Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magisterial
This book is part of a series of the history of the Church and covers all the important events of the Reformation. The book has been criticised for its lofty tone and for the amount of background knowledge the reader needs to have to understand; certainly, a knowledge of ecclesiastical terms and a mental map of the geography of Europe in the 16th Century would help. But...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Mr. P. G. Mccarthy

versus
4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I picked up this book because I wanted to learn something about the reformation as I thought that it was an essential period in English history.
I don't know whether it is something to do with the lofty sounding Sir Owen Chadwick or that it was first written in 1964 but this book bored me to tears. It is immensely hard going. I know that the reformation is an...
Published on 5 Jan 2008 by James T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magisterial, 28 April 2009
By 
Mr. P. G. Mccarthy (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
This book is part of a series of the history of the Church and covers all the important events of the Reformation. The book has been criticised for its lofty tone and for the amount of background knowledge the reader needs to have to understand; certainly, a knowledge of ecclesiastical terms and a mental map of the geography of Europe in the 16th Century would help. But the book will reward dedication. Chadwick outlines the early developments and the 'cry' for reform in the face of the absurdities, scholasticism and abuses of the Church at that time. He also discusses the personality and character of the major actors, putting flesh on Luther (and bone on the austere Calvin). The dark events of England are treated particularly well, not a good time for the monastaries of course, and the Catholic 'counter-reformation' and the radical 'anabaptists' receive good treatment. The Reformation will never be an 'easy' subject to study and technical language will always be inevitable. With this in mind, Chadwick's history is a great achievement and I certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owen Chadwick - The Reformation, 12 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
A most helpful book. Everything is explained concisely and clearly. A must for anyone looking for a starting point when studying the Reformation, especially at degree level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
A good introduction to the Reformation and an easy read. I have found it a valuable introduction to the course I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Readable overview with stunning details, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
A very readable book summarising an extremely complex period of Church and State history in less than 450 pages (which is something of a miracle given the upheavals of the time) and yet it manages to include some stunning details and pithy quotes. Highly recommended for people who need a good overview of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Includes so much information, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. A. Blake (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent overview of the Reformation. It covers the individuals - Luther, Calvin et al - as well as the top-down history - such as the Reformation in England and the growth of Protestantism in Europe. It is this fantastic mix of subjects which makes it a fascinating and wide-ranging book. It is written in a readable and interesting way and is up there with the Penguin History of the Church Volume 1 (Early Church). It is a thoroughly great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Scholarly Book but accesible, 29 July 2012
By 
Rev Christopher Trefor Davies (SHEFFIELD, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
Hi fellow readers of Theology,

This book was rapidly dispatched and was in an excellent condition. I have studied Church History at Degree/Postgrad level. This book provides an excellent academic review-remaining understandable and not boogged down with copious notes.
I fidnd the author to be truly reflective of the various historical/theological factions of the RC and Free Church traditions on the Reformation, and having been both a CARMELITE Friar and now Minister in the Non-cnformist tradition , I freel able to make this comment.

bedith/blessings, Chris.
The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 5 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church) (Paperback)
I picked up this book because I wanted to learn something about the reformation as I thought that it was an essential period in English history.
I don't know whether it is something to do with the lofty sounding Sir Owen Chadwick or that it was first written in 1964 but this book bored me to tears. It is immensely hard going. I know that the reformation is an exciting period but Chadwick didn't bring the events to life - this book is basically just a chronology of events.
I would have liked him to explain a bit more about things too, rather than presuming the reader had background knowledge.
I can't recommend this book as I am sure there are other books that are better written than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews