Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely epic tale, constructed with a craftsman's guile
If anybody else had written this story, it would have been ten times as long. The sheer economy of Singer's writing (recalling a Yiddish Camus or Steinbeck) ensures that the reader is always keen for more (there's some profound stuff about the ironic juxtaposition between the light touch that characterizes Singer's prose and the sheer ennui of Jacob's isolation phase just...
Published on 1 Feb 2002

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Slave - Somewhat tedious
The above reviews are accurate as far as the facts go and I suggest you visit the American site for their reviews which are equally good. I can only agree as far as the quality of the writing is concerned. However, I forced myself to finish this book against my will - Dear Lord is it tedious! Does it go on and on about Jacob's religion! This may seem like complaining that...
Published on 19 Nov 2008 by G. Mason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely epic tale, constructed with a craftsman's guile, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
If anybody else had written this story, it would have been ten times as long. The sheer economy of Singer's writing (recalling a Yiddish Camus or Steinbeck) ensures that the reader is always keen for more (there's some profound stuff about the ironic juxtaposition between the light touch that characterizes Singer's prose and the sheer ennui of Jacob's isolation phase just waiting to be written. By somebody else).
So marvel at the detail packed into the pages. And ignore the stuff about "the sounds and smells of the countryside" and "the love of simple folk close to nature" (honestly!) in the jacket blurb. OK, so the "natural" (or is it naturalistic?) backdrop is dazzlingly and painstakingly created but it is just one element of a profound, involving and elemental tale about two parallel and interwined struggles - Jacob's inner wrangles with his God and the requirements of his religion, and his fight to find a place to exist within the shifting Jewish social structure of post-Chmielnicki Poland.
The character of Wanda/Sarah is a key part of both of these struggles. Is she an expertly created, genuinely sympathetic character, or merely a prop for Jacob's own worldly and other-worldly travails? A bit of both, probably.
In the final analysis, Singer combines a brilliant evocation of spiritual and physical isolation (particularly in the first part of the story) with an adventure that manages to be uplifting, sad, swashbuckling, and ultimately unputdownable. Despite Jacob's rather alienating piety toward the end (compare this with the sympathy we feel for his earlier struggles and doubts), Singer's story rattles along to its conclusion. He has us hook, line and sinker. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and enchanting tale of love versus religion, 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
An absolutely beautiful work; Jacob, a Jewish slave, falls in love with his master's daughter. When a ransom is paid securing the freedom of Jacob, he is taken back to his people, only to realise that he cannot live without her. He sets about reuniting them, yet knows that his people will not accept her... an astoundingly moving tale concerning the bigotries of religion, and the true power of love. A true education. You will not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and tragic, 20 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Slave (Paperback)
A rich, poignant, deep, tragic and somber novel of love, faith and spirituality. Four years after the Chmielnicki massacres of 1648 in which tens of thousands of Jews were massacred by Cossack hordes, a pious Jew Jacob, exists as a slave ,captured during the massacres in the mountains of Poland for gentile, peasants. Treated like a beast, he is shown mercy and tenderness by his master's beautiful daughter Wanda, who he falls in love with.
When he returns to how own Jewish town, Jacob cannot forget Wanda and brings her back to his home as a convert to Judaism. But as conversion was forbidden in that time and place, he cannot reveal her gentile birth and to cover up this, and not let this be revealed by her Polish accent, he must pass her off as a mute. Her name is now Sarah.

Despite her great reservoir of kindness, and piety she is ill treated by most of the community. Jacob has to also forebear the capricious cruelty of the local Polish nobleman Adam Pilsidsky. Before Wanda dies in childbirth she reveals that she is of gentile birth. As a result of pressure from the narrow minded hypocrites within the community especially the execrable Gershon, Sarah is given a donkey's burial, and the baby boy she has delivered declared not a part of the community. But he is looked after by a good hearted couple and is fetched by his father who takes him to the Land of Israel. 20 years pass before Jacob returns and a great miracle takes place to show that Sarah's (Wanda) soul was indeed that of a daughter of Israel. Full of spiritual phenomena, as well as the rich superstitions of the time, this novel will excite those interested in such subjects and is a classic and jewel of Jewish literature by a master in that craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant evocation of a unique moment, yet with universal dilemmas, 17 Aug 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Slave (Paperback)
This is a beautiful, spare book about a great, forbidden passion, in which two cultures clash with tragic and yet strangely uplifting results. The Slave is Jacob, a survivor of unspeakable horrors in the 1648 Polish revolution - having lost his entire family and become enslaved in desperate and degrading circumstances, he strives to keep his religion and his inner self intact. What he discovers is an unexpected love in a Polish peasant, Wanda, who though simple is in fact intelligent and deep. There is an air of destiny to them.

The book largely takes the form of Jacob's inner dialogue, which is religious and scholarly, a natural outsider who strives to be good in terms that make sense to himself. This is an alien world of unpredictable dangers, race hatred, and bizarre superstitions that overturn his views of the universe as a good and just place - enough to enable his to cross the barriers he faces as he struggles to create a life for himself and then with Wanda. I found this deeply moving, masterfully translated into terms that I could comprehend and empathize with.

In addition, there is much to learn in this about the history of the Jews in Poland. Singer romanticises nothing and is hard on everyone concerned, with perhaps the exception of the lovers and their constant dread. It adds up to a truly vivid portrait of a time, yet played out with universal philosophical dilemmas. Jacob's is an extraordinary journey, believable and moving.

Warmly recommended. I will never forget this life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slave, 3 Sep 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Slave (Paperback)
This is one of those books that I listened to on `The Book at Bedtime' on Radio Four over forty years ago. It is evocative as well as poignant. Singer was a master story teller. I did of course buy the book. I could not get into his other novels, but "The Slave" was a master novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., 2 Jun 2003
By A Customer
I don't think I've ever read a more beautiful novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Meditation on Free Will, 19 April 2009
By 
D Webster "djelly" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slave (Paperback)
A very powerful book - so well crafted I cared very deeply for Jacob and Wanda and felt anxious about each step they made towards freedom. So it was a real relief when Jacob escaped with the holy man, though devastating when Wanda revealed her tongue in childbirth and what happened subsequently. I loved the ultimate serendipity of Jacob being laid to rest near Sarah even though they'd forgotten where they'd buried her. This book was like a meditation on free will, and it helped me understand some of the deeper tenets of Judaism, though I was glad that Jacob struggled with his religious aspirations, and tried to balance them with his instinctual and emotional life, even though it was often to devasting effect. As well as a wonderful love story, this book is also a sometimes shocking eye opener to the conditions of life for Polish peasants in the 17th Century, Cossack brutality and pogroms. It made me feel glad for democracy and modernism both of which I sometimes despair of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Slave - Somewhat tedious, 19 Nov 2008
By 
G. Mason "Mason" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slave (Paperback)
The above reviews are accurate as far as the facts go and I suggest you visit the American site for their reviews which are equally good. I can only agree as far as the quality of the writing is concerned. However, I forced myself to finish this book against my will - Dear Lord is it tedious! Does it go on and on about Jacob's religion! This may seem like complaining that David Attenborough bangs on about nature but at least he's diverting.

I don't think there's a bright moment in the entire book. After a few pages, you just know that whatever happens everything will turn to dust and ashes and then things will get really bad. Thereafter it takes little time to realise that this will go on for hundreds of pages. And it's all self-imposed by the hero who eschews any intelligence or common sense approach at the cost of religious principle.

A book of misery - kilograms of it. A well written book yes, but unremitting - I'm surprised Bergman didn't make a film of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slave
The Slave by Isaac Bashevis Singer (Paperback - 27 Jun 1974)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews