Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid contribution to ethical thinking
I picked this book up in Waterstones as an adjunct to another book on professional ethics in my field (software engineering). Once I had started to read it I just kept going, ever more engaged, to the end.

Skepticism has its limits and wielded by less than agile minds can be a very blunt tool. Here, however, Mackie presents a convincing (at least to me)...
Published on 23 Jun 2009 by Gareth Greenwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Mackie's ethics
Given the great acclaim and importance of this book, which is thought to have been of great importance in the development of the anti-realist moral position, I had high hopes when purchasing it.
Fortunately, these were ntirely justified; Mackie, as ever, presents well-balanced arguments and produces his own views with a degree of clarity and style which makes him...
Published 23 months ago by Liam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid contribution to ethical thinking, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
I picked this book up in Waterstones as an adjunct to another book on professional ethics in my field (software engineering). Once I had started to read it I just kept going, ever more engaged, to the end.

Skepticism has its limits and wielded by less than agile minds can be a very blunt tool. Here, however, Mackie presents a convincing (at least to me) argument against the entire fabric of moral precepts by elucidating not so much their contradictions as their incoherence from a philosophical viewpoint.

Yet this is not a crude argument for moral relativism. Rather, Mackie simply argues that if moral precepts won't do, we need to replace them with something that will. To fill this gap he proposes an ethics based on individual rights and obligations. There is nothing new in this idea for it goes back to the eighteenth century. Nevertheless, Mackie offers it in a clear form without arbitrary prescriptions for the societies in which moral actors live. Thereby he avoids the absurdities propounded by various American thinkers (notably the psychotic-libertarian school represented by Nozick) and that is this book's great strength.

Mackie left me admiring him for having the guts not to be radical but simply to admit that practical ethics does not work unless it has the pragmatism to make frequent sanity checks upon itself.

For its plain words and good sense I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Mackie's ethics, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
Given the great acclaim and importance of this book, which is thought to have been of great importance in the development of the anti-realist moral position, I had high hopes when purchasing it.
Fortunately, these were ntirely justified; Mackie, as ever, presents well-balanced arguments and produces his own views with a degree of clarity and style which makes him stand out amongst the writers of philosophy. His Ethics is no different, presenting a clear refutation of objective morality and any view other than his own, Mackie demonstrates those same qualities which have made him so well renowned amongst modern readers. Whilst disagreeing with some of the points, mainly his principle point, that there can be no objective morality, the force and coherence of the views he espouses are stunning and a good read for those who agree as well as those who disagree. The objectivist will find reason to question their views and the subjectivist will find a wealth of opinions and arguments like their own to think on.
There is one major problem with this product, however, and that is the frankly shoddy printing. Whilst it is clearly a cheaper version, the penguin print is poor quality. The paper is of an unusual off-white hue and the typeset is unappealing. Furthermore, there are many faded areas and the text is oftentimes illegible due to the failure of the printing. It is possible that this fading is rare and that I have simply been unlucky, but even if this is the case the paper quality and typeset are still detrimental to what would otherwise be an incredibly impressive book.
Overall, therefore, the condition of the book is hardly justified, despite the quality of the work inside. I would still recommend picking up a copy, though the best option would be a second-hand copy; little would be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 10 April 2002
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
Mackie is ever-provocative, just see his 'Miracle of Theism' for proof, and here he attacks morality. Our every-day moral codes, he argues, are an 'error theory' based on the presumption of moral facts which, he persuasively argues, don't exist. His refutation of such facts is based on their metaphysical 'queerness' and the observation of cultural relativity. I can't say whether he's 'right', but if you're interested in the objectivity (or otherwise) of moral standards, this is a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Stuff, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
If you are studying or have an interest in philosophy this is a really interesting read and solid insight into contemporary meta-ethics. Worth buying for the open question argument alone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting arguments, heavy going writing style, 16 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
Mackie's book provides some interesting arguments for the overall thesis that there are no objective values in Ethics, but that we can and should invent a consistent and commonly shared set of ethical principles (hence the sub-title inventing right and wrong) - ie this shared basis has no objective truth outside of the minds of human beings, but that does not mean we cannot have a common approach.

This is not always the easiest of reads - not really for the philosophical content, but more because of MacKie's writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does this book present a coherent argument?, 22 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. S. Howey "Matthew Howey" (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
A little disappointed. I find it interesting that a previous review says that the second part of the book stands in a somewhat awkward relation to the first. I would put this a bit more strongly - it seems to me that the second part is in danger of contradicting the first. I'm actually a bit confused as to what this book is offering. In the first part of the book he argues the radical thesis that there are "no objective values" - a position he calls 'moral scepticism'. Yet in the second part of the book he seems to assume that there are objective moral values, but we need to reason very carefully about how they can practicably be applied or turned into concrete principles. I fully agree with this second less radical thesis, but I'm rather concerned about how he confuses it with the more radical thesis that there are 'no objective moral values'. Perhaps I have missed something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was expected but nonetheless and interesting read, 14 Jun 2003
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
I was expecting more of a dialectic from a scholar but instead received his account of various ethical ideas and their relation to his postulation that there is no objective morality. Rings of 'The Puzzle of Ethics' from Vardy and Grosch but still a valuable book in that it provides a rational and well argued case of relative morality. A valuable asset to own for any contmporary second world view philosopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No page numbers, can't reference in my essay, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This e-book wasn't formatted by Penguin with page numbers, so am having a hard time referencing quotes in my essay.

Why would you publish an academic work and leave out page numbers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
Arrived fast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - Not an enjoyable read!, 26 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong (Paperback)
Warning - not an enjoyable read.
Some of you will laugh and think that this point is completely obvious. But, this book is not an easy read. Neither is it an enjoyable read. It may be packed full of fascinating and deep philosophy, but if you aren't already a bit of an expert on the subject, I'd strongly reccomend you look to other philosophy books to expand your knowlege. Ethics isn't the most riveting aspect of philosophy to start with, but Mackie's long-winded and inaccessible writing style make it far far worse. You don't read this book. You trudge through it. You have wade through a lot of waffle to get to the point.....but then, if you're interested in this kind of thing, the point is possibly worth it.
If you have a deep interest in the subject - i give this book 4 out of 5.
Otherwise, keep well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong
Ethics: Inventing Right and Wrong by J.L. Mackie (Paperback - 30 Aug 1990)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews