Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read ever!, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. M. Bennett "Forever gunner" (MK. Bucks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My mother found this book on a church fete stall 15 years ago. I have re-read it many times over, and i have to confess that i am obsessed! I was mesmorised by the human interest and sadness of it. A thorough but sensitive investigation by John Cornwell, which wonderfully delves into relationships in this remote area of Devon. Love, loyalty, depression (leading to madness), crushed ambitions, isolation, self-reliance, and the ghosts of family past.... It is all here. I purchased this book from Amazon after losing my copy. I hope you will love reading this book as much as i have?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a non-fiction piece, Cornwell aims to uncover the mystery surrounding the death of the Luxton family. Found dead on their west country farm in the late 1970s. The deaths were shrouded in mystery, surrounded by rumours of incest and self-imposed isolation.
But how true were these rumours, and what really happened on that farm?
John Cornwell aims to find out, and although the book never has the feeling of a thriller, the intrigue about the fate of the family, as well as their previous lives, makes this an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. It is very well written and allows the reader to have a very good understanding of what caused the disintegration of this family. It touches ones heart to read about the history of these two brothers and their sister and see how hard they worked to keep up their farm and their lives going in the midst of loosing their grasp on everything. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband had a copy of this book and lost it so I was very pleased to find it on Amazon, it is a story that involves my husbands family and is very strange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fulfilled a wish by managing to get this book, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend has been looking for this book for years and i spotted it on Amazon so bought it for her for Christmas. She's very chuffed and the postage speed was very good so 5*'s to the seller :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read, 19 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Photofox" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to spend a lot of time in Winkleigh, Devon and knew the area quite well. I came upon this book many years ago and it intrigued me as I knew the places where the events took place.
Seeing it on Amazon again spurred me to re-read it.
It tells the story of the deaths of three siblings who ran a farm the old fashioned way. John Cornwell tells the story of their life and ancestry so well, it's easy to get totally absorbed in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Gripping, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accounts written by journalists are usually good because their training prevents the story from flagging. John Cornwell does not disappoint. This is an utterly gripping page-turner: I devoured it in a single sitting. 'Earth to Earth' is brimming with detail and atmosphere - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Cornwell never disappoints, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came across this extraordinary book by accident while looking for something totally different on Amazon. Ordered it (secondhand) for just 2 and read it in two days. John Cornwell is a brilliant author anyway so I knew it wouldn't disappoint. It's haunting. It stays with you long into the night and the next day and the next . . .
It's the sad, poignant, horrific story of the remnants (in more ways than one) of a Devon farming family, two brothers and a sister, who led a strange, secluded life on their farm between Exmoor and Dartmoor, and who were found with their brains blown out on a September morning in 1975. Cornwell conducts his exhaustive search for the reasons behind the tragedy in the closed, protective community, in his dogged, journalistic way. He weaves the strands of agricultural history, local gossip, family secrets, sexual repression, thwarted ambition and grinding poverty to create a compelling narrative. In anyone else's hands it could have been exploitative, intrusive and prurient: the ingredients are certainly there - blood and brains, hints of incest, real jealousy, anger and bitter feuds. But John Cornwell cares about the people he writes about, and it shows. It's a real-life detective story told with compassion and deep respect for the central characters. It's a cliche, but I really could not put it down. No surprise it won the Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger Award for Non-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating saga, 2 July 2012
Following the discovery of the bloody bodies of 3 members of an ancient Devon farming family on an isolated farm in 1975, John Cornwell has done a superb job of unravelling the history of the family and the events that led inexorably to the tragic conclusion. Incredibly, the attitudes, lifestyles and farming methods of the Luxton family had barely changed in 100 years. They treated their employees like feudal serfs and shunned the technological advances of the 20th century. Inevitably as age took its toll they were unable to continue to maintain their way of life and madness and paranoia ensued. We shall never know exactly what happened in those last desperate hours but the author has conducted in depth interviews and fully researched the family history to give a genuine insight into the family and their endeavours to continue to do what they had always done.

A book that will haunt you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth to Earth: True Story of the Lives and Violent Deaths of a Devon Farming Family (True Crime)
Used & New from: 3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews