Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime stuff
This is a truly wonderful book: dozens of short stories of consistently high quality by one of the really great figures in literature. Trevor uses words with great precision and economy to depict a whole world and portray a complex and ambivalent character within paragraphs. His two special tricks are the use of incredibly flat, deadpan prose to tell us about...
Published on 23 Jan 2000 by asandk@yahoo.co.uk

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stories, disappointing production
I'm not going to review Trevor's ability as a short story writer - plenty have done that already. All I can add is that, for me, he's up there with Alice Munro, Lorrie Moore, Nabokov and John Cheever, part of that small group of short story writers who happily and ably carry Chekhov's mantle. I bought this collection to fill a few gaps and because it promised to be a high...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Henry Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime stuff, 23 Jan 2000
By 
asandk@yahoo.co.uk (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
This is a truly wonderful book: dozens of short stories of consistently high quality by one of the really great figures in literature. Trevor uses words with great precision and economy to depict a whole world and portray a complex and ambivalent character within paragraphs. His two special tricks are the use of incredibly flat, deadpan prose to tell us about something really horrible or astonishingy bizarre; and the use of incredibly funny, almost surreal dialogue.
The earlier stories are sometimes blackly humorous and macabre. The latter ones have an autumnal and elegaic feel. It is hard to know which type to prefer, or to pick a favourite. A personal top six would be "Memories of Youghal", "An Evening with John Joe Dempsey", "Mrs Silly", "Bodily Secrets", "Two More Gallants" and "Coffee with Oliver". But another half dozen would do just as well. One feels there is a trick, to have produced so much with such excellence. But there is no trick: just constant excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime stuff, 23 Jan 2000
By 
asandk@yahoo.co.uk (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
This is a truly wonderful book: dozens of short stories of consistently high quality by one of the really great figures in literature. Trevor uses words with great precision and economy to depict a whole world and portray a complex and ambivalent character within paragraphs. His two special tricks are the use of incredibly flat, deadpan prose to tell us about something really horrible or astonishingy bizarre; and the use of incredibly funny, almost surreal dialogue.
The earlier stories are sometimes blackly humorous and macabre. The latter ones have an autumnal and elegaic feel. It is hard to know which type to prefer, or to pick a favourite. A personal top six would be "Memories of Youghal", "An Evening with John Joe Dempsey", "Mrs Silly", "Bodily Secrets", "Two More Gallants" and "Coffee with Oliver". But another half dozen would do just as well. One feels there is a trick, to have produced so much with such excellence. But there is no trick: just constant excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COLLECTED STORIES by William Trevor, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Matthew Lage (Iowa City, Iowa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a cause for celebration. Trevor is a master of the short story, and having all of his work published extant makes this boxed set a desert island necessity. The only caveat is the quality of the paper--pretty cheap overall, a reflection of these shortsighted times and an insult on the part of his publisher. These are volumes that one should cherish for the next century: it is doubtful that the paper will last that long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stories, disappointing production, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Henry Turner (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
I'm not going to review Trevor's ability as a short story writer - plenty have done that already. All I can add is that, for me, he's up there with Alice Munro, Lorrie Moore, Nabokov and John Cheever, part of that small group of short story writers who happily and ably carry Chekhov's mantle. I bought this collection to fill a few gaps and because it promised to be a high quality product. However, it's beautifully designed, but horribly printed. Nasty, cheap paper and printing completely undermine the ambition of creating such - on the surface - a lovely looking object. Each time I have started reading from the book, immersing myself in a new story, I found it hard not to be galled and distracted by Penguin's meanness. There are plenty of paperbacks whose production standard and tactile pleasures are far, far greater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My desert island book, 30 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
This is my favourite book ever, a collection from the pen of a complete master. Trevor is unmatched, in Europe at least, for his skill at drafting short stories of insight, depth, humour and drama. Not always enamoured with the human race, the odd overly-gloomy story can be overlooked in favour of the scores of powerful and brilliant ones. Perhaps the only complaint is that the book is just too big, making his great acheivements seem less rare than they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, poor publishing, 5 April 2010
By 
A reader (sunny Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a terrific set of the collected William Trevor short stories. Other reviewers have commented on the excellence of Trevor's work and I agree : the stories deserve a 5 star rating. 5 stars for Trevor but zero stars for Penguin.

Unfortunately, Penguin have produced a beautiful design that they have managed to convert into a shoddy product. Poor paper, poor printing and, worst of all, a shabby board, rather than cloth, binding. I thought that I was purchasing something that would give pleasure for decades. Given that one will wish to dip into these stories often, I cannot see the book lasting long before the volumes begin to fall apart.

Ultimately it feels that Penguin have shown little respect to Trevor. What a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over 1000 pages of quality short stories, 29 May 2012
By 
SACB (Middlesex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
This is a big collection and it took me some time to read but it was time well spent. Every story is fascinating and well crafted. The everyday made extraordinary. Take some time out in a park in the shade near the sunshine for a real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collected Stories (Paperback)
What can one say. Wonderful short stories, many of which I had read before here and there, but great to have them between once cover and to re-read so many old favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Storytelling., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful to have at you fingertips to dip into at any time.
Open it at any page and every story is a gem - a delight to read.
William Trevor conveys a brilliant understanding of human nature and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collected Stories
The Collected Stories by William Trevor (Paperback - 2 Sep 1993)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews