Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
THE LITTLE SISTER is terrific mystery that concludes with a gruesome incident of sudden (albeit implausible) poetic justice. By my count, TLS has five murders and a suicide, with Philip Marlowe a step too slow to prevent any crime but way ahead of the cops (and this reader) as he identifies the perps and unravels their interlaced motives.

There are lots of...
Published on 28 Nov 2008 by Ethan Cooper

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best
Chandler is a very opaque writer here
Published 2 months ago by B. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Little Sister (Mass Market Paperback)
THE LITTLE SISTER is terrific mystery that concludes with a gruesome incident of sudden (albeit implausible) poetic justice. By my count, TLS has five murders and a suicide, with Philip Marlowe a step too slow to prevent any crime but way ahead of the cops (and this reader) as he identifies the perps and unravels their interlaced motives.

There are lots of standard Raymond Chandler elements in TLS, including gangsters, devious deadly dames, and a film-noir Los Angeles. But in contrast to other Chandler novels I've read, there seems to be even less effort to elucidate the sour integrity of the lonely Marlowe. Since this is the fifth novel in the series, Chandler probably felt such explication would add little to, and might actually detract from, his spare and disciplined style. On the other hand, Chandler tells us more about the movie business in TLS and his dialogue is never better. Among my marginalia is: "Conversation as combat."

In TLS, it's the cops that bring out the best in Ray. When they're on the page, Chandler's wonderful metaphors seem sharpest, his skillful screen writer's dialogue carries the most freight, and his rhetoric absolutely soars. Here's Chandler letting loose, as Lieutenant Christy French berates Marlowe:

"It's like this with us, baby. We're coppers and everybody hates our guts. And as if we didn't have enough trouble, we have to have you. As if we didn't get pushed around enough by the guys in the corner offices, the City Hall gang, the day chief, the night chief, the Chamber of Commerce, His Honor the Mayor. ...We spend our lives turning over dirty underwear and sniffing rotten teeth. We go up dark stairways to get a gun punk with a skinful of hop and sometimes we don't get all the way up, and our wives wait dinner that night and all the other nights. We don't come home anymore. And nights we do come home, we come home so [expletive] tired, we can't eat or sleep or even read the lies the papers print about us. So we lie awake at night in a cheap house on a cheap street..."

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anniversary Edition, 10 July 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Little Sister (Hardcover)
On the 50th anniversary of the death of Raymond Chandler five of his novels have been re-released with the original artwork on the covers from the first UK edition, onto these hardback editions. I have read this story many times before but when I saw this one I had a good excuse to replace my battered well thumbed copy.

Philip Marlowe is approached by Miss Orfamay Quest from Manhattan, Kansas to locate her missing brother. A relatively simple case you would think, but this becomes one that Marlowe wished he never took on. From something easy Marlowe finds himself embroiled in a very complicated case. With jealousy, greed, blackmail, murder, film stars and a gangster Marlowe is up to his eyes in the thick of it. Marlowe really has to keep his wits about him as he tries to finding the missing person.

Full of great one-liners and deadpan humour Chandler once again showed how he could take pulp crime noir and make it a piece of literary art. If you have never read Chandler before now is a good a time as any to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chandler moves on to Post-War crime, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Little Sister (Paperback)
Sleazy, dark, corrupt, fascinating, amoral and that's just Dolores Gonzales! Chandler hits top form again as he features a Hollywood 'reeking with sex', beyond all moral laws, in another bewildering plot ostensibly about little Orfamay's missing big brother.

Now aged 38, Marlowe feels 'jaded and old' from a lifetime of 'knocking on doors of cheap hotels that nobody bothered to open'. He still manages to be the undisputed California wisecrack champion; 'I'll make the gags, you tell the story'.

Chandler has a cynical attitude to the post-war world and how it has changed America. He loathes, 'California, the department store state. The most of everything and the best of nothing'. He despises the impact on Los Angeles 'once the Athens of America' now 'a neon-lighted slum'.

Thankfully, the homophobia of his earlier novels is toned down whilst Marlowe's relationship with the LAPD is back on an ambiguous path.

I was delighted that the Marlowe/Chandler imposters who masqueraded in 'The Lady in The Lake' were replaced by the real thing.

My only reservation is that I agree with Marlowe that the plot was, 'too complicated' and 'my head was dizzy with figuring it out'. What a shame that I may have to read it all again! I shall be forced to revisit the sizzling Mavis Weld and the 'as exclusive as a mailbox' Dolores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Chandler gem, 10 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Mass Market Paperback)
Having only got around to reading the novels after many years of watching the films, these books are an absolute treat. The words and thoughts on the page just have more impact than when they are spoken. I found myself re-reading sentences over and over.
The language is just brilliant and I can only think of Elmore Leonard who is even in the same class when it comes to crime fiction. Despite being set 50+ years ago they seem very contemporary and not all all past their time.
I would recommend all this series and to read them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cynical masterpiece, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Dr. W. H. Konarzewski "Dr W. H. Konarzewski" (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not sure I followed all the twists and turns of the plot, but just about enough to keep up with the story. Like many of Chandler's readers, I suspect, I read him primarily because of the sheer brilliance and poetry of his language - his ability to capture a scene or a character or an expression. His profusion of similes are in a class of their own. e.g. "She laughed. I guess it was a silvery tinkle where she was. It sounded like somebody putting away saucepans where I was." e.g. "A smile picked delicately at the corners of her lips, very slowly like a child trying to pick up a snowflake."

There are one or two minor irritations. I find it tiresome that almost every female character falls instantly in love with Marlowe, but perhaps that's just jealousy...

This is one of Chandler's great works. I might read it again one day to try and find out what it was all about.
And then a third time, just for the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric!, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Kindle Edition)
Could have been in the area from desriptions. Loved the dialogue. Got a little lost in the middle but a good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Paperback)
A classic crime and detective novel from the 1940's, but it's still hugely readable and entertaining even now. Some things never change - and the criminals, bad guys, gamblers, corrupt policemen and beautiful women Marlow encounters seem timeless. I read this in 2 sittings and immediately ordered more. Chandlers Philip Marlow is a great character, always just about managing to be a good guy, but only just sometimes, a hard boiled detective who's comfortable in Los Angeles seedy underworld, but who's got his own kind of moral code. A strength of character and integrity greater than those around him. Chandlers one of these authors that can develop a character in a sentence, and the one liners and dialogue are immense, there's hardly a passage that isn't quotable and the characters jump off the page.
Nevertheless, its not just the great characters and snappy one liners, the plot is pacey and exciting and there's a nice twist at the end. Buy one of Chandler's books and it's a cert you'll read them all. I actually quite envy anyone who'll be reading Raymond Chandler for the first time, he's head and shoulders above the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Chandler, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Kindle Edition)
Wow. Stepping right back in time into the world of Hollywood wannabees, gangsters and private detectives. I loved the sarcastic unspoken thoughts in the text. Marlowe is so much the gumshoe with the heart. He turns down all the hot and cold running broads that come his way but doesn't refuse a kiss or two. He is a sucker for a hard luck story and really tells it how it is even if he gets his face slapped as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Chandler's best stories, 20 Jan 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Hardcover)
I wrote recently about an omnibus edition of Chandler's novels; this is the one that was missing. All of Raymond Chandlers detective books are excellent and you would be hard pushed to choose one that stands out beyond the rest; each have their qualities, but few are as hard hitting and as dark as this one. The story involves the search for a missing brother, instigated by his little sister. Early on, Phillip Marlowe's suspicions are raised and he hustles himself a Hollywood starlet, in the making, as a client: giving nothing away, the plot is involved and eventually reaches it conclusion with all loose ends tidied up, but no-one escapes from the critical eye that cynically dissects the post-war era and Hollywood and what the City of Los Angeles is becoming - old values gone and the new given over to the selling of sex - in the movie industry, in relationships between people, for the purposes of making a buck, or a lot of bucks, depending where you are in the food chain. This is the darkness, a world weary detective who has seen too much and likes too little of what he sees now, making the whole weary business mean and sordid: no-one comes out of it unscathed. Despite the darkness, this is not a gloomy story; it has pace and action, with written descriptions that make the time and place real. Not to be missed; if you haven't read it, I encourage you to do so and if you haven't got it, get it - it is worth reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Sister (Paperback)
bought for a Philip Marlowe fan. You can't always get the books you want on the high street without pre ordering, so it was good that this book was available so quickly and at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Sister
The Little Sister by Raymond Chandler (Mass Market Paperback - 7 July 2005)
8.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews