Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Overlooked Romantic Novel and Film Ever Made
As someone who has reviewed books professionally, I have never found a story that found its way into my skin. Each day, I live with the characters who found their way into my heart. Each day I worry I will never meet Benoite Groult, the author of this amazing tale of love across class lines. Each day I wonder how it is possible that this book was never available in...
Published on 3 Aug. 2003 by Tracy Edmonds

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super fast service
I am happy with the service - it was delivered to me a week later. Thanks
Published on 7 April 2010 by M. Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Overlooked Romantic Novel and Film Ever Made, 3 Aug. 2003
By 
As someone who has reviewed books professionally, I have never found a story that found its way into my skin. Each day, I live with the characters who found their way into my heart. Each day I worry I will never meet Benoite Groult, the author of this amazing tale of love across class lines. Each day I wonder how it is possible that this book was never available in America, nor was the film distributed here. One can employ a variety of critical techniques in order to find fault, but sometimes one must just go with the story. In this case, the story supercedes any attempt at criticism.
In short, a Parisian intellectual and a Breton fisherman learn that there is a kind of love that must not be questioned, and that it is not required to make sense. In their case, it was a curse as well as a blessing, in our case a fable and a cautionary tale. Buy every copy of this book you can find. It will make you remember, make you think, make you cry, scare you and it will change you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a definite re-read, 10 Aug. 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
I have probably read this book 3 or 4 times and still find it moving. The strength of feeling between George the Parisienne academic/intellectual and Gavin her Breton fisherman lover does come over, as well as the irritation/lack of mental understanding between them.

This 'lost' a star because the bits where they're not together and George's other relationships/marriages/lovers just don't work for me and I find myself skimming them.

It's also a book where once I've finished it (and wiped away the tears!) it actually seems quite implausible.

There are bits in the translation that jar - one of the problems of turning lyrical French into English.

Having said all that however, I still love this book and regularly re-read it so I guess that says a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Salt on our Skin - it will stay with you forever, 14 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
It had a complete impact on my psyche and now, I still vividly remember the main characters - the Parisian intellectual and the Breton fisherman -and the depth of emotion that their love affair created in them -and me. It will change you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest love story ever ?, 5 July 2006
By 
T. Bouckaert (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
Forget Romeo & Juliet ! If ever there was a tale of 'star-crossed lovers' this is it ! I have read this book over and over again and each time I love it more. It is the story of two people who are desperately in love but find themselves unable to reach across the social divide. For George, a well educated Parisienne, it seems un-thinkable that she can build a life together with Gavin, a Breton Fisherman. She tries to convince herself that the atraction between them is mostly physical but in the end you find her heartbroken at the thought of not having him in her life anymore...

This is very passionate novel which somehow manages to be touching but not sentimental, sad but not soppy and sensual without being pornographic. I LOVE IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under My Skin, 10 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
Benoite Groult's tale of an impossible love affair that endures social barriers as well as family conflicts and above all, time, went right under my skin. A subtle portrait of two characters who couldn't be more different and yet are attracted to each other in a nearly self-destructive way. Much of the plot is left to be imagined by the reader, unspoken words weave a more poignant picture of passionate love than any detailed description could evoke.
This is one of the great love stories of modern literature that left me breathless in a way I hadn't experienced since Milan Kundera's 'Unbearable Lightness of Being'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eternal love, 10 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Paperback)
For my opinion this has been the best book I ever read about love. So pure,so beautiful, so intelligent. He wants her "more" but she says it's best the way they have their outmarriage relation because only in this way their love will resist and be eternal. The description of the hard live in Bretagne, France, of the fisherman's world is excellent!

I advise this book to anyone who loves love, REAL LOVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, prompt devery, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
It's a great book. Came promply, in a very good condition (bought it used). If you are interested in rather intellectual and reflective account of passion, this book is probably for you. It is also an excellent translation into English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars awesome video, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
initially the description didnt match the DVD but its a great addition to my collection and I watch it when I am in a romantic mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sexy and good, 19 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
Good romantic sex novel by french feminist woman writer. Very very easy to read, and well written.
Should be better known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super fast service, 7 April 2010
By 
M. Griffiths (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) (Paperback)
I am happy with the service - it was delivered to me a week later. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur)
Salt on Our Skin (Le Vaisseaux du Coeur) by Benoite Groult (Paperback - 29 April 1993)
Used & New from: £14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews