Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think about photography in completely new ways
I'm in my first year of a photography degree and this is one of the recommended texts. Despite being released in the 70's it's still very relevant.

The book is essentially a series of essays by Sontag. It's value is that Sontag knows her subject extremely well and, with reference to the great photographers, has constructed her essays in a way that really make...
Published on 1 Jan 2009 by brainleek007

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Before Photoshop...
This is a collection of six essays on the nature and practitioners of photography which were written by Susan Sontag in the early `70's. Sontag herself could be wildly polarizing; the responses to this book, grouped in the 5-star and 1-star range reflect that. At the risk of appearing Clintonesque, I will "triangulate."

The bad is really bad. Sontag can do a...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by John P. Jones III


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think about photography in completely new ways, 1 Jan 2009
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
I'm in my first year of a photography degree and this is one of the recommended texts. Despite being released in the 70's it's still very relevant.

The book is essentially a series of essays by Sontag. It's value is that Sontag knows her subject extremely well and, with reference to the great photographers, has constructed her essays in a way that really make you contemplate what photography is all about. Sontag was not a photographer herself so it's not a book of technique; it's about the interpretation and appreciation of other's work. If you're new to photographic theory as I was/am it may very well make you feel quite ignorant, as if you don't even know what a photograph really is any more. However, that's the point; to make you think. This most ubiquitous medium is now so common its almost unnoticed but the book gets under the skin of what photography is and why photographs are so appealing. It's not the easiest or lightest reading but conversely the essays are not over long.

If you're studying photography or art or are simply interested in more philosophical views on the subject I'd highly recommend this to open up new ways of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best source for photographic theory, 16 Feb 2006
By 
D Mann (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
This is an exceptional book and one that is best read by flicking through and reading litery snap shots of Sontags work. If you are about to do a photography course this is the book for you and if you have ever wondered about photography this book will inform you. I read two short quotes from this book to my father in law who has no real connection with photography, he walked away and said 'i thought a photograph was just a photograph" and asked if he could borrow the book... Thats how good it is....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Before Photoshop..., 22 Jun 2011
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
This is a collection of six essays on the nature and practitioners of photography which were written by Susan Sontag in the early `70's. Sontag herself could be wildly polarizing; the responses to this book, grouped in the 5-star and 1-star range reflect that. At the risk of appearing Clintonesque, I will "triangulate."

The bad is really bad. Sontag can do a wild rant with the best of them, straying far from any underlying logic. "Like guns and cars, cameras are fantasy-machines whose use is addictive." "...like a man's fantasy of having a gun, knife or tool between his legs. Still, there is something predatory in the act of taking a picture. To photograph people is to violate them..."(!) "Just as the camera is a sublimation of the gun, to photograph someone is a sublimated murder- a soft murder, appropriate to a sad, frightened time." What!! Why on earth don't the 5-star reviewers call her hand on this s...? Why is it that the vast majority of people WANT to have their photograph taken? A death wish?

Like another reviewer, I wonder if she has ever taken a picture. Certainly no more than a "snapshot" that she routinely denounces "tourists" and other "low-brows" of taking. Consider the following: "Nothing could be more unlike the self-sacrificial travail of an artist like Proust than the effortlessness of picture-taking, which must be the sole activity resulting in accredited works of art in which a single movement, a touch of the finger, produces a complete work...One can't imagine the Overture to In Search Of Lost Time Vol 1: Swann's Way: Swann's Way Vol 1 (Vintage Classics) ending with the narrator coming across a snapshot of the parish church at Combray and the savoring of that visual crumb, instead of the taste of the humble madeleine dipped in tea, making an entire part of his past spring into view." The "s-word" starts with "m" in French. Yes, tastes and smells can evoke memories, but photographs may be the most powerful in terms of stimulating some long-dormant neurons. Does any photographer compose? Reject? Repeat? Even spend hours developing their work? (at least in the pre-digital age when she wrote this). She mentions Edward Steichen's photography exhibit, The Family of Man but does not discuss the last photograph, the one taken by perhaps the best photographer of the 20th Century, W. Eugene Smith. He had been badly wounded as a photographer in the Second World War, and struggled to compose the "perfect picture" for his post convalescent career. It is the memorable one of two small children, walking up, out of the woods, into the sunlight. Just a snapshot? Sontag moves from her brief discussion of the optimism of The Family of Man to the `70's icon, the disturbing Diane Arbus, and spends much more time on her bleak vision, and her ultimate suicide.

No question, Sontag has a brilliant intellect, and her erudition is impressive, ranging over the fields of art and literature. She even devotes almost a page to one of my favorite, and more obscure photography books, Bob Adelman's 1960's portrait of Wilcox County, Alabama, entitled Down home, Camden, Alabama (A Prairie House book). Even though somewhat positive, she still insists that it "descends" from Walter Evans Let Us Now Praise Famous Men (Penguin Modern Classics), and that the accompanying prose of James Agee is "sometimes overwritten." An elitist Manhattan outlook to the core.

I started this review with the concept that I should "triangulate" the extreme reviews, which should mean that this is a 3-star. Yet in writing it I've realized that someone of Sontag's intelligence should have UNDERSTOOD her subject far better before denouncing it and its practitioners. Thus, the triangle collapses to only a short line with a star at each end: 2-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Art History scholar but great for general reader who wants something accessible, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Ann Margret Murray (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
This is one of the best known books on the cultural context of photography and is quite insightful for the general reader. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants starting points in attempting to account for the social and cultural significance of photography.
However, I would not recommend it to anyone studying the history of photography at third level, or at least beyond 2nd year. When it comes to deeply researching the subject and its complex role in 20th century culture, Sontag's book has its limits. For research, writers such as Siegfried Kracauer (The Mass Ornament and his many essays on photography) and Walter Benjamin will take you a lot further. The advantage Sontag's book has is that it's an accessible read. While not very simply written, it won't have you running for the dictionary at the same rate that the above-named authors will and is an excellent introduction to the subject. If you want to get to the root of things, go for Kracauer or Benjamin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl on Film, 19 Jun 2008
We were born into a world ruled by photography. From x-rays to holiday snaps, our memories and sense of self are now shaped by this magical little black box. But how has photography affected reality since its invention? Has our perception of the world changed since our gathering of images (either as photos or films) slowly spiralled out of control? Could we, perhaps, be undermining our notion of the real by treating photos as if they were more real than their subjects? (think of the people who felt 9/11 was "like a movie".)

In this collection of six essays, published in 1973, Susan Sontag brilliantly explores the origins of photography and how it has affected world culture (mostly western, though she has some intriguing points to make about China and Japan.) She proves, somewhat ruthlessly, that photography deposed poetry and painting as the main rulers of the art world; dismisses the Surrealists in one fell swoop; and even goes so far as to claim that photography single-handedly caused the Modernist movement (the first exhibition by the Impressionists, for example, took place in a photography studio; and many painters claimed photography freed them to explore abstract subjects.)

It helps if you know the work of some of the big names in photography, like Diane Arbus, since Sontag often uses their work to back up her arguments. But even if you have never picked up a camera before, you will find enough ideas in Sontag's essays to reflect on. I was particularly impressed with her prescient views on "reality" television, as well as disturbed by her conclusion that photography is leading us towards a supreme, and new, form of totalitarianism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Niche market, 18 Oct 2013
By 
J. R. Carroll (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
I bought this book on recommendation. I've read it twice and I'm sure there is a message in there somewhere it's just I find difficulty unpicking it. It focuses on the culture and influences of photography since its invention, which I knew before I bought it, but I would have preferred it explained in a different manner.

If you are interested in this aspect of photography then it's worth reading and it's fairly cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
Difficult to get your head around but a staple photography book for any student or general photographer, until you have read this book you cannot say you know everything about photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sontag on Photography, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
Something of an iconic book written by an iconoclast. Very useful primer on photograph and photography history. Definitely worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Photography, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
I'm loving this book. It's a great look at photography historically, and Sontag's conversational tone makes it accessible for just about any reader. A great book, go check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A now classic appraisal of photography by a photographer, 16 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On Photography (Paperback)
I can remember this book being reviewed in the photographic press when it was first released. It was a long time ago, 35-40 years, and I cannot remember the specifics but it did cause a few flutters at the time. Some people considered the book to be a realistic and well considered critique of her chosen medium but others thought it to be purely one person's rants and raves. It would be interesting to know what some who may then reviewed the book think about it now and if they continue to maintain the same opinion.

I read the book once at about that time, and I thought that much of it was of a ranting nature. I part-read it some years later and disagreed with it to the extent that I did not finish it. I may have another try.

The content, as stated by others, is a sequence of essays. One of the oldest comments made about photography was to ask 'Is it art or science?' Without science, neither medium could truly exist as it is that science that created materials, pigments and the devices we use via a manufacturing process which itself could also use science. The art is partly in the eyes and hands of the artist/photographer and partly in the eyes of the viewer. We may not all or always agree, but there has to be a broad consensus of like opinion. Much of photography may not be considered as art today, but tomorrow? Our views on some of the oldest photographic imagery now have changed, but there was no thought about it being art 175 years ago when the phenomenon was discovered or when those images were captured. The ability to capture an image was itself the thrill and the reason for their existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Photography
On Photography by Susan Sontag (Paperback - 27 Sep 1979)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews