Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2012
I am converting from Protestantism to Orthodoxy and needed something that covered all the basics clearly. This excellent book does that and more.

Together with The Orthoxoy Way, you won't get a better feel for depth of this ancient and historic Church by reading any other books. A must for those looking into the history of the Christian church and for those exploring other Christian churches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Excellent book for non-Orthodox Christians to learn about the Eastern Orthodox Churches. The Oriental Orthodox Churches are not really included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
If you are interested in the history of the church, both Latin and Greek, this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Very good and unbiased introduction to the history of the Orthodox Church !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Very fast delivered. And well packed. I am absolutely satisfied. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Apologies! I have found the book - one of my children has been reading it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Superb book written by a highly intellectual being!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Foundation for churchgoers in orthodox history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Read this if you have been to Greece and been fascinated by the church services you may have witnessed. A exceptional preparatory work to read from a great writer if you have any desire to become an Orthodox Christian....highly recommended!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I gave this book a five star rating; The author writes with such clarity, even a novice like myself can get to grips with the finer details of Orthodox theology. But it is more than that; the author's passion for his faith jumps out from every page, making the book much more than a dry academic 'This is how it works' manual.

This has only furthered my interest in the Orthodox Church and the people who belong to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)