Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enriching insight into Eastern Christianity
I'm not an Eastern Orthodox Christian, but I nevertheless found this book an extremely interesting and helpful introduction to Orthodoxy. I knew virtually nothing about the subject prior to reading this book, and found the history fascinating.
This book has led me to read other books connected with Orthodoxy including "The Brothers Karamazov" and...
Published on 18 Feb 2000

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the Eastern Orthodox Church but
unfortunately no coverage of the Oriental Orthodox Churches, which is a shame. The Oriental Orthodox Churches are as much part of the Universal Orthodox Church as the Eastern churches and it is a pity that otherwise readable and relevant book does not cover them.
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Ed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enriching insight into Eastern Christianity, 18 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
I'm not an Eastern Orthodox Christian, but I nevertheless found this book an extremely interesting and helpful introduction to Orthodoxy. I knew virtually nothing about the subject prior to reading this book, and found the history fascinating.
This book has led me to read other books connected with Orthodoxy including "The Brothers Karamazov" and "Way of a Pilgrim", and to develop a greater interest and respect for the tradition of icons. The Jesus Prayer ("Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me") is a central part of Orthodox spirituality, and I have found this prayer an enriching addition to my spiritual life.
For a Christian, this is an essential read, as the Orthodox tradition is little-understood in the West and has a great deal to offer Western Christians. For non-Christians, this is a well written history of a Church which has had a long and at times very hard history, suffering under the Ottoman empire and then Communism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Readable History of the Orthodox Christian Tradition, 18 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
Although a graduate in Theology, my academic experience never extended beyond Rome and the interaction between "Western Christianity" and the dialogue with Judaism, Islam and Buddhism and ethics and philosophy. Although realising that there were differences between Western Christianity and Orthodoxy I never explored these and it was only as a result of a visit to an Orthodox Cathedral in Estonia that my interest was stimulated. This book is an ideal introduction to this tradition and the reader, like myself, will perhaps have a whole new view on Orthodoxy and the tribulations and trials that the Orthodox communities have faced throughout history, not only from Islam but also from Communism. (I particularly was interested in that section which dealt with the experience in the Russian Church under Communism). This book has now stimulated my interest to carry my studies further and try to understand more about Orthodox Christianity and whether it has a spiritual message in post modernity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to the Orthodox Church, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
Does exactly what it says on the tin and does it very well. Written in such a way that shows the authors deep love for Orthodoxy, both as a topic of study and as a way of life.
I left it deeply informed and yet hungry for more.
The sweeping history really compliments the section on theology, as it helps to bring out the themes of this belief.
The footnotes were particularly useful in suggesting further reading. Suitable for students and for those who merely wish to know more about Eastern Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are better books on the subject., 22 Dec 2011
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
This was the first book I read on a subject totally dedicated to describing the Orthodox Church. It was a good read in some ways, but I have to admit that Ware lost me in the second half of the book when he begins describing Orthodox theology. I am interested in Orthodox theology, but somehow Ware's book didn't do it for me. A better book in my opinion is The Way: What Every Protestant Should Know about the Orthodox Church by Clark Carlton, and also Becoming Orthodox by Peter Gilquist. If you're Catholic there is The Truth: What Every Roman Catholic Should Know about the Orthodox Church also by Carlton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orthodoxy made simple, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
"The Orthodox Church" by Timothy Ware (also known as Kallistos Ware) is probably the best introduction to the history and faith of the Eastern Orthodox churches.

The author is an Orthodox bishop of British nationality, and his aim is to explain Orthodoxy to a Western audience. He succeeds relatively well in this. Of course, the book is partisan but some Orthodox believers nevertheless believe that Ware is too "soft". Another book by the same author, "The Orthodox Way", explains his view of Orthodox spirituality in more detail. That book is also quite easy to read.

It should be noted that the historical chapters mostly deal with the Byzantine Empire and Russia. Relatively little is said about other Orthodox nations such as Serbia, Romania or Bulgaria. Apart from the historical chapters, there is also an extensive section on liturgy, the sacraments and Church organization.

"The Orthodox Church" is recommended reading for the general reader who wants to know more about Eastern Orthodoxy in general and the Russian Orthodox Church in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Orthodox Christian Classic, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
All English-speaking / reading Orthodox need to read this classic. It's well-written and very thorough. And, it's an easy read, even though it is quite packed and rather lengthy. I learned a lot reading this, and it was not a struggle. Thank you, Met Kallistos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
If you are interested in the history of the church, both Latin and Greek, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written vital introduction, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
I bought this book as I had read it before but decided I wanted to own it. For anyone who wants to find out more about Orthodoxy past and present, this is a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars george levantis orthodox church, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
This is a work of great scholarship that is readily accessible to all. It was so clear and understandable that deals with the fine points of doctrine that have always eluded me in comprehension. I am glad to say that Kallistos Ware has done a great service to the church and to all who wish to understand what is going on together with all the wonderful audio and visual effects of the church experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very fast delivered., 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orthodox Church (Paperback)
Very fast delivered. And well packed. I am absolutely satisfied. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Orthodox Church
The Orthodox Church by Timothy Ware (Paperback - 29 April 1993)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews