Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science fiction at its funniest, 21 Jan. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
This is the equally hilarious sequel to Red Dwarf, so you really want to make sure you read the first book before reading this one. As the novel opens, our heroes--the bumbling yet enterprising David Lister, who is now millions of miles as well as three million years away from the earth he unintentionally left when he got royally drunk on his 25th birthday, the born loser Arnold Rimmer, whose string of incredibly bad luck in life continues unabated in death, the Cat, a humanoid feline cat with at least eight and a half of his nine lives devoted to his own vanity and self-worship, and Kryten, the mechanoid who takes commitment to service, especially when it involves cleaning things, way too far--are trapped inside the highly addictive (and illegal) VR game called Better Than Life, each enjoying his own brand of subconsciously created paradise. With their actual bodies wasting away due to lack of nourishment, they must find a way to escape the game and return to reality. Reality, though, does not welcome them back with open arms. Among the crises the crew of the Red Dwarf must now face are the virtual death of the onboard computer, an impending collision with a very large planet, the capture of their ship by a black hole, a crash-landing on a planet used as a system-wide garbage dump, time dilations, and even death.
This book may be even funnier than the first Red Dwarf novel. By now, the reader has come to know and "love" the characters, so the authors can just propel them into one humorous situation after another without wasting time setting up the jokes. As an added bonus, the characters seem to really evolve emotionally by the end of the book, and we also find out (as if we didn't already know) the major "problem" each character suffers from (anger, guilt, vanity, cowardice). Rimmer, though dead, actually shows a nice, thoughtful human side on occasion. If you were trapped in a room with any of these characters, you would probably be ready to strangle them before too many hours, but the ability to watch their interactions from the safety of your own reality makes for some of the best comedy ever put on paper. You will laugh out loud at least once, and you will wish the book would never end. I haven't seen any of the Red Dwarf TV episodes, but I can't imagine they could be any funnier than the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 May 2006
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
This is the sequel to the first Red Dwarf book, and continues where the first one ended.

It is classic Red Dwarf, which means the gags come quick and fast, and the characters Rimmer, Lister, Kryten and the Cat are once again forced into ridiculous scenarios. The book is laugh out loud funny in a number of places, and is we worth re-reading.

If I had a criticism, it would be there is very little of Kryten or the Cat in this book. I found this to be a waste.

Overall though, for fans of Red Dwarf, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars reading for boys, 8 Jan. 2011
By 
f100 (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
my son doesn't read books. He was read to constantly as a child and loved stories but never took the idea of reading for himself(except for sports magazines). I tried all sorts but these were the first books to work(he was 18 at the time). After reading the first one on a boring(for him!)family holiday, I got two more and instead of giving them to him i just left them out. they disappeared into his room and were read quickly. He has since started reading a bit more. I liked them too, but then i liked the television series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Infinity's poor cousin, 23 Sept. 2000
By 
Kelly EC (winsford, cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
This is actually the weakest red dwarf novel, but if your a fan you'll love it anyway. I thought Lister in high peril with the acid rain storm was the stand out moment- its spin chilling! There is also a pleasing amount of Holly in this one(and talkie toaster- though some might not think thats a good thing). Kryten is strangley underused, as is the Cat, but if you a Rimmer fan you'll love his destruction of BTl. There is also an interesting concept of earth being turned into a Garbage planet and he ending (as always) is lovely. I would call this a solid dwarf novel- where as 'Infinity' and 'Last Human' are the must reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provacative, funny, and all around YUMMY!, 22 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
Once again the dazzling duo of Rob Grant and Doug Naylor have wowed Red Dwarf fans everywhere with the sequel to Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers. There are some books that just leave you feeling good about life, and this is one of them. Better than life is well-written, interesting, and thoughtful; I can't believe I've lived so long without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny you wont believe it !!, 3 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
If you really want to enjoy this book you should read the first in the series. All the crew of Red Dwarf are in a virtual reality simulation called Better Than Life which simulates there deepest desires and how they manage to get out of it. There are loads of twists in the plot and plenty of great jokes to keep you satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the tv series?, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Than Life (Hardcover)
The books are better, its easy style and yet different progression lead to a whole new love of lister and the crew. If you like the tv series and like to read buy these in sequence and read them all. Most enjoyable read I have had for ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everquest junkies started here!, 11 May 2002
By 
Mary Gollihugh "aka 'Ash' or Mariance" (On the Lake Erie Shoreline, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
"Better than Life" is a dangerous game, like piers Anthony's Hypnogourds, you forget to eat, sleep, and could die from playing it. How to address this with humor and with? Enter Grant and Naylor! This book is also one that the entire family can read, quote lines from, and wonder "What if ...". Now if I can get the men in the family to let me have the computer more often, instead of them playing EverQuest I would tell you more. meanwhile, I will retire with a good book that is a definite reread! With Enthusiasm! Mariance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Than Life (Hardcover)
Love it. Prompt despatch thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for fans, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) (Paperback)
Top notch, as you'd expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Better Than Life (Red Dwarf)
Better Than Life (Red Dwarf) by Grant Naylor (Paperback - 4 April 1991)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews