Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and chilling
This is an absolutely fantastic novel. It works so well because Theroux refuses to let the reader make up their mind about whether to admire or detest the obsessive and maniacal central character, Allie Fox, as he plunges his family deeper and deeper into despair. His misguided search for what he sees as an alternative to the American dream is almost compelling, but the...
Published on 4 Jun. 2004 by giveitsomestick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good fiction and travel author i enjoy reading all the time!
Published 3 months ago by Maria


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and chilling, 4 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
This is an absolutely fantastic novel. It works so well because Theroux refuses to let the reader make up their mind about whether to admire or detest the obsessive and maniacal central character, Allie Fox, as he plunges his family deeper and deeper into despair. His misguided search for what he sees as an alternative to the American dream is almost compelling, but the effect that this has on those who love him becomes increasingly disturbing as the plot unwinds. Theroux controls this balance brilliantly.
I read this when I was in Central America, but it's so absorbing that I could have been anywhere! Not a light-hearted read by any stretch, but the pages turn very quickly and I just couldn't put it down. Very strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this book., 7 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
I was hooked from the very first page. The adventures inflicted upon this family by the brilliant and dangerous Allie Fox draws the reader into a world tainted by their desperate struggle for survival. But their lives are not in danger just because they are living in the jungle far away from any kind of civilisation, but also because Allie Fox, the father and husband, demands absolute loyalty through disaster after disaster. But this book is not as depressing and frustrating as it sounds. Personally I enjoyed the inventions and plans of Allie (the most fascinationg being the ice-machine!), obviously the result of the brilliant mind behind this book. An uneasy combination of reality and an element of this-could-never-happen-in-real-life makes this a book that will not fade away once closed, rather a book one starts reading from the beginning again once the last page had been turned.

What makes a good book for me is when I never want it to end. This is one of those books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why can't all novels be like this one?, 6 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
The Mosquito Coast is told through the eyes of Charlie Fox, a typical American boy. The story he tells us chronicles the "adventure" his family has when his father, Allie Fox takes them all to live in the Hounduran jungle. This is a stunning book which I have already read several times. The story is fantastic; a mixture of sarcastic humour, adventure and emotion. The character of Allie Fox (genius or goat: you decide,) is unique and hilarious and one you can just come back to again and again. I highly recommend this to anyone; all books should be as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, but often chilling, 9 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
I read this book solely because I had read good reviews of it. I'm glad to say that those reviews were spot on. The Mosquito Coast poses questions on a wide range of subjects from family to modern culture. The story is intriguing and after a few chapters I found I was totally gripped.
The father is ingenious, and its difficult not to admire his creativity and intellect, but he has a very cruel streak. There are a few episodes that illustrate his callous nature towards his children in the beginning of the book, but as it proceeds, his actions and attitudes become all the more chilling. The devotion of his wife and children (especially that of Charlie) show the amazing control one person can have over others.
The last three-quarters of the book are utterly gripping, as the father's inability to accept blame for his own mistakes pushes the family into extremely difficult circumstances. From here readers are kept on a knife edge to the shocking climax.
Gripping story, effective writing, interesting characters. Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A child's view of untreated bipolar, Chilling but a great read, 30 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
Really easy to read. I felt compelled to move on to the next chapter. Brilliantly written. Seems to give a good view of the Miskito Coast which runs along the eastern border of Honduras and Nicaragua.

The insight of Charlie, the eldest son of the family, into what is happening as his father moves them to Honduras to escape the destruction than he predicts of the US and his persecution complex is brilliantly written. The conflicting emotions of Charlie and his observations of his mother and siblings reactions as he is both frightened by and loves his father are fascinating.

You end up wishing for the death of the father as you feel he will destroy his family and feel he is saving them.

Although it never mentions directly that Allie Fox (the father) is mentally ill, the descriptions of his behaviour make that evident in both his genius and his delusion.

You feel hot, humid and dirty just from reading of the life in the swamps and jungles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively and Imaginative, 28 April 2006
By 
Mr. T. Ashwood (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
This book is a must-read for anyone who enjoys an imaginative story. It is hard to put down once you start reading, and is absolutely full of creative and interesting sub-plots.

The personalities of the different characters in the book are key to understanding the plot, and they are portrayed in a way which grips the reader. The strange mind of the father pushes the family further and further into their own secluded world, shutting off the outside technology.

Overall, a must-read book! Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fictional travel, 10 April 2004
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
It had been a while since I read a book by Theroux. I love his travel books. He has been called a cynic by many, though I guess that could be seen as a recommendation as well. To me it isn't necessarily a negative point. Theroux writes big books, which makes them ideal to take on a holiday, at least to me, as I read a lot and can't take piles of books.
The Mosquito coast is a novel, yet it is also a travel book. An American family decides to leave the States, the country is not making progress according to Father. They end up in Honduras where they manage to create a little community where they live happily, all doing their daily chores. Father even manages to build an ice machine, use fire to make ice, even in the heat of central America. Yet father goes berserk and things do not look as brightly as they did before.
Great story, difficult to put down. It does help that I have been in Honduras and have some images in my head when I read this. Apart from that I saw a great movie with Robin Williams as the brilliant, yet crazy father (apparently it already had been turned into a movie, I must have missed that one). Greatly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 4 Sept. 2010
By 
Anthony Peter Swallow (Bruxelles, Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
This is an exceptional book. The central character, the husband and father, Allie Fox, is utterly unlike any other you will come across. His personality shouts out from every page and dominates the book, his inventions are stunning, his capacities are limitless, his strength knows no bounds, his cruelty is awful. He magics the family out of America into a world of his own imagining, where he is emperor. And, as with all absolute monarchs, absolute power corrupts Fox absolutely.... Theroux tells the story with such dexterity and such style that the reader feels sympathy right up to the shocking end. And, as far as shocking ends go, this is one of the most shocking I have ever read in a lifetime of reading.

Fox uses his tongue to the last page and I am sure you will join me in wishing he would stop lecturing occasionally and listen to others. Mrs Fox (interestingly, nameless) deserves a long service medal for all she has to put up with; but in the end, it turns out that she is the one Fox is trying to impress and whose approbation he craves.The four children are interestingly depicted, and I very much like the way they are mirrored in the long central section by the local Maywit family. Mr Haddy brings much needed light relief to the heavy drama and is a wonderful and amusing character. The other locals are also very well drawn.

The story revolves around disillusion in all its forms and the capacity of humans to adapt and fit to new circumstances.

Finally, for me, the story is almost magic in its feel - a Honduras (despite mosquitoes) without any really dangerous animals or severe illness, a Honduras created by Allie Fox's mind to be the backdrop to his own personal drama.

Excellent, gripping page-turning stuff. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fantastic Mr Fox, 15 Jan. 2009
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
As probably Paul Theroux's best-known fiction work I've long wanted to read `Mosquito Coast', and not just because I am a fan of his grumpy brand of travel writing. A 1980s feature film adaptation - starring Harrison Ford and River Phoenix - left a indelible mark on me, perhaps because, as a boy, I was anticipating the kind of action-adventure film which had made Harrison Ford famous. Instead, I was rather perplexed and a little horrified by what I saw; incidentally, Ford is often quoted as saying it is the film he is most proud of. Whether or not that film still stands up to scrutiny I don't know but Theroux's novel is a powerful and compelling parable about the dangers of seeking to recreate the world in your own image, a gripping allegorical thriller warning against the aggressive pursuit of utopias.

The novel revolves around a troubled `genius' Allie Fox, a charismatic inventor who drags his family out of the United States to start a new civilisation in the jungles of Honduras. Like a parallel revolutionary, he leads first by example, with a gift for impelling others with his pragmatism and oratorial skills but later resorting to tyranny and oppression to enforce his views on others, refusing to accept responsibility for his failures. Narrated by his son Charlie, the novel really centres around Allie's awe-inspiring and occasionally intimidating `Father' figure - by turns raging against and charming those he meets, dazzling some with his inventions and ideals while chucking barbed insults at others. Admittedly many of the other characters are slightly hazier, not least his wife, known only as `Mother', with the author's pen trained throughout on the contradictions and self-destructive egomania of `Father'. Demanding faith and hard work of those around him, he abandons the waste and degradation in the US for a new life based on shifting ideals dictated solely by him.

In the first part of the book, Allie Fox could almost pass as a misunderstood genius, especially when read in the current economic climate. He rails against wastefulness and greed, making compelling arguments against consumerism; his initial desire for self-sufficiency seems noble and righteous, even if he takes every opportunity possible to offend those who don't subscribe to his views:

` "We were buying shoes, and when I paid the bill I looked through the stockroom door where there was a bulletin board for the employees. A slogan's written on it in big letters. It says, "If you have sold a customer exactly what he wanted, you haven't sold him anything." A shoe shop. It made me want to go away in my old shoes ... We eat when we're not hungry, drink when we're not thirsty, buy what we don't need, and throw away everything that's useful."

His family - and anyone else in earshot - provide audience to his diatribes on the nature of capitalism, religion and civilisation, a family that he briefly extends while creating a new society in the jungle. However, it becomes quickly apparent that there is a gap between his beliefs and his actions, that he consistently refuses to admit he is wrong, except sometimes later, when it conveniences him. Despite his evident need to sermonize, for instance, and to instruct, he pillories missionaries for doing the same thing in the name of God. Similarly, his need to sound his ideas requires a congregation of sorts, which contradicts his assertion that,

"People can't stand to be alone. Can't tolerate it! So they go to the movies, get drive-in hamburgers, put their home telephone numbers in the crapsheets and say, "Please call me up!" It's sick. People hate their own company - they cry when they see themselves in mirrors."

While claiming himself to be an atheist, 'Father' starts to wield his inventions - particularly his ice-making `Fat Boy' - like miracle machines, and becomes obsessed with the idea of taking ice to the deepest recesses of the jungle, where the natives have never seen ice or been reached, and thus tainted, by missionaries or modern life. However, the need to undertake these arduous journeys is tinged with an egomaniacal will to spread his own gospel of civilisation, namely: science. Ironically, one such native community he meets try to rebuild `Fat Boy' as an obsolete idol of worship, a fact that enrages `Father'. An apparently self-taught Bible scholar, he repeteadly renounces God, while seeking to spread the wonders of science like an evangelist:

" `It's savage and superstitious to accept the world as it is. Fiddle around and find a use for it!' God had left the world incomplete, he said. It was man's job to understand how it worked, to tinker with it and finish it'."

Despite his proclamations to the contrary, Allie Fox's notion of civilisation is not - to begin with, at least - to accept the material limitations of his environment. He imports metal piping and non-indigenous seeds to create his mini-Society, a fact that suggests he is not as self-sufficient as he might believe, nor does he desire to live off the land in its natural state. Our narrator, Charlie, starts to see through the facade,

" `He invented for his own sake! He was an inventor because he hated hard beds and bad food and slow boats and flimsy huts and dirt. And waste - he complained about the cost of things, but it wasn't the money. It was the fact that they got weak and broke after you bought them ... He hated sleeping outdoors. "It's lawless and unnatural to sleep on the bare ground". He always spoke tenderly about his own bed. "Even animals make beds!" ` "

This is in contrast to his attitude to eating and sleeping, which he does as little as possible, guarding them like secrets, and incredulous when others became sick. The suggestion seems to be that Father is running away from America not just to build an egalitarian society using entirely natural resources, but rather to build a society over which he has almost total influence - even if he would deny this. He scorns the modesty of the native settlements, despite having imported non-indigenous materials to create his settlement. Charlie sees a paradox at the heart of his father when he and his siblings and friends create a parallel Eden, devoid of 'Father''s marvellous contraptions, content to live "like monkeys".

Ice is a central metaphor in the novel, a kind of missionary currency of science to compete with the superstition and idolism of religion. In making ice without electricity, from a combination of ammonia and hydrogen, `Father' believes he can bring civilisation to the untameable conditions of the jungle, explaining that,

"`Mainly it's a preservative - it keeps food fresh, so it keeps you from starvation and disease. It kills germs, it suppresses pain and it brings down swellings. It makes everything it touches taste better without altering it chemically. Makes vegetables crisp and meat last forever. Listen, it's an anaesthetic. I could remove your appendix with a jack-knife if I had a block of ice to cool your nerves and take your mind off the butchery ... It's free. It's even pretty. It's civilisation'."

However, there are of course limitations to science, and on their final expedition to import a huge block of ice to a remote jungle society, they fail to deliver it before it melts entirely. He drives his children on a hellish journey through the bush, only to present a sack of melted water, subsequently refusing to admit the trip's failure - fictionalising his account of what happened. Charlie reflects,

" `His lie made me lonelier than any lie I had ever heard. Yet he had spoken it confidently and said the expedition was a triumph and he couldn't wait to tell Mother. Again and again I tried to remember ice in Father's hands and amazement on the faces of the Indians. But there was none - no ice, no surprise.' "

The gap between Father's relentless optimism and reality starts to broaden at this point, and Father increasingly resembles a dictator issuing hollow, morale-boosting propaganda, insisting on the veracity of things evidently un-true. Later in the book he delivers a tirade against his friend, Mr Haddy, who fails to see progress at their new coastal home, where Father's mind really starts to unravel:

" `I see a thriving village ... I see healthy kids. Corn in the fields, tomatoes on the vines. Fish swimming and pumps gurgling. Big soft beds. Mother weaving on a loom. Curassows that eat out of your hand. Monkeys that pick coconuts. A ropeworks. A smoke-house. Total activity! ... anyone who doesn't see it has no business here' "

There is nothing of the sort, of course, but Father won't countenance the crevasse between his ideals and the concrete reality laid bare before him. Becoming increasingly paranoid and isolated, his sons are finally driven to plotting behind his back like subjects of a failed totalitarian state.

Admittedly the final chapters of this otherwise extraordinary novel are somewhat extreme and veer towards horror: the final denouement is particularly unpleasant. Long-predating Alex Garland's `The Beach', The Mosquito Coast is both a tale of madness and megalomania and a cautionary tale against attempts to build utopias, against oppression in the name of noble principles. However much humans try to rebuild society based on ideals, they are doomed to failure because society is a reflection of our innate flaws: our ego, greed, thirst for power, and the desire to be like a god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, thrilling, and completely brilliant. A great book for people of all ages., 29 Dec. 2006
By 
Joe Cutts (Sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mosquito Coast (Paperback)
Who hasn't dreamed of leaving the world behind and venturing into the unknown to recreate the world without imperfections? Seeking to escape globalisation, commercialism, and a multitude of abominations and maladies, inventor and genius Allie Fox abandons civilisation and heads for the Honduran rain forest, taking his family. Whereas the missionaries he so despises use the pretense of bringing religion to the forest in order to colonise it, Allie brings ice - the symbol of his god-like ingenuity - and sets about creating a new world free of the poisons of the West.

Although The Mosquito Coast sounds like a contemporary version of Henry David Thoreau's Walden (which, like this story, is also and allegorical fable) it's an infinitely darker exploration of flawed genius, made all the more disturbing by being presented through the eyes of Allie's twelve year old son.

For me, the biggest attraction to this story aside form the travel aspect is the fact that it can be read on so many levels. At once it's a book children will enjoy, but as an allegory a lot of people will see the deeper meanings and possibly learn from them.

Overall, a fantastic book which can be re-read and studied many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mosquito Coast
The Mosquito Coast by Paul Theroux (Paperback - 30 Sept. 1982)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews