Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As exciting as a sci-fi novel can get
...I first read this book very many years ago soon after it first came out in paperback and it still lives in my memory as one of the most exciting reads in any fiction genre you could hope to find. The wonderfully inventive use of technology embroider the plot's twists and turns, whilst the electric pace makes it a genuine page-turner. The characterisation is...
Published on 19 Mar 2002

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Man into beast
Published in Britain in 1956, Bester's short novel (248pp), is considered to be one of the founding works of the Golden Age of Science Fiction. It's a complicated story of one Gully Foyle, sole survivor of an accident in space which has left him alone and barely alive in the floating wreckage of a space ship. When another ship (the Vorga) passes close by Gully sends up...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Eileen Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As exciting as a sci-fi novel can get, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
...I first read this book very many years ago soon after it first came out in paperback and it still lives in my memory as one of the most exciting reads in any fiction genre you could hope to find. The wonderfully inventive use of technology embroider the plot's twists and turns, whilst the electric pace makes it a genuine page-turner. The characterisation is tremendous too, and Gully Foyle is a man you won't forget in a hurry (God forbid I should ever meet him though).
Bester was a really terrific and original writer, if somewhat low on output of as high quality as this (although the Demolished Man is also an excellent read). I rate this book as one of the very best adventure novels of all time. Try and get hold of a copy, even if you think you don't like science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With an awesome rending the world turned, 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: Tiger! Tiger! (Paperback)
I can't believe that this book has not been reviewed before in Amazon. This is a truly seminal work which shockingly reflects the alienation, bitterness and cynicism of the post-war world. With a character loosely modelled on Swift's Gulliver the narrative explores 20th Century politics and culture with the inner Solar System as a backdrop. We see a disturbingly faithful reflection of society cruelly driven by fear and propaganda with science and technology as the fulcrum of the machinations of the ruling oligarchy. It is our own world stripped to the essential core.
With eloquent prose the story describes the magnified and distorted passions of a lassez faire and deeply divided scientific culture. The principal character is a desperately driven iconoclast suffering death and rebirth in the clockwork model universe created by Bester.
I read this book twenty five years ago and the detail has not gone away yet. If anything it becomes more vivid as human society converges on Bester's aweful visions.
This is his only work of any moment. The remainder of his collection I have read and find them to be entertaining but trivial by comparison. It is a pity that he had so little left after writing Tiger! Tiger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggeringly good Sci-Fi, 26 Nov 2000
By A Customer
A really gripping tale of ultimate vengeance with lots of twists and turns. The central character of Gully Foyle is a wronged man and a classic anti-hero. Alfred Bester is one of the all-time sci-fi greats and I rate this book ahead of The Demolished Man as his best and one of the very best Sci-Fi novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger! Tiger! (Paperback)
I ordered this because I read it years ago. Its a fabulous book - great story, and very unusual, and I'm very fussy about my SF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest sic fi novel ever written, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger! Tiger! (Paperback)
the greatest sic fi novel ever written. Well ok a really good rewrite of the Count of Monte Cristo set three centuries from now but i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Man into beast, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Published in Britain in 1956, Bester's short novel (248pp), is considered to be one of the founding works of the Golden Age of Science Fiction. It's a complicated story of one Gully Foyle, sole survivor of an accident in space which has left him alone and barely alive in the floating wreckage of a space ship. When another ship (the Vorga) passes close by Gully sends up distress flares but is ignored. This sets up a boundless hatred in Gully's soul and he vows to have revenge. His search for vengeance takes him from ignorant third-class mechanic to human weapon cum socialite back on earth, where normal society has broken down as people have discovered how to `Jaunte' - i.e. move from one co-ordinate to another in an instant.

There are some gaps in my understanding that I think are due to Bester's failure to fill-in the reader about the society he sets up in this book and his `science' (if that is the word) is profoundly sketchy. Nevertheless, it is an astonishing creation and even if you don't like Science Fiction, you could find yourself caught up in the unfortunate Gully's lust for revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unregarded, 28 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Tiger! Tiger! (Paperback)
I bought this book in July 1967.
Tiger Tiger, and then later The Magus, are the only two books I have read and finished in one sitting and then turned back to page one and re-read immediately.
Recommendation or what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger! Tiger!, 15 Sep 2003
By 
Rehan Altaf (Karachi, Pakistan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tiger! Tiger! (Paperback)
I read this novel in late eighties when I was in high school. One of a kind novel. Briliantly conceived by the author.
It shows how one's fate can be twisted & rewarding at the same time. At one point he was a man about to die an a genetor, then became one of the richest man of the society.
It also shows:
* how hard work & dedication pays off
* all lost in carelessness
* crime never pays off
* stealing is bad even no one see's you
The tatoo, the removal of tatoo, the surgery that made him a super human with controls in his Teeth, ah especially the concept of teleporting "The Jaunte Effect". But the hero takes this "way of transportation" to a much higher level by becomin the First to Master this by teleporting himself through Time & Space at the same time.
As far as I could remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger! Tiger!
Tiger! Tiger! by Alfred Bester (Paperback - 28 Nov 1974)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews