Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The moon never beams without bringing me dreams"
Edgar Allan Poe is a writer whose reputation rests solely upon a handful of short stories and a poem; there are very few writers in the Western canon, or anywhere really, where this is the case. There's usually a novel that they're famous for and while Poe wrote a novel "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym", it isn't particularly good and doesn't hold up to the short...
Published 18 months ago by Noel

versus
96 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably concise compilation of Poe's works.
Despite the title, this volume is not a complete collection of Poe's tales or poems, although *most* of them are present. His essays, reviews and miscellania are almost completely absent. There is no introduction, no notes and nothing in the way of commentary. The absence of this latter can make reading difficult, as Poe made frequent use of French, Latin, Greek and...
Published on 15 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The moon never beams without bringing me dreams", 25 Oct 2012
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Edgar Allan Poe is a writer whose reputation rests solely upon a handful of short stories and a poem; there are very few writers in the Western canon, or anywhere really, where this is the case. There's usually a novel that they're famous for and while Poe wrote a novel "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym", it isn't particularly good and doesn't hold up to the short stories.

But what stories they are! They're all filled with madmen, murder, jealousy, betrayal, revenge, magic, death, hatred, ghosts, haunted mansions, talking dead, hypnotists, and jesters - all the elements that went on to make up the horror genre that exists today. Poe is the grandfather of horror whose imagery still captures peoples' imaginations today.

The creepy old man with the one large eye in "Tell-tale Heart" whose still-beating dead heart drives his murderer insane; crazy Roderick Usher who sits in his crumbling mansion haunted by his dead sister's ghost; the figure of death who intrudes upon a prince's party in a locked up castle while all among the countryside reigns the Red Death; the nightmarish swinging pendulum; the living death of "M. Valdemar"; the sweet revenge of "Cask of Amontillado"; the immolated bullies of "Hop-Frog"; the murderous doppelganger of "William Wilson"; and the early template for the detective stories of later years in "Murders in the Rue Morgue", "Mystery of Marie Roget" and "Purloined Letter" - these are all first class stories that hold up superbly today.

The appeal of these captivating stories goes hand in hand with knowledge of Poe's own tortured life that contained numerous instances of heart-ache, loneliness, and loss, tinged with addiction to alcohol and drugs, and a mysterious death that remains unexplained to this day.

While the majority of the stories aren't as brilliant as "Amontillado" or "Usher", those few stories that are more than vindicate Poe's status as a great writer. And while the lesser stories like "Gold Bug", "Black Cat", and "Descent into the Maelstrom" feel slower, overwritten, and less interesting than the best of Poe, there are moments in them that stand out and make reading them worthwhile.

Then there is the poetry. "The Raven" stands head and shoulders above the others, and remains a startlingly arresting poem to read to yourself or aloud to others. It's sing-song quality is what keeps it so popular and its legendary images of a demented Raven saying "Nevermore", and entrancing lines "Once upon a midnight dreary...", make it a poem that people will willingly read, and keep returning to, until the end of time.

As with the stories, few other poems manage to reach the heights of "Raven" but there are a few gems in the poems, some excellent lines and images such as in "Lenore", "The Conqueror Worm", "Spirits of the Dead" and my favourite "Annabel Lee".

Poe's stories are a must-read for all fans of literature, whether horror, gothic or otherwise, as they're not only fascinating and well-written but are also, most importantly, great fun to read. So go on, turn off the lights, and by the glare of the silvery moon open up the pages to one of his stories, and scare yourself like it's 1842... nevermore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably concise compilation of Poe's works., 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Penguin Classics) (Paperback)
Despite the title, this volume is not a complete collection of Poe's tales or poems, although *most* of them are present. His essays, reviews and miscellania are almost completely absent. There is no introduction, no notes and nothing in the way of commentary. The absence of this latter can make reading difficult, as Poe made frequent use of French, Latin, Greek and Hebrew quotations, and also employed obscure and unfamiliar words and mythological allusions. However, the stories and poems are presented in a logical order, those with similar themes being clustered together.
There are other compilations of Poe available (with lower prices) which contain basically the same material. This book is not of exceptional quality; the print used (at least in my copy) smudges, and the text contains a number of printing errors.
On the quality of Poe's fiction itself (rather than this particular volume) he cannot be faulted. A true master of every literary style to which he turned his hand, Poe elevated the short story to an artform and even created the detective fiction genre. Many writers since owe him a huge debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read for dedicated fans, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Until the purchase of this collection, I had a very limited knowledge of Poe's varied works. Like most people, I knew well the poem: 'The Raven', and the short stories: 'The Pit and the Pendulum', 'The Black Cat', and 'The Fall Of The House Of Usher.' But in acquiring this book, I realize that Poe's interests extended far beyond horror, although that is the area in which he excels.
I was pleasantly surprised by the clear similarities between the 3 excellent Dupin murder-mysteries and Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. I had no idea Conan Doyle had taken his inspiration from anyone but a former real-life associate. But Edgar Allen Poe's 'The Purloined Letter' is the obvious predecessor of 'A Scandal In Bohemia.' In my opinion, the Dupin mysteries have to rate among the best of Poe's works. I'm just rather taken aback that I've never come across them before.
The book itself is very well produced, the leather binding fitting well with my small collection of old books. It's pleasing that there are still some publishers that take the time and trouble to go beyond the world of mass paperback and create a good-looking book.
My reason for the 4 stars is only a matter of personal taste in Poe's writings. As I have already mentioned, his works are varied and not all the stories appeal to me; it seems our taste in the comic tends to differ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grade A book pron, 30 Dec 2011
By 
James Nunn "Salty Sea Dog" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll admit it, I'm a bibliophile. More often than not, the binding of a book is as important to me as the content, which is why I ordered this particular Poe anthology over a cheaper paperback version.

I had to wait a short while for it to be dispatched, but patience is a virtue as they say. When it DID arrive, I was astounded. The image on Amazon doesn't do it justice! The text is a pale silver/bone shade, set against a raven black leather embossed with patterns in crimson gore. The pages are edged in a softly reflective, pearlescent silver, which feels silky and altogether too sensual beneath the fingers.

Content is, of course, unparallelled - all Poes works, beautifully presented with footnotes and appendices, and a few illustrations in a style contemporaneous with the time of Poes writing.

So if you want some Poe, and you derive guilty plesure from stroking books, holding them, sniffing them, then devouring the words withing, get this tome. Paperback versions? Nevermore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my friend for her birthday and I'll admit I'm incredibly jealous! It's a beautifully bound edition with lovely illustrations and colourings on the cover. It's great value for money as the quality of the product is so high and this is something that will be treasured for years. It arrived quickly and without any damage or wear to the product. Definitely recommend this product, I'll be saving up to get it for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eerie and atmospheric, 12 Mar 2013
The Raven, The Pit and the Pendulum, The Masque of the Red Death were all exceptionally creepy plots which fascinated me first in their film versions but on now reading Poe,first hand,I realise why a man with so little output as an author nevertheless achieved such fame. Clearly his own somewhat dissolute and tragic life, from orphan to outcast and then marrying his own young cousin are events which seem to get indirectly mirrored in his work, so that the fictional takes on enormous power when driven by the intensity of emotion which must have shaped Poe's own life. Troubled and weird, yes, and yet I thought moving and thoroughly engaging stories which deserved their production as films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really really nice edition, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after getting disappointed from the quality of Complete Edgar Allan Poe (Wordsworth Library Collection)

Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) is a completely different animal...
The leather binding looks and feels awesome.
The pages are a nice white with smallish fonts and are comfortably usable, but I would liked them a bit thicker. The silver color on the page edges is sprayed on and looks patchy. When you first open the book the page edges are a bit glued together because of the silver paint. They easily break apart after flipping them once or twice and there are no obvious paint smudges on the face of the paper.
In general the silver edges are a bit too much for my taste.

About the contents, all of Poe' s most popular work is in here. I do not know all of his rare or semi-rare writings, but all I have ever read/heard and then a lot more is in here.
I will definitely recommend this to all my horror reading friends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, though maybe for those who are studying him, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Lewis Bowron (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
Ive read a few of the stories and poems from this book, and I really like the language used and the way it is written, but then if you're buying this then chances are you've read Poe before. It is as far as I can tell the collection of everything and anything that can be found to be written by Poe, and its bound and a very good quality manner. The faux leather is embossed with red detail, the paper used is good quality (though still slightly thin, though if it was thicker, the book would be much thicker). The paper is edged with silver, and the type face used inst too small so as to make reading uncomfortable.

Very good looking book, and if your a fan, I dare bet this is your best option :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who couldn't love poe?, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a large selection of poe's works.
and it will give you plenty of reading materials at over 800 pages of masterful literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every " Poe" admirer should have this edition, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stunning book lovely edition and would look great on any bookshelf...has mostly everything I wanted in the one book delighted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5b44954)

This product

The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Penguin Classics)
The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Penguin Classics) by Edgar Allan Poe (Paperback - 29 Oct 1982)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews