Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, concise, brilliant...............
One of the best physics reads i have come across, well written, well put together, and best of all, it makes sense, assisted by well annotated diagrams on nearly every concept in the book, you can really get a sense of these being a collection of lectures, its as if Feynman is talking to you himself.

Must get for any physics buff.
Published on 26 Feb. 2007 by Raja Hussain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little heavy going for a relative newbie to the subject, but readable considering the complexity of the subject matter.
This is the first book I have read from the great Richard Feynman. My lack of knowledge of him and the subject meant that the "humour" referred to by those more learned passed me by somewhat. I am not a total novice to Quantum Mechanics and definitely benefited from the way RF writes about the subject matter. I have promised myself to re-read it in a few months,...
Published 5 months ago by Old Gaffer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, concise, brilliant..............., 26 Feb. 2007
One of the best physics reads i have come across, well written, well put together, and best of all, it makes sense, assisted by well annotated diagrams on nearly every concept in the book, you can really get a sense of these being a collection of lectures, its as if Feynman is talking to you himself.

Must get for any physics buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a book about what is known, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
John Wilson (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
Unlike many books relating to quantum mechanics, and the strange universe that exists on the quantum scale, this book is dedicated to a subject that is known and (as far as can be said about anything relating to the quantum scale) understood.

This book does a superb job of explaining to the layman (such as myself) what quantum electrodynamics is, and restricts itself to doing just that job and doing it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QED The Strange Theory of Light and Matter, 16 Feb. 2011
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
QED The Strange Theory of Light and Matter by Richard Feynman

There are many anecdotes about Richard Feynman: he came from New York and had a strong Brooklyn accent and exuberant character to go with it. He could antagonise his more effete colleagues with his natural humanity. He was once asked what it was like to be genius. His reply was along the line of ` Well, I feel pretty dumb much of the time as I'm stuck on a problem I can't solve.' After winning the Nobel Prize in 1965 he was dubbed `the smartest man in the world', his mother's comment was, `If he's the smartest man, then God help us.' He was also a highly competent safe cracker and made crucial decisive discoveries linking defective `O' rings to the Challenger shuttle disaster

It's quite rare to get close to major figures in science, yet this is the feeling one gets from reading QED.
Richard Feynman gave these lectures as part of the first series of Alix G. Mautner Memorial Lectures. Alix and her husband were close friends of his and it was always Feynman's intention to write a series of lectures, not for his peers or students but for the intelligent, interested layperson that knows little of Theoretical Physics. So this is not a text book for a physics undergraduate but it is for those who strive to have some understanding of the exquisite mysteries and paradoxes which emerge from the subject.

Quantum mechanics, despite its esoteric reputation is one of the most successful theories in science. It explains all the cracks which appeared in classical physics in the early 20th C, such as the photoelectric effect and blackbody radiation and led to enormously powerful discoveries of such as Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle, wave-particle duality and Planck's famous constant. This is the tiny and irreducible amount of energy known as a quanta and is the quanta in quantum mechanics.
Quantum electo-dynamics is a branch of Quantum Mechanics relating to the interactions solely of photons and electrons. Electrons absorb and emit photons - this is what they do and most importantly both behave as waves and particles. Because of their wave nature it is impossible to measure both the position and the momentum simultaneously with certainty (The Uncertainty Principle) but the probability of finding their location is what Feynman struggles to do in his work and explain in these lectures.

If a beam of light is reflected from a mirror the angle of incidence equals the angle of reflection, we were told at school. `Not so,' says Feynman - the light is reflected from every possible point on the mirror, even if the light is a single photon. It is simply that the probability of it using the direct and shortest path is greatest. Although he does not mention it explicitly, this is the superposition of a photon whereby a single photon can take many different positions at the same time. Feynman goes into fascinating detail of how to calculate these probabilities using little arrows. These have become known as `Feynman arrows', the direction of which relates to the time, and hence position in its wave cycle as it reaches its target. Imagine a bicycle wheel with a ruler attached from the hub to the rim and a direct path taken to a mirror. When the wheel reaches the mirror the ruler will be at some angle to the road. However, if a slightly different and hence longer path were taken then the angle would be different when the wheel reaches the mirror. Photons behave in a similar manner except their frequencies are considerably greater to those of a rotating bicycle wheel. A typical frequency of a photon is in the order of a million billion Hz., with a corresponding wavelength in nanometres, for an electron it is <1nm.
If many of these little arrows are calculated and then put head to tail and a line drawn from the tail of the first one to the head of the last and then this line is measured, then the probability of finding that a photon has taken that route is given by squaring the length of the line This is a basic rule peculiar to Quantum Mechanics and is known as the `Born rule'. In the macroscopic classical world in which we live, to calculate the probability of a number of events you would multiply and individual probabilities, but in the microscopic world of quantum mechanics they are squared - this is one of the many mysteries of the subject.
So, we can say nothing with certainty of the behaviour of a particular photon - whether it went this way or that, only the probability of its behaviour.

He continues his survey with the interaction of electrons with photons. This is altogether more complex. Electrons, like photons have the dual nature of particles and waves, they have rest-mass whereas photons do not. (photons are bosons and electrons are fermions). He uses little diagrams, this time to demonstrate the interaction of photons with electrons. These are space-time graphs showing the particle's path through both space and time and show the possibility of electrons travelling backwards in time to absorb or emit a photon. He creates a picture of the complexity of the multi-dimensional calculations needed to resolve these mammoth probabilities.

The final lecture deals with the interactions of more massive elementary particles such as protons neutrons and their constituents, quarks, muons and neutrinos. He shows how new particles cam be predicted by constructing grid diagrams with known properties but with gaps where new particles may lie.

This is fine book written with passion and conviction by a man utterly absorbed and thoroughly expert in his field. It is not an easy book and hence not a gentle read. He puts highly complex material into very simple language giving the impression that you now have some understanding of these peculiar and sometimes bizarre aspects of Nature which are often paradoxical and contrary to common sense. As a scientific communicator Richard Fenyman is superb.

A.O'Connell
February 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jun. 2011
By 
Joe (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
This is, quite simply, 150 pages on how the world works at the particle level. Feynman writes in such a way that makes it impossible not to be drawn in, and the reader will learn so much. The level of prior Physics knowledge required is not massive - I currently study A-Level Physics (just did my AS Level), and though that helped, it's not essential.

This along with all other Feynman books is essential. I would reccomend that if you have not already read Feynman's excellent 'Six Easy Pieces' you order that along with QED and read it first. I then challenge you not to read any more Feynman, as he is that good.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QED loud and clear, 12 July 2005
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
I know little about physics and upon reading this book i gained a clear understanding of QED and it pushed me into the right direction to find out more about the world of quantum mechanics.
A recommeded read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good an explanation as you could ever hope to find, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
I've read quite a few physics book, in particular a few introducing quantum mechanics. Whilst the subject never fails to enthrall me, I've found that authors' explanations can sometimes be long winded and dreary (e.g. Brian Cox - The Quantum Universe), however this book manages to maintain interest for the whole length. Whether it be the relatively short size or Feynman's witty and conscientiously explanatory writing style, this book manages to do two things: educate the reader quite a lot about particle physics and quantum theory, and also be highly entertaining, even amusing at times - this is something I have never observed in a physics book before.

This collection of lectures defies its age, and if you are an amateur who wants to learn and also to be mildly entertained, them you need look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the master, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
In this book, written for the non-technical, Feynman illustrates with a breathtaking boldness and clarity how common processes (reflection & motion of photons and electrons to name only 3) are in reality far stranger than we think.
Feynman writes not so much to surprise (which he certainly does) but with a passionate desire that we the readers follow what he is saying. This is a book for those who are curious as to what makes the world tick, even if they already have some knowledge of the quantum world. I did not find this an easy read (the concepts are too alien) but it was most rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Richard P Feynman), 23 July 2013
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
I first encountered this series of books, written by Richard P Feynman, in my local book retailer and I was surprised at their size. Despite the nature of their subject, they are barely a couple hundred pages in length. Usually scientific books are much thicker volumes. But when one realises these books were written from notes derived for student presentations by Feynman, then size doesn't really matter. I am more inclined to purchase a 'thin' book than a 'thick' book because apart from being cheaper to buy and easier to carry, it should be an easier book to read. Doubtless, size is a marketing ploy but it means these books are affordable to a great many more people.

The information these books contain, often illustrated by original drawings by the author, help to convey some quite complex theories. These theories maybe right or they maybe wrong but they serve to illustrate the thoughts of a 'genius' whom many professionals believe rivalled Einstein in terms of his vision of how the universe works. Feynman was a controversial, colourful, some say eccentric theoretical physicist who cared little for convention and left an indelible mark in understanding science.

I purchased 3 books in this series and I purchased 3 more for a friend's birthday. Doubtless I will purchase other books in the same series when I have time to read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "clear", comprehensive and often funny, 11 Jan. 2013
This review is from: QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
Richard Feynman surprises us and also makes us giggle in this already old pop science book.

Feynman now deceased succeeds perfectly in explaining complicate problems in a simple and clear manner to ignorants like me.
the point is not to understand everything but to grasp an understanding of the various problems, their solutions and unanswered questions.

The book is quite old and quite a lot of progress has been made since Feynman days.

One of the great force of this book is the power of pedagogy of the author, his capacity in making you understand complex issues is highly enjoyable.

Please note that this book is more of a conference paper than a traditional science book, this has probably upset a couple of readers which have expressed themselves quite clearly giving bad reviews.

I loved this book and you will probably will as well if you make a little effort of focus and patience.

4 stars only as a good book it is, I always feel there is a bit of inflation with positive reviews for popular science and physic books. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Electrodynamics (QED) made easy, 11 Dec. 2008
By 
Rama Rao "Rama" (Annandale, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author is one of the greatest physicists of 20th century, and highly regarded as one of the best instructors of physics, but the reader must have some knowledge of science and strong interest in physics, and appreciate optical phenomenon; reflection of light, refraction, etc. Reading this book at first may be boring, but reading for second or third time gives you a good idea about the theory and help you understand the elegance with which the author has conveyed the material. Quantum Electrodynamics (QED) is a fundamental theory of light (photon) - matter (particle) interaction or electric field and charge interaction. The author explains how we can calculate this interaction. There are only three basic actions associated with light and electron interaction. First, a photon goes from place to place; second, an electron goes from place to place; and third, an electron emits or absorbs a photon. Each of this has amplitude - an arrow (vector) that can be calculated according to certain rules. There is no mathematics in the book but the logic, and assumptions are explained which may be difficult to assimilate unless you like to understand QED.

When an electron travels from one point to another in spacetime, it uses multiple paths before arriving at its destination according to quantum physics. It can also absorb or emit light multiple times during its path. Therefore one needs to calculate the probability of its most likely path and also the number of times it absorbs or emits radiation. Emission of light could occur when an electron interacts with positrons (antiparticle) that results in their annihilation. QED incorporates corrections to one or more photons being emitted and absorbed in its path and also all other possible paths the electron may take. All these are considered to calculate the mist likely path for its travel.

The second factor to be included in the calculation is that light has amplitude to go faster or slower than the conventional speed of light. Therefore the emission and absorption of light between two electrons could occur with three possibilities. One, the emission occurs before absorption, second, emission occurs at the same time as absorption, and third, emission occurs after absorption. The last possibility looks puzzling since light is required to go backwards in time. This is possible in mathematical calculations, and photons are said to be exchanged and the locations are used in spacetime in the formula. Additional possibilities to consider are; two and more photon exchange could occur. If we consider the effect polarization, the coupling factor j for backward moving electron is positive, hence the charge is positive and the electron is referred to as positron.

The formula calculates two numbers known as n (mass for a fake electron) and j (coupling parameter; charge of a fake electron). For a real electron, n = mass experimentally determined, and j = charge experimentally determined. The author explains the complexities in the calculation of these two numbers which are used in the formula that calculates the amplitude of electron - photon interactions.

For an atom which contains a nucleus at the center and electron in the orbit; nucleus is heavy and hence considered stationary and the electron moves in spacetime with respect to nucleus in the QED analysis. The dynamics include; electrons and nucleus exchange photons, and the photons from outside is scattered by the electron of the atom. The total amplitude of all electron scattering depends on the arrangement of electrons in the atom and they are variously called s, p, d and f orbitals that accounts for the entire chemistry and chemical reactions of elements.

1. Quantum Electrodynamics (Advanced Book Program)
2. Molecular Quantum Electrodynamics
3. Introductory quantum electrodynamics (Mathematical physics series;no.4)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science)
QED - The Strange Theory of Light and Matter (Penguin Press Science) by Richard P Feynman (Paperback - 29 Mar. 1990)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews