Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2010
Look to the Lady is probably my favourite 'Campion' story. This audiobook has been very well abridged by Tamsin Collison, and Philip Franks is an excellent reader. I have bought all the hachette audiobooks of the Margery Allingham Campion stories as I have always enjoyed reading her books. If you want a starting point for the series, then I would thoroughly recommend this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
One of the best early Albert Campion books. It was the first I read and because of the reference to Biddy Lobbett meant that I had to read others in order to understand Albert a bit better. Margery Allingham is rare as a crime writer, because her principle characters age and change accordingly. At this point in his life Albert is young, fun and enjoying life other than being off women due to his lack of success with Biddy. It is not a whodunnit as it is clear from fairly early on who his adversary is, and the story is how, despite limited resources and serious constraints, this person is defeated. This is a wonderful snapshot of a past England that has not really been well documented and is worth reading if only for some of that detail. The plot is so full of characters from all levels of English society and the action is such that it is amazing, but probably fortunate, that no one has tried to make a film of it. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2007
This is the best Allingham I have ever read. It kept my attention throughout. It was incredibly exciting and the ending was nail-biting.

Anyone who has not read this book does not know what they are missing.

An absolute cracker well worth 5 stars which I reserve only for the elite.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
I listened to this simply because I love the book (now on my third copy)and my Francis Mathews cassettes had begun to wear. What a disappointment the abridged version is. The depth of the characters and half the storylines are missing and it shows. I hate to think what they've missed out of the other books. No more abridged CDs for me.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
A lovely, lively tale from Margery Alingham featuring Albert Campion and his lugubrious butler Lugg who gets badly frightened by a medieval haunt. The villain, a worthy foe, nearly does for Albert - luckily Mrs Sarah's mob are on hand. A very pleasant read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
I got this book free from the publishers for an honest review.

The book opens on Percival St John Wykes Gyrth (a mouthful) living as a vagrant. He finds a mysterious piece of paper with an address which he decides to investigate which brings him to Lugg (Albert Campions butler) who then gives a letter from Campion advising him to come visit. On his journey to Campions he nearly gets abducted. The opening chapters are high octane stuff and makes you wonder why is a vagrant getting so much attention. It turns out Percival is due to inherit the guardianship of a chalice which has been on the Gyrth family for generations and if they lose it they will also become bankrupt. There are several thieves trying to get this chalice and so this is where Campion comes in, to help guard the chalice.
The story is enjoyable, dialogue excellent and hard to believe this was written so long ago it is that enjoyable. My one gripe is the layout of pages on the kindle version I received. Some pages have 1 or 2 sentences only, or 2 paragraphs with a huge white space between them. It is only a minor thing which does not take away from it being a good story and it may not be laid out that way in the Amazon copies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
One of the best things about reading Margery Allingham is that you actually have to read the book, you cannot skim read, to do so is to completely lose the sense of what is happening. The main character, Albert Campion is not the normal hero, in fact for most of the time he is very irritating, it is only Ms Allingham's asides - what he is thinking - that keep the reader on his side. The story unfolds in a way that allows the reader to keep up with what is going on and with all the characters, there is none of the grand denouement at the end where the clever detective reveals how he has solved the mystery; with this writer you are allowed to reach a conclusion at the same time as the characters. Don't be fooled by the age of the book, it's problems and the crimes described are as relevant now as they were when the book was written. The differences are in the attitudes and values of the characters, as they were 80 years ago and even then many of them are still relevant and also the delicate without being coy way in which the author introduces relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
This reveiw is posted after receiving a copy of the book from the publishers in return for an honest appraisal.

A great example of a mystery of its time, this book introduces Campion who grows within the context of the story and on into the series until he takes a place along side Agetha Christies' Hercule Poirot as a favourite 'mystery' character solving crimes using their little grey cells. A very enjoyable book which if it didn't quote prices and used fewer terms from times gone by could well stand the test of time bearing in mind that it was written nearly 80 years ago. I first read this book 40 years ago and found it just as entertaining. If this is a new author to you, try it, if like me reading it again after many years, enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Nearly have the complete collection. Always enjoy Margery Allingham's books. The Campion stories are worth a read, especially if read in order of the way they were written
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
If you like Miss Marple then I'm sure you will enjoy this Albert Campion story - easy to listen too especially on long car journeys
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.