Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all "Red Dwarf" fans
This is an absolute gem ! Full of belly-laughs and that irresistible blend of smeg and fun that has won millions of fans all over the world. Best thing I've ever purchased on the Net. If you only buy one thing this year, make sure you get this little beauty, you certainly won't be disappointed ! I loved it, and I'm sure you will too.
Published on 5 Oct 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Baaad
Feels like a cash in, there are some interesting barely scratched ideas near the end about mystical forces but otherwise feels like the last series of Red Dward absolutely terrible.

The first book had some originality to give the chars some background info and some depth but this one barely even bothers and feels incredibly lazy for it.
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Mike Swann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all "Red Dwarf" fans, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This is an absolute gem ! Full of belly-laughs and that irresistible blend of smeg and fun that has won millions of fans all over the world. Best thing I've ever purchased on the Net. If you only buy one thing this year, make sure you get this little beauty, you certainly won't be disappointed ! I loved it, and I'm sure you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book for fans and non-fans alike, 21 Sep 2003
By 
For fans of the show who want a little more than just to watch the jokes this is a great book, it contains all new bits unlike the first books which often include sections from the first two series. If you buy this book you can expect to have the laughs as well as delving a bit more into the science-fiction part of Red Dwarf where the TV show couldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 8 Jan 2002
By 
intim8er@hotmail.com (Seattle, Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
You can't get this book in the states, I'd heard about it and wanted to find it; then tracked it down to here and I'm glad I did. This book was a blast to read. Couldn't give it 5 stars, cause some parts didn't quite mesh well with the other three books; but all in all, this was a great book. Lots of laughs, lots of adventure and the supreme sacrifice. I'm glad I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Red Dwarf book at this time, 27 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
I noticed a difference of styles between Rob Grant and Doug Naylor, and I feel that Doug Naylor just edges his old partner with this excellent third instalment of the Red Dwarf saga. Picking up at the end of Better than Life, the two writers diverged the story, and Doug's imaginative story made the book "un-put-down-able". A must buy for all Dwarfers out there, or any reader with an interest in Science Fiction books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what you'd expect from a Red Dwarf Creation but.., 6 Mar 2005
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
The book does not really follow the pattern of the other Red Dwarf books where it's split up into linked sub-stories, where each sub-story expands on a certain Red Dwarf episode.
It stands out on its own as a book and not just an expansion of a few Red Dwarf episodes (there's nothing wrong with this). There are a couple charaters brought in from the show (e.g. Kinotowowi from Emohawk) but nothing else directly.
The story itself is excellent, well thought out, unpredictable and does not have that feel good factor of the TV show. It is dark and has a sinister element to it.
It is definately worth getting as it gets a big tick in two boxes: for those who have a thirst for Red Dwarf and for those who want a good book with a strong story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red Dwarf Epopee, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
You CAN judge this book by its cover- its striking, mysterious and crying out to be read! "Last Human" has been acclaimed by critics, but is sadly disliked by fans. People must realise was not written as a witty space romp, but as a more serious minded (and deeply soulful) Sci Fi thiller. Its dark story is proberbly the result of being written in the difficult years after series 6. If you read between the lines you may notice symbolic references to the problems the writers and cast were having at that time. However, love it or hate it, you have to admit its quite a piece of work. While not quite reaching the dizzy heights of Grant Naylors original masterpiece "Infinity welcomes careful drivers", this novel acceeds the other two sequels with fierce orginality, wild invention and palpable suspence. An evil, psychotic version of Lister actually makes a much more disturbing villian than the Robot killing machines in "Backwards". I particually gripped by the raid on Cyberia, and I swear that when "The Rage" shows up you will find it very hard to put the book down. There is some awesome artwork in here too, and I'd also recommend an audio cassette read beautifully by Craig Charles. The only thing "Last Human" is really missing is Holly. Hopefully Doug Naylor will find him again in a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Baaad, 16 Jun 2010
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
Feels like a cash in, there are some interesting barely scratched ideas near the end about mystical forces but otherwise feels like the last series of Red Dward absolutely terrible.

The first book had some originality to give the chars some background info and some depth but this one barely even bothers and feels incredibly lazy for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Last hurrah, 2 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Andrew F. Barclay "Nytrydr" (Perth, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
OK, It's Red Dwarf, so I was always going to buy it, but that's where they get you. I loved Infinity Welcomes, I loved BTL (hard to pick a fave between them) and, unlike other reviewers I have read, I loved Backwards, and felt that it was truly a worthwile successor to the other two fantastic books and the TV series. Last human in NOT awful, however, it's messy, piecemeal and unfunny, which is ok for SF, SF is often not funny and still immensely rivetting, but this one left me in a state of complete non-gripped-ness. I was completely,smegging, un-gripp-ed. It also struck me that there weren't gong to be any more RD books, which is sad.

Colony is not bad BTW, it's less emotionally charged then even the Red Dwarf books, (though I honestly found that the other 3 RD books were quite an emotional rollercoaster, because you really get to care about the characters - well, Rimmsy and Listy anyway...)Last Human left me sad because it was the last book, but only because it was so non-brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complexly strange, but a good read!, 19 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
At first, the book seems a little too serious for a Red Dwarf book. The story twists and turns through more corners then the London Ring Road, with a more complex plot then a decade of Eastenders. Keep at it, you'll find laughter, amusement, happiness... :) S.M.A.K.I.B.B.F.B. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Human (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
The book arrived promptly and in pristine condition. After watching all the series of Red Dwarf, I decided I wanted to read all the Red Dwarf books. This one, along with the rest, is excellent! I'd definitely recommend it to any Red Dwarf fan, new or old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Human (Red Dwarf)
Last Human (Red Dwarf) by Doug Naylor (Paperback - 2 Nov 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews