Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belief, Religion and the Gods
What did the Vikings really think of their gods? Why was Odin, their chief god, not to be trusted? Who did the German tribes believe brought them victory in battle? Did anyone ever worship Balder?

Excellent guide to the pagan beliefs of the germanic peoples from Scandinavia to England which will provide some of the best answers for these questions you are...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by wolf

versus
37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wordy and wide ranging
This book does not tell the story of the Gods and Myths of Northern Europe, it comments on the stories. It gives snippets and summaries, not enough to bring the characters or stories to life, and then goes on to comment in depth about the deities therein. It was first published in 1964, and to me the writing style seems somewhat old fashioned. It also seems to try and...
Published on 20 July 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belief, Religion and the Gods, 15 Oct 2011
By 
wolf (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
What did the Vikings really think of their gods? Why was Odin, their chief god, not to be trusted? Who did the German tribes believe brought them victory in battle? Did anyone ever worship Balder?

Excellent guide to the pagan beliefs of the germanic peoples from Scandinavia to England which will provide some of the best answers for these questions you are likely to find. Scholarly, but easy to digest, this book is just as much for the general interested reader as the academic.

Written some decades ago now, there are newer books with information from later archeology but this is an ideal place to start.

It should be noted, howwever, that this is not a retelling of the myths and legends of the Norse - search elsewhere for those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet effective, 4 Dec 2006
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
This was my first introduction to Norse mythology other than the odd dodgey film (see 'The Vikings' Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis) and making a mini long boat in primary school when i was 9 years old!!

It gives a fantastic basic introduction to this subject without ever going over the top, it gives basic outlines to the sagas and stories, and helps identify the charachter traits of not only the well known but also the lesser gods of the age.

Since reading this book i have become more and more interested in a wider range of myth and legends from other great civilizations. It sounds daft, but this book did actually change my life; no less than when i first read 1984 or crime and punishment, just in a different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wordy and wide ranging, 20 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
This book does not tell the story of the Gods and Myths of Northern Europe, it comments on the stories. It gives snippets and summaries, not enough to bring the characters or stories to life, and then goes on to comment in depth about the deities therein. It was first published in 1964, and to me the writing style seems somewhat old fashioned. It also seems to try and interpret the Norse Gods with reference to myths from other parts of the world. Yes, comparitive religion and mythology can be an interesting view on the world, but surely Gods and Myths of Northern Europe can be understood on their own terms, referring to Norse works and religion, not dragging in any number of myth patterns that dont seem a very good fit. Basically it seems to me to cast its net too widely, using references that seem very tenuously connected to Northern Europe at best, and using too many words to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it!, 3 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
If you are in norse mythology or if you want to begin to learn the basis of norse myths, this may be the book for it. I am portuguese but I can read english quite well, and thanks to this awesome book I'm now able to understand much more about such a rich heathen religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gods of our ancestors, 17 Mar 2008
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
This was the first book ive read on the subject and i have since fell in love with it. This book teaches us who our anglo-saxon/viking gods were that our ancestors worshipped before christianity. The first quarter of the book i found confusing as it tells the stories of the gods but i didnt know who these gods were yet. After reading a little more i did learn who these gods were and a few interesting facts too. Did you know that the early english settlers believed that they were descended from a germanic god of war 'the king of the gods',"woden"? Neither did i until i read this book. We named Wednesday after this God and we also named other days of the week after our gods. why do we know about greek/jewish myths and gods and not our own? Sort it out Prime minister this book can help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Accessable Work on Germanic Mythology, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Gods and Myths of Northern Europe (Paperback)
This is without a doubt the finest guide to Germanic mythology one can possibly hope to buy. Although first published in 1964 the scholarship is not out of date and this remains the finest of the author`s works-and I have most of them!
I first read this over 23 years ago and I am still using it today for reference purposes.
If I was to be abandoned on a desert island and could take only one book on Germanic mythology with me-or just one book on any subject-this would be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gods and Myths of Northern Europe
Gods and Myths of Northern Europe by H. Davidson (Paperback - 13 Dec 1990)
7.99
In stock on September 4, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews