Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Loved This Book
This is one of the best books I have bought from amazon.co.uk. I bought this book for a course I was taking on British archaeology. I am normally not that interested in this area of history/archaeology, being more interested in Egyptology. However, not only did this book teach me about a subject I did not really know before owning it, but it also captivated my interest...
Published on 31 Jan 2007 by Bacteriopheophytin

versus
9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of date
Unfortunately this work has not been updated to reflect current discoveries and as such reflects the known Archaeological evidence of its time.
Published on 14 April 2008 by Tim Metcalfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Anglo-Saxon invasion myth, 17 July 2013
By 
FC Harris (Willenhall, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Paperback)
The book presents a useful introduction to the Anglo-Saxon period of Britain. However developments in genetics, archaeology, linguistics and significantly the latest evidence from stable isotope analysis on human teeth, are gradually undermining the traditional historical view of the presumed Anglo-Saxon invasion post the 5th century AD Roman departure. Also plots of place-names related to Hill forts and Roman towns depicted on the 'fchknols' website (2013), similarly point to an Anglo-Saxon presence in Britain at least from the middle Iron Age, perhaps even earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anglo Saxons, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Paperback)
This was a Christmas gift for my Grandson. He thinks it's a brilliant book and helping with his University studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Paperback)
Full of facts, good illustrations, and a good read for anyone interested in Anglo- Saxons.and it was very reasonably priced.delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of date, 14 April 2008
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Paperback)
Unfortunately this work has not been updated to reflect current discoveries and as such reflects the known Archaeological evidence of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the future., 24 April 2013
By 
Gordon Kendal (Dundee, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Paperback)
I haven't read the book as yet. Something to savour for the darker nights. If it is as good as it looks it will serve me well. Delivery time was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the anglo-saxons, 24 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Anglo-Saxons (Hardcover)
very book starters reference book for the subject
saw it bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anglo-Saxons
The Anglo-Saxons by Patrick Wormald (Paperback - 28 Mar 1991)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews