Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book
I read this when I was a teenager travelling through Africa. I had to cover the front image because alongside the stories it scared me to much. Yet these stories drew you in, scarier than any film I've seen yet far more intriging aswell. It's incomparible to any book I've read since. It's in a genre of it's own. Each is an individual master piece,...
Published on 12 Jan 2006 by A. Price

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
From the front cover its easy to belive that the contents of the book may contain ghost stories written by RD. Instead its gost stories selected by RD. They are good stories, but still feel that we have been duped.
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by G. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 12 Jan 2006
By 
A. Price (Glos) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
I read this when I was a teenager travelling through Africa. I had to cover the front image because alongside the stories it scared me to much. Yet these stories drew you in, scarier than any film I've seen yet far more intriging aswell. It's incomparible to any book I've read since. It's in a genre of it's own. Each is an individual master piece, they're beautiful, elequent and twist and turn in the most unexpected ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 7 Feb 2009
By 
G. Smith "GS" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
From the front cover its easy to belive that the contents of the book may contain ghost stories written by RD. Instead its gost stories selected by RD. They are good stories, but still feel that we have been duped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 5 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
When i saw that Roald Dahl had chosen these stories i was expecting them to be terrifying, but to be honest they didn't really stir me at all (& i scare very easily). The only one that had that impact was 'Harry', that stayed with me for quite a while! I would recommend the book for that story alone, & there are a few others that i would describe as 'nice stories'. In other words they were nice tales of friendly ghosts rather than scary horror stories.
Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Ghost Stories (Hardcover)
good read enjoyable and easy to get back into if you've left it for a few days but roald dahl always a good story teller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but not very spooky, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
The stories in this book are all well written and fun to read but for present day they are not particularly spooky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Hair On My Neck Stood Up..., 26 Oct 2006
By 
Mom (Northern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
reading some of these ghost stories. This is a wonderful wonderful collection of true ghost stories. Highly recommend it to everyone a bit older, say, 12 years and up!! Loved the one called Playmates. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter didn't seem to enjoy these books, the stories dragged on a little and she lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories (Perfect Paperback)
I bought this as it's about horror and I love the author of the book, great story writer, sad he's no longer around, yet the books live on, great price, would recommend to all who read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Thought it was stories by the man himself though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT DEPENDS, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like magic, vampires, Harry Potter, Hobbits... you will love these stories which are definitely exciting and further more chosen by Roald Dahl. Even I, who prefer the unexpected turns of real life, did enjoy each one of them. If you want a break from the prosaic and dull everyday life, you can ...dive in their eerie and mysterious world and boost your imagination-the hallmark of human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories
Roald Dahl's Book of Ghost Stories by Roald Dahl (Perfect Paperback - 31 Oct 1985)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews