Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic on HOW to approach maths problems
If ever I get stuck trying to approach a novel problem, I dip into Polya. His heuristic method has much wider applicability than just mathematics.
Buy this book for any young person who shows an interest in mathematics. I feel it will contribute to their mathematical development
Published on 13 Jun 2001 by C. R. Long

versus
6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's looking at Euclid
I have just finished an earlier edition (black cover don't know edition)- to be honest it was interesting but if you have not done your geometry you don't know how to think let alone "solve it".

As with other books that many professional mathematitians like - this is not for begginers to learn from only mature people to reminisce, or those who are not actually...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by daphne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic on HOW to approach maths problems, 13 Jun 2001
By 
C. R. Long "clive_long" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
If ever I get stuck trying to approach a novel problem, I dip into Polya. His heuristic method has much wider applicability than just mathematics.
Buy this book for any young person who shows an interest in mathematics. I feel it will contribute to their mathematical development
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction to problem solving., 22 Mar 2000
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
I have had a love affair with Mathematics for over forty-five years. This little book was one of the first books to awaken that interest - my edition on my bookshelf is dated 1957!
George Polya had the reputation of a very great teacher and inspirer of students of mathematics as well as making original contributions of his own. I recommend it to any young person (or anyone)as an excellent introduction to mathematical thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to solve it ?, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
I thought I would buy this book after seeing it reviewed on a Japanese mathmatics program on TV . I found the contents difficult to read not being a higher maths candidate myself. How ever after trying to digest the words of wisdom in the theory of solving problems I had to admit it is only suitable for those amongst us who have a higher maths certificae than myself.very much higher ! The authur G.Polya was an aclaimed world wide mathematician, so if you are in his league then the book is worth reading ..TR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
If you're looking for a book that gives you a framework with which you can begin to systematically approach problem solving, this is it. But in the end, its still over to you to put in the effort to try the method, work with it, absorb it and finally make it second nature. Well worth the effort though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If your on a mathematics degree course read this book from cover to cover and you wont regret it., 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
I have been into maths for 14 years now and I wish I had have read this book before I went to uni.Firstly, lets state the obvious, this book doesn't tell you what you must do to solve all mathematical problems because that would obviously imply all mathematical problems have core similarities which of course they don't. What this book does give you through the use of examples and the prose of Polya, who was a teaching GENIUS, is guidance on how you can become, through a combination of practice, character(yes your character as well as how you feel affects your success to solve problems, duh, this is an aspect in success of problem solving that is totally ignored in modern mathematical education), common sense, intelligence, back ground knowledge, perseverance and the skilled application of his heuristic list a killer problem solver. Seriously, if your on a maths course at uni and you integrate this book and this man into your mathematical education you WILL become a vastly better problem solver. When you finish this READ HIS OTHER BOOKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's looking at Euclid, 23 Feb 2010
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
I have just finished an earlier edition (black cover don't know edition)- to be honest it was interesting but if you have not done your geometry you don't know how to think let alone "solve it".

As with other books that many professional mathematitians like - this is not for begginers to learn from only mature people to reminisce, or those who are not actually doing a course A level or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars how to solve it, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science) (Paperback)
this book is not really worth buying, contains heuristics for problem solving. It is very dated, and states the obvious, very boring to read. May be useful for maths teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Solve it: A New Aspect of Mathematical Method (Penguin Science)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews