Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading in schools
WARNING: This book will make you THINK!

I first read this as part of my A-level philosophy course, have recently re-read it and can confirm that it is still the best treatise on the morality of life and death issues (including abortion, war, euthanasia, infanticide and capital punishment).

This book is a breath of fresh air in moral debates which are...
Published on 2 Nov 2007 by Varian Beauregard

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted case for the culture of death
I agree it's well priced and very well written, but I would only give it 5 stars if I agreed with the author's many chilling assertions such as that "in killing a baby, someone is overriding the baby's autonomy to no greater extent than he would be if he prevented the mother from coming home that day". I would prefer any paediatricians looking after children in my family...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by Dr. Trevor G. Stammers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading in schools, 2 Nov 2007
By 
Varian Beauregard (Le Jardin d'Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
WARNING: This book will make you THINK!

I first read this as part of my A-level philosophy course, have recently re-read it and can confirm that it is still the best treatise on the morality of life and death issues (including abortion, war, euthanasia, infanticide and capital punishment).

This book is a breath of fresh air in moral debates which are usually emotively dominated by religion (and in some cases women's rights too).

It brings a hefty dose of utilitarianism tempered by humanism and a good examination of side-effects. The chapters determining the best overall general theory at the beginning may be a bit hard going to those not versed in philosophy but the style is very readable and it is worth persevering as it underpins the later arguments.

In conclusion, this book is essential for anyone who wants to properly consider any of these issues for any reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth a read., 28 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
If you are studying ethics as part of an ethics course, or you just want to be able to read newspapers without necessarily being swayed by every rant, this book will help obtain your own perspective on the controversial issues. It really is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, top bloke, 18 Aug 2005
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
That Jonathan Glover writes in a deceptively straightforward way does not stop this being the most important book on medical ethics that I at least have read. Just buy it, it's cheap as chips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More books for studying, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
More books for studying, gives another angle to an age old debate.
Whether your for or against abortion both sides always need to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scorchio!, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. G. Morgan "wes" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
Many moons ago, when 'reading' philosophy i.e. at university, this was one of two basic texts to moral philosophy in my first year; it was much the most helpful (the other was J.L. Mackie's less accessible if brilliant 'Ethics'.). It remains a favourite, with a wealth of anecdote, well chosen examples and a clear identification of the main branches of the theme in a clear, accessible prose. Essential reading for the general reader; it has the advantage over most books recommended in academe as being readable as well as important. As to the chilling effect of some examples noted in an unfavourable review - I empathise but do not sympathise: this is to blame the messenger; these things inhere in moral philosophy and, in fact, Glover does well to select just such examples sharply to delineate ethics. I cannot imagine a better introduction to the subject, easily used at schools, (even if to our shame, we do not teach it below 'A' level and not often there).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book in practical ethics, 18 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
This book is a well-known and long-recommended text for courses dealing with practical and medical ethical issues. There are good reasons for this: it is clearly written, it deals with key issues, and it goes into subjects in some depth. Of course, there is much more to be said on everything in this book, but it is definitely not a skim job. The book is worth it for Chapter 2 alone: useful as ammo when you hear the all too common refrain that ethics is "all just opinion" - not if you want some consistency in your beliefs it isn't. As mentioned by other reviewers, Glover brings a broadly utilitarian approach to ethical conundrums, so if you have strong religious beliefs you may find his approach lacking in crucial areas. Overall, great value as a starting text. Buy it and challenge yourself by engaging with Glover as he discusses many of today's unavoidable moral questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply written but not simplistic, 30 April 2007
By 
I McIntosh (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
I read this while at high school, and it was one factor that encouraged me to apply to the author's college, where I was fortunate enough to be taught moral philosophy by a wonderful man.

Very accessible entry point to complex ethical issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted case for the culture of death, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Dr. Trevor G. Stammers (Epsom UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Causing Death and Saving Lives: The Moral Problems of Abortion, Infanticide, Suicide, Euthanasia, Capital Punishment, War and Other Life-or-death Choices (Paperback)
I agree it's well priced and very well written, but I would only give it 5 stars if I agreed with the author's many chilling assertions such as that "in killing a baby, someone is overriding the baby's autonomy to no greater extent than he would be if he prevented the mother from coming home that day". I would prefer any paediatricians looking after children in my family to adopt a very different ethic from that presented in this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews