Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Quality
John Wyndham has written another beauty of a book. Although it is a collection of stories rather than a novel, John Wyndham has touched upon the subject of science fiction without painting on the fancy knobs and buttons. He treats all the futuristic stories with a soberness which allows the reader to appreciate the story rather than the marvel at the inventiveness of...
Published on 4 Jan 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read but not as good as the longer novels
I definitely prefer Wyndham's longer length novels to his short stories as they simple don't have the development and often just end without any real lead up or warning. There are some enjoyable stories such as `Dumb Martian' and `Survival' which are both about women who aim to make their own lives better, and will do it in any way possible.

Some of the...
Published 7 months ago by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Quality, 4 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
John Wyndham has written another beauty of a book. Although it is a collection of stories rather than a novel, John Wyndham has touched upon the subject of science fiction without painting on the fancy knobs and buttons. He treats all the futuristic stories with a soberness which allows the reader to appreciate the story rather than the marvel at the inventiveness of the author in regard to various superfluous gadgets. Although these stories were written for an American public (E.G. flashlight instead of torch), this doesn't detract from the 'Britishness' of the stories. My personal favourite was 'Dumb Martian' but the rest are just as well written and enjoyable to read. If you're not too sure whether to start reading John Wyndham's works, here is as good a place to start as any. Otherwise, read 'Day of the Triffids' and look at this second.
John Wyndham is one of the best, you have no excuse to not read at least one of his books!! Start with this and work through - I am!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. L. J. Oliver "lisa_joli" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
My dad gave me his copy of this about 25 years ago now, I read it as a teenager and loved it. I've just revisited it and it generally stands the test of time. Inevitably some elements are out of synch with modern times (eg the wife in the short story "Survival") but this gives it a quaintness whilst in no way detracting from the quality of the story telling.

John Wyndham had an absolute gift for hooking the reader in with ideas that seem so simple but are in fact at times quite profound. He avoids the over-complication that more recent sci-fi writers can tend to indulge in, he relies on the plot and the characters to elaborate the ideas behind the stories and mostly he writes stories that you just want to continue to read. Recommended wholeheartedly and I've just passed on my copy to my 11 year old son - I hope he's as entranced as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The least science fictiony of all SF authors, 12 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
John Wyndham experiments with a range of styles in this collection of short stories, to dazzling effect. A man who always hated the term 'science fiction' has turned out a collection which spans from comedy through horror to thriller and even ropes in modernism. This is John Wyndham at the peak of his creative powers. If you hate SF then give this a go, it has the immediacy of Rudyard Kipling and the plot twists of Roald Dahl. If you are a Science Fiction fan, then read this to see how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FANTASIC, 26 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
Im a 36 yr old woman and remember enjoying John Wynham books as a teenager.
This book of short storys is excellent.
Dont make the mistake of thinking that Sci Fi ois just for nerdy boys!
This is what I call true SCIENCE Fiction - in other words id science would allow it - iot could be true! its not just green aliens fighting in space you know!
John Wyndham is a fantastic writer with an amazing imagination - a bit like an HG Wells of the 40's.
He really was forward thinking as is shown in this collection in which every story is different from the last.
Im re-collecting all his books now and if you have never read JW try this or start with The Day Of The Triffids, one of his more famous works. I also loved the Crysalids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection of sci-fi stories - tragically out of print, 13 April 2014
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
This is a brilliant collection. Wyndham explains in his introduction that he wrote the stories over a period of fifteen years as a kind of experiment, moulding the sci-fi motif to a variety of short story genres. The result is something that you don't find often with single-author collections: a clutch of stories which are consistent in voice and theme, but which are so assorted in their tone, in their handling and in their purpose, that they fly from the page in all different directions: never predictable, never tedious.

'Dumb Martian' was perhaps the most accomplished of the stories, pitting a callous Earthman, Duncan, against a Martian woman, Lellie, whom he has purchased from her parents for the purpose of keeping him company during a five-year contract on a sub-moon of Jupiter. An allegory for racism and domestic abuse, the story explores Duncan's determination to ignore his wife's intellectual capacity, his escalating cruelty, and the revenge Lellie finally wreaks. I loved this story for its cold, silent battle of wits in its closing scenes - the breathless intensity of their hatred for one another, played out against a backdrop of the whole dark universe.

However, there is plenty more than alien relationships to be had in this glittering collection... Here there be time travel, spaceships, parallel universes, and cyborgs. Sci-fi aficionados, get hold of a copy if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
good read .read all his books back in the 60s. like stephen king books cant put it down. a happy xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
A great book of John Wyndham short stories. I'd read them years ago but lost my copy. Worth buying as an introduction to John Wyndham and his brand of sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars books, 8 Sep 2013
By 
E. A. Mcnair (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
Some well loved sci-fi stories from one of my favourite sci-fi writers. Arrived well-packed and well within the alloted time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read but not as good as the longer novels, 4 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
I definitely prefer Wyndham's longer length novels to his short stories as they simple don't have the development and often just end without any real lead up or warning. There are some enjoyable stories such as `Dumb Martian' and `Survival' which are both about women who aim to make their own lives better, and will do it in any way possible.

Some of the stories such as `Wildflower' didn't seem to fit in with the rest of the stories, with the Sci-fi aspect being the plane crash (which was alluded to being a spaceship). Overall the book has a mix of stories - some good and some bad but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seed of Time, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seeds of Time (Paperback)
This book was in very good condition and delivered quickly. It contains short stories with a futuristic theme. This makes it a good "pick up - put down" anytime type of read, ideal for casual reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaeb31018)

This product

The Seeds of Time
The Seeds of Time by John Wyndham (Paperback - 28 Jun 1959)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews