Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing tale
A lot of people will probably read thsi after having read Watership Down; like that story, it concerns animals, and how the impact of humans upsets nature.

Here, the upset - abuse in fact - is clearly detailed and quite disturbing. Certainly not a child's book.

For teenagers,and adults, and indeed lovers of the LAke District, it is a cracking tale...
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by A. W. Brown

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ..... D-pressing
Holy he*l this was depressing,... I get that it wasn't supposed to make the reader giggle but jeez. This thing just made me depressed after reading. I need cheering up now.
Published 4 months ago by Johnathan Beasley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A disturbing tale, 17 Jan 2010
By 
A. W. Brown "Long Tall Tony" (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
A lot of people will probably read thsi after having read Watership Down; like that story, it concerns animals, and how the impact of humans upsets nature.

Here, the upset - abuse in fact - is clearly detailed and quite disturbing. Certainly not a child's book.

For teenagers,and adults, and indeed lovers of the LAke District, it is a cracking tale only marred really by Adams' attempts at times to write literature as opposed to just getting on with the story, and some somewhat caricatured human characters. But don't let that deter you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books ever!, 14 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
This book is extraordinarily well written. It is the only book to make me cry whilst reading it, and the issues it raises are both though provoking and significant to the present day. Before people condem the issues as fabricated fiction, I would like to point out that in my copy of the book,at least, the author states that every experiment described in the book has been performed in real life. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone, and it takes a little while to get into, so don't give up on it until you have at least read the first hundred pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of an absolute masterpiece., 27 May 1999
By A Customer
This, Richard Adams' third book after 'Watership Down' and 'Shardik', is probably his best. The book dismisses 'Watership Down''s relative sentimentality for more brutal subject matter but still manages to champion animals over humans for a happy ending. It's also a very philosophical work, as the story goes beyond the escape of the principal characters of Rowf and Snitter into the human and political world to show its rank underbelly. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animals behave better than humans, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Donald Hughes (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
Re-reading this book, after 30 years, I am again impressed by the sheer power of the author's writing. You don't just feel on the side of the two dogs, Rowf and Snitter, but you begin to think like them.
Snitter, in the lucid moments when he is not affected by experimental brain surgery, shows a fine understanding of human nature, learned from a kind master. Rowf has never been domesticated, and is strong and brave, but ignorant. Tod, the fox who befriends them, is canny.
Although the story starts in an Animal Research Station (from which the dogs escape), the author does not take sides on animal experimentation, merely reporting factually; he is not so even-handed when it comes to fox-hunting, the death of Tod is very upsetting.
The book takes you on a Lakeland tour, helped by Wainwright's maps, but out-of-season in late Autumn, when it is the domain of the sheep farmers, their dogs and sheep. Some of the humans come across as stereotypes (although I loved Annie Mossity!), but the redemption of the journalist Digby Driver is a nice touch.
The one difficulty I had with this book is the variety of dialects, both human and animal.
All in all, this is a book well worth reading, if you can find a copy- as it is out of print in paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
A really moving and thought provoking read. Richard Adams is amazing and this along with watership down are must reads!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ..... D-pressing, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Johnathan Beasley (Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plague Dogs (Hardcover)
Holy he*l this was depressing,... I get that it wasn't supposed to make the reader giggle but jeez. This thing just made me depressed after reading. I need cheering up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Adams, 25 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
Richard Adams is probably best known for Watership Down. This is another of his books which is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a whole lot more to say, really. It's an intriguing book, if a bit anti-animal-testing-propaganda-y. Would recommend, from a literary perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lassie had it easy., 3 May 2013
This review is from: The Plague Dogs (Paperback)
Richard Adams was born in Berkshire in 1920, and is probably best known for his debut novel, "Watership Down" - a story he originally told to his children, to help pass the time on long car journeys. "The Plague Dogs" was his third novel, and was first published in 1977 - and, like its predecessor, it was adapted into an animated film.

The book's two heroes are Rowf and Snitter - two dogs, and victims of scientific research. Rowf is a large, black mongrel who is constantly being drowned and resusitated while Snitter, a fox terrier, has had brain surgery. (There seems to be little point to the experiments - they're apparently being carried out just for the sheer hell of it). Naturally, Rowf has come to hate the water tank, while the surgery has left Snitter suffering from regular bouts of confusion. Unlike Rowf, who'd been bred for research, Snitter had once been a pet - and despite his operation, he knows there are better people out there than the "whitecoats." The pair are incarcerated at the Animal Research (Scientific and Experimental) labs, based in northern England's Lake District. (The institution's acronym, I'm guessing, gives some idea of what Adams thought about animal experimentation). The book opens on a Friday evening, and Snitter notices that Rowf's cage hasn't been properly closed. He manages to wriggle underneath the partition and the pair manage to escape into the outside world.

Although delighted to have escaped their tormentors, there soon realise that life on the outside isn't going to be easy. At first, Snitter tries to find them a new master - but each effort, naturally, ends in disaster. They soon realise they'll have to feed themselves, and find somewhere dry to sleep. Unfortunately, when they start taking sheep, the local farming comunity decide the dogs are a burden they could do without. The farmers suspect the dogs had indeed escaped from the research station and, when the tabloids get involved, there is a good deal of hysteria whipped up...

I read "The Plague Dogs" for the first time when I was thirteen, and - having re-read it many years later - I'd still rate it very highly. It isn't always an easy read, though; in fact, the first edition of the book's apparently had a slightly different ending to later editions, one that was slightly less warming. There's plenty of cruelty, thanks to ARSE's scientists and their experiments - though few of the humans in the book cover themselves in glory. There's little in the way of happiness, and throughout the book I just couldn't help feeling sorry for the dogs. They really only have one ally, a fox who speaks with a Geordie accent. Nevertheless, some of the writing is wonderful - Adams clearly loved the Lake District area, and the descriptions of the scenery are vivid. However, some of the characters' accents might be a little tricky enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two much abused dogs..., 7 July 2012
The fate of two dogs rests on a battle between the best of humans and the worst of humans. It is a gripping story well told. This book has been in my top three since I first read it many years ago. I leant and lost my copy - thank goodness for Amazon and finding another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d49b34)

This product

The Plague Dogs
The Plague Dogs by Richard Adams (Paperback - 17 Aug 1978)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews