Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Novel
What a marvellous book.
On the face of it a simple coming of age story, that of a young man leaving home to walk around Spain. A very layman's view of it, as this however is written for the poet inside us. Wonderful language for a long lost age where you really could abandon yourself completely and travel in its purest sense.
Beware though as this book may make...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by Ross Tulloch

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spain before it all happened!
Laurie Lee belonged to a generation (those who were young in the 1930s)who both had it tough, but were fortunate enough to have been born at a time which demanded of them a sense of purpose. Their generation was at Europe's great crossroads, the decades in which communism, fascism, and liberal democracy met, and did not like the look of one another. All these political...
Published on 26 July 2009 by Strangerbird


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
I was with him all the way. A wonderful true story that I thoroughly enjoyed. A great author.
I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful simple classic, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Neil Burston (Ashton Keynes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
I read this about a local hero as part of a Laurie Lee blitz whilst retracing some of MY youthful steps in Spain near where he ventured and it is a remarkable tale, beautifully told and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laurie Lee - As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
Wonderfully written. Fascinating and thought provoking autobiographical story of a journey through Spain before the Civil War. Book came promptly and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best poetic travel book ever, 18 July 2013
By 
L. Owens "Lawrence Owens" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
Poetic means of expression. Great travelogue, but combined with real depth of feeling and superbly expressed personal perspectives on Engand, Spain and life's rich pageant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
I loved Cider with Rosie so much I had to have another book by Laurie Lee but this one did not live up to expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful romantic read., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
A recent holiday in Andalucia made me want to read again the works of Laurie Lee which I last read in about 1970. Some of his books are now hard to find but they are written in a most picturesque style and capture a wonderful aura of old Spain. It is ironic to reflect that he was probably viewed as a hopeless drifter by his family at the time who may have wished he would get a "proper job" and stop meandering around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
It is said that Laurie Lee had a nightingale inside him. His ability to turn everday sights and sounds into a rich memorable experience was a gift .The book transports the reader into blossomed English country lanes, the hard sun baked planes of upland Spain and into the life poverty stricken families in the peri- civil war era .It is a story full of the hope and optimism of youth and the beauty of the world .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars xmas present, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
brought for my husband as i new he wanted to read this book as a chrismas present and he has now read it and was very pleased with it . it came very quickly and good condition .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
when I ordered the book I didn't realise it was illustrated and this is a bonus and will be glad to pass on to others to read !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Busy at work - read this and slow down...., 25 Nov 2012
By 
Alan Jordan "Alanj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (Paperback)
I keep buying this book then giving it away - a book for those who lead a very busy life, a book that allows you to lift the curtain a little, to glimpse what could be and to smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning
As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning by Laurie Lee (Paperback - 31 May 1973)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews