Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly dark tales from the master of surprise.
What a special writer Roald Dahl is. In this collection of short stories we see his full range of rampant storytelling,gloriously macabre humour,and totally unpredictable twists. Check out the father who feeds his son Royal Jelly with ominous results,or the cruise passenger who jumps overboard to win a bet. See a man`s schooldays return to haunt him in GALLOPING...
Published on 16 Sep 2001 by rmllewellyn@lineone.net

versus
4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Severely disappointing
After all the praise I've heard for this book, I found it very disappointing. Characters are one dimensional: the women in the stories can be categorised into two groups, ditsy and long-suffering, while the dialogue is dull and uninspiring.
Although the plots are interesting and mostly original, Roald Dahl seems to have focussed mainly on the obligatory shocking...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by distress_signals


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly dark tales from the master of surprise., 16 Sep 2001
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
What a special writer Roald Dahl is. In this collection of short stories we see his full range of rampant storytelling,gloriously macabre humour,and totally unpredictable twists. Check out the father who feeds his son Royal Jelly with ominous results,or the cruise passenger who jumps overboard to win a bet. See a man`s schooldays return to haunt him in GALLOPING FOXLEY,and a scheming wife`s shock in MRS BIXBY AND THE COLONAL`S COAT. All these and more ,told with style and glee,perfectly weighted to keep you hooked until the bitter end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blimey, That was Unexpected!, 9 Aug 2009
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
Blimey, That was Unexpected!

A silly little review of Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected

I grew up on Roald Dahl. With food, drink and oxygen I also had a brief flirtation, but the stories of Roald Dahl were my true love. I marvelled at the fantastic effects of George's marvellous medicine, cheered for the fantastic Mr. Fox, and got a bit unnerved by The Witches (although this was owing more to the protagonist's creepy grandmother than the villains of the story).

Imagine my delight, then, upon receiving Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected as a birthday present. A two-hundred and eighty-ish page collection of charming short fiction from one of my favourite writers of all time! I assumed.

And I assumed correctly. The fiction is both short and charming (and, by some immense stroke of luck, it seemed, I had even guessed the number of pages correctly). While the witches and chocolate factories are non-existent, the masterful prose and unique, interesting characters are in abundance. Highlights include Taste, if only because it gives a - dare I say it - first taste of what's to follow, Lamb To The Slaughter, which includes the curiously homicidal Mary Maloney, Galloping Foxley, for the masterful use of a somewhat minimalistic plot to create such an intriguing story, Parson's Pleasure, for an ending left in so many ways to the reader's imagination and Royal Jelly, for being everything one can hope for in a Dahl story.

The flaws are few and far between. Some of the endings hover slightly too far on the ambiguous side, while some are perhaps made too obvious (such as Mrs. Bixby and the Colonel's Coat). Others perhaps feel a little anti-climactic (Edward the Conqueror, or maybe I'm missing something with that one).

This book is a very fine collection of short stories. Each story is a little gem, each one the product of an ingenious imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing tales, unexpected endings, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
This is one of Roald Dahl's finest works in adult fiction, so popular that it had its own TV series spanning 9 years.The book contains short stories selected from his other books "Kiss Kiss" and "Someone like you". I would categorise this book somewhere between suspense/black humour and thriller.

I found each story amusing with its dark, sinister humour and sometimes disturbing ending especially "The Landlady"! There are tales of revenge and nasty characters getting their comeuppance so in some respects not unlike "Charlie and the chocolate factory" or "James and the giant peach" but this is definitely not a book for children. Each story kept me in suspense and kept me reading until the very last word.

As an aside, I believe that the book is better at retaining the ambiguity and mystery of the ending of the storie. There are a few television episodes however that deviate slightly from the book and left you in no doubt about the fate of the key characters of the stories. Compare "The Landlady" and "Galloping Foxley" to the book.

Ideal for pre bed time reading or short commutes. If you like suspense and light hearted stories with dark wit then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically strange!!, 24 Jan 2004
By 
D. Simons "collectauctionamazon" (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
This book is very clever in the sense that Roald Dahl has managed to combine comedy ; horror ; murder and a whole host of other factors all into one book.
Definately a book that will keep you hooked from the beginning to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly always unexpected!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
An excellent book to read in snippets. I couldn't predict a lot of the twists but had great fun trying to guess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joy, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
Dahl's short stories for adults are a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Severely disappointing, 16 Oct 2004
This review is from: Tales of the Unexpected (Paperback)
After all the praise I've heard for this book, I found it very disappointing. Characters are one dimensional: the women in the stories can be categorised into two groups, ditsy and long-suffering, while the dialogue is dull and uninspiring.
Although the plots are interesting and mostly original, Roald Dahl seems to have focussed mainly on the obligatory shocking last paragraph and not paid enough attention to the rest of the story. I enjoyed 'Lamb to the Slaughter', though the ending was predictable, but found the rest of the collection boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of the Unexpected
Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl (Paperback - 22 Feb 1979)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews