translated, it's difficult to access footnotes with my kindle, and the illustrations are dreary monochrome. There are the usual glitches in line spacing and oddly laid out words that I associate with Kindle versions. As a book it is tremendous; as a 'product' it's awful and off-putting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A vindication of Mary Wollstonecraft, 7 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft (Paperback)
Another good biography by Claire Tomalin. This time the subject is sadly not as widely known as she deserves to be, but as a pioneering author on the subject of not just the rights of women but of humankind, with a turbulent private life her story deserves to be heard.
Tomalin gives a well rounded view of her subject. She does not portray her as an icon, we see the good, the bad and the ridiculous sides of her. We also find out about the times that formed her in just the right amount of detail.
The chapter on her legacy is detailed on contemporary writings for and against women's rights and on the biographies of minor players in her story but I would have liked to know more about what life was like for her daughters and husband in the years following her death. We are informed that her eldest daughter Fanny killed herself after "her existence in the Godwin household had become intolerable to her" but not why. Maybe Tomalin believes the reader will already know this and the story of Wollstonecraft's more famous daughter Mary Shelley but I did not feel that this knowledge should have been taken as read and wanted to know Tomalin's version of the girls' future.
The notes and references were excellent, but I was frustrated at the large amount of French that was not translated. My copy was published in 1974, maybe later editions provide a translation, but I do feel that it is a kind of intellectual snobbery to assume that all readers will have enough education in French to cope with the extensive French quotations, I could not and it did take away from my enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having loved all Claire Tomalin's books up until now this was a disappointment. I think it must have been her first - it is very dry, dull and goes on far too long. Nothing like the interesting and easy prose of her later books on Charles Dickens, Ellen Ternan etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing historical and personal account of the late eighteenth century, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever, Claire Tomalin gives an absorbing account of her subject and gives not only a coherent picture of Mary Wollstonecraft's life but an accurate portrayal of the turbulent period in which she lived. I always enjoy reading anything by this author.

My only gripe, and this is not to do with Claire Tomalin, but with the way her books have been transcribed to the Kindle format. There are numerous typos, and this is common with all Kindle books I have purchased. Nothing you can't get to grips with, but annoying when you know how beautifully written and proofed her physical books are. Something is clearly going wrong in the transcription process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft (Paperback)
Claire Tomalin is slowly becoming my favourite historical biographer. This book is very readable, creating a very human picture of Mary Wollstonecraft's life. I took this on my Summer holiday and read it in 5 days, picking it up every spare moment that I had. From a feminist persepctive I enjoyed viewing the 18th century through the eyes of a woman who lived through it. I would happily recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mary wollstoncraft, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An early work of Claire Tomalin, but well researched and written. I particularly liked the passaged conveying excitement of the French Revolution, the turmoil of new thinking and the background to radical change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft
The Life and Death of Mary Wollstonecraft by Claire Tomalin (Paperback - 6 Feb. 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews