Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book ever written
Here's a short story. In 1963 I was on a military Aircraft flying to South America from England. The plane was full of soldiers going to British Guiana. It was a long flight. So to pass the time I went up to the front and read this book through the address system. The pilots could hear this as well. So much laughter went on that we nearly crashed onto the runway in Gander...
Published on 8 Sep 2001 by grahamerhodes@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars used copy of puckoon
not in as good of a condition as I expected - it was stated to be ''very good'' but wasn't
Published 10 months ago by paul kelly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book ever written, 8 Sep 2001
By 
grahamerhodes@hotmail.com (Prince Edward Island Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Here's a short story. In 1963 I was on a military Aircraft flying to South America from England. The plane was full of soldiers going to British Guiana. It was a long flight. So to pass the time I went up to the front and read this book through the address system. The pilots could hear this as well. So much laughter went on that we nearly crashed onto the runway in Gander Newfoundland. I was asked very nicely not to continue since it was too dangerous to the safety of the flight. But so funny is the book that all the passengers prevailed upon me to keep on going. I sware that this is a true story. This is simply the very funniest book ever written, and thereby one of the most dangerous. Cheers: Private Grahame Rhodes 216. Late of the Kings Own Royal Border Regiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking, irreverant view of just about everything Irish, 14 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
This book sustained me through a very strict English Boarding School in Swaziland, Africa. It houses some of the best one and multi- liners ever written and is the sort of book best read by you and a friend, because when the first reader falls over in a fit of laughter, the next can take over and maintain the momentum.
For example: in an attempt to get rid of her husband, one of the characters in the book goes to her attorney. He explains that just wanting a divorce doesn't necessarily achieve a divorce in Ireland, that she must prove some form of abuse or unfaithfulness. "Has he ever been unfaithful?" The attorney asks... "Aha, I think we've got him there!" Cries the wife, "I know for a fact he wasn't the father of me last two children!"
Then there are the law partners who scratch their heads in amazement letting little showers of dandruff accumulate on their desks as they ponder over the will of Dan Doonan. They don't know how to execute his will, but one thing they do know is that it will take a lot of time and money, because Dan Doonan died leaving everything... to himself!
The the poor, powerfully built farmer O'Mara, who, after being deserted by his wife and losing his children, was cut from a man who 'laughed and loved life, to a walking dead.'
From helpless laughter to the depths of empathy, the reader is tossed about emotionally like a leaf in a stream and, for the most part, falls in love with the little imaginary town of Pukoon. To say this book allows one a better understanding of the Irish is a gross understatement.
Well worth reprinting and well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world without Milligan, 4 Mar 2003
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Even though Spike's comedy and success did not reach across the waters to the U.S., it was nice to go to bed thinking that someone like Spike was around. But now he's gone and oh, how he is missed! His humor is unsurpassed; and completly his own. Puckoon is a prime example, and a great introduction to his comedy. Puckoon is Milligan being Milligan. The novel moves along at a brisk pace, even when it seems little is happening. Reading everything coming together at the end is pure delight. I can't recommend this book enough... the only drawback is that it's so short it leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Milligan has lost none of it's spark, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
I read this for the first time when I was 15, and coming back to it I find that I'd forgotten how easy it is to lose yourself in the mad world of Milligan. Only an idiot would be concerned with the lack of plot in a book that bursts with energy and ideas like this does. Oh, and it's cripplingly funny too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars punkoon, 28 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Few books I've read have made me laugh out loud ( the only other I can think of is "without feathers" by Woody Allen), this book will, if you read it on the train you'll get strange looks from other passangers.The plot may seem to jump from one thing to another but comes together in the end ,along the way there are some fantastic bits like the pub that has 2 prices for beer depending on which side of the border you are on, only Spike could think uo such an idea. Buy it and enjoy the mad ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is meant to be funny, not precise!, 30 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Neil Wellman's desperate clichés (replete with spelling and grammatical errors) about Spike's 'illness' do nothing to aid prospective readers. The whole book is unhinged, and is meant to be so. The sustained comic brilliance is reason enough to read this book, the hair-spltters who winge about the plot should stick with Martin Amis and leave Milligan for those who appreciate him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work of genius, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
When I was about 12, my elder brother (then 15) read this during a Summer holiday. I don't often recall him laughing at anything but was amazed to see him in fits of laughter reading this book.

Spike Milligan is one of those unassailable comedians who every famous comedian tends to regard as a spiritual godfather. Although very famous, I did not always appreciate the humour.

Moving forward 35 years, I have finally got round to reading Puckoon, feeling a strange glow of nostalgia seeing that Penguin has never tried to repackage the book with a new cover - its exactly the same as it was in the mid 70s and presumably the early 60s.

I loved reading this book - it really is a first rate comic read. The characters are hilarious and the absurd dialogue had me in fits of laughter during my daily commute.

There are a few things that I find worth noting about this book though. The first is that Spike Milligan, for all the jollity, is also a very intelligent writer. I am pretty certain that if I had read it age 15, I would not have picked up most of the artistic and literary references. Is is definitely a book to savour and re-read.

The other thing I noticed was its rather 'Irish' whimsy and absurdity. Latterly, I have really enjoyed the books of (and film adaptations of books by) Roddy Doyle, like the Commitments, Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha and for children, the Rover Adventures. Coming to Puckoon, I can only assume that Roddy Doyle is a fan of this novel. There is definitely an air of surrealism in this novel, with the author breaking through the Fourth Wall and telling the reader how he is altering the story.

I must say that book also cheered me up. I had been reading some fairly depressing and heavyweight books and this provided the best tonic.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never get tired of this book, 10 Nov 2008
By 
R. D. T. Griffiths (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Glad to see this is still available. Spike -- how we miss him. Puckoon although rambling at times is so funny - the rambling in some ways makes it funnier. The movie based on the book is a must - buy both. Although there is a lot missing in the movie compared with the book it dosn't detract -they did a great job of getting a good plot in the movie (takes 2 or 3 viewings to get it - buts that the fun of it.
So much Goon type humour in the book(and movie) but with lots more os Spikes unique way of finding mundane ordinary things in life so funny - especially blowing apart the pomposity of officaldom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spike Milligan, Puckoon,, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
The Heart attacks, oh GOD YES the MULTIPLE HEART ATTACKS I nearly took all at once whilst laughing at this book, it bloody nearly killed ME But what a way to go eh?. It has been so many years since I read this book,just enough time to get my health back. 'he called for hellsfire at the appropriate time only to be informed by the hidden man "I think the cat has pissed on the matches, Father"' even if I do not quote exactly what is in the book that section and almost all the rest are still enough to have me in stitches all afternoon. Who called the writer a swine? Who called that swine a writer? The man is a bloody genius The Genius is a man But there is nothing in it they are just good friends. Oh no! Time for another coronary nurse, nurse!, NUUURSSE?!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.,, 27 Jan 2010
This review is from: Puckoon (Paperback)
Spike Milligan was born in India, the son of an Irish father who was serving in the British Indian Army. He spent most of his life in England and served in the British Army in World War II - though he took Irish citizenship. Milligan was an undoubted comedy genius and was the principal writer of The Goon Show. He was one of the few people who could get away with referring to a member of the British Royal Family - Prince Charles - as a "little grovelling b@$t@rd" on live television.

The story is set in Puckoon, a fictional village located a few miles northeast of Sligo . Dan Milligan probably the closest thing to a central character we get - and is, presumably, based a little on Spike himself. Dan lives in one of the Peat Cutters' Cottages - although he isn't actually a peat-cutter. (He's a skiver through and through. The peat ran out several years previously, and the peat-cutters didn't take long in doing the same. The Free State Government then awarded the cottages to those who'd fought for Irish independence). Milligan the character is, naturally, at the centre of much of the book's daftness : for a start, he can hold a conversation with Milligan the author. He isn't at all impressed with Spike's writing abilities, and is particularly unimpressed with his own legs. In an attempt to even things up a little, Spike gives Dan a magical word - squorrox - that'll get him out of any trouble. (Dan could've used that word on his wedding day - his wife's a fearsome looking creature, and is described by some as a "danger to shipping". Dan's two brothers had arrived with his wedding suit, just in time for him to make it to the church...he never forgave them).

Dan's wife sends him to the church to try and find some work - the grass needs cut, and Father Rudden, despite his own good health, is obviously too busy with religious matters to deal with the problem himself. (It's the first time Dan's been to church since his baptism, but at least it'll be a little money for him. Well, it would if the parish wasn't broke - there are so many buttons going into the collection plate, it's a miracle how the faithful can walk to mass without their trousers falling down).

However, Milligan and money aren't Fr Rudden's only problems. Although the majority of Ireland has now wriggled free from the United Kingdom , part of the country is staying put - which means a new border has to be drawn up. Unfortunately, thanks to a group of idiotic bureaucrats, the border gets drawn right through the church grounds. The chapel is in the new Free State , the graveyard is in the UK - which, being a Spike Milligan book, leads to all sorts of complications with Dan Doonan's funeral.

While it is (unsurprisingly) a hugely funny and very daft book, there is the very occasional touch of sadness here and there. (The story of Farmer O'Mara particularly stands out, probably because it contrast so much with the rest of the book). Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puckoon
Puckoon by Spike Milligan (Paperback - 25 Jan 1973)
6.29
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews