Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite ever novel!
Here I sit at 19, about to go back to university for my second year studying English and I find myself wondering how I can value a mid 20th century science fiction novel over all the classics and anything else on my bookshelf.

Then I look at the front cover and see the quote "One of those books that haunts you for the rest of your life" and realise that quote...
Published on 15 Sep 2007 by M. T. Gibbs

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Creepily Effective...
ONly just remembered the series, but decided to pick up the book not long after War of The Worlds - which it alwasy gets compared to. I found them different - Triffids seemed more about the collapse of society, and the problems thrown up by the Triffids rather than thier actual 'taking over' of the plants. Wyndham's skill ies in just having The Triffids skulking in the...
Published on 13 Mar 2007 by Stockton


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent adaptation., 4 Jan 2008
I was raised listening to the dramatizations of plays and novels broadcast on Radio 4, and so I can spot a good one when I hear it - and `The Day Of The Triffids' is definitely one of those. You can head over to the reviews of the book if you want a critique of the story, so I'm going to focus on the more technical aspects of the radio play itself.

I've always been a fan of the book, and you'll be pleased to know that this adaptation stays almost entirely faithful. The only changes made are those which make it easier for the progression of the story as a play, rather than a book, and hardly any incidents have been omitted - a few have been mixed up, maybe, but nothing has been annoyingly changed, and that's saying a lot for most dramatizations of novels.

The casting is perfect: Peter Sallis captures Bill Masen perfectly, and the rest of the cast are just as good. The one fault with the voice-acting is that no children were employed - thus Susan is voiced by an adult woman pretending to be a child, and this can grate sometimes (as a result, one star has been deducted from the rating).

`The Day Of The Triffids' has always been described as a "cosy catastrophe", and indeed I can think of worse things happening to the world than a generation of humans being blinded - but this version manages to make the disaster believable, and some moments become particularly creepy when they cannot be seen (a glimpse of the streets at night, in the second episode, should not be listened to in the dark!). The problem of the triffids is also solved, since in film and television they often seem painfully fake.

Don't even bother with the films made of this book - stick with the radio adaptation, and it will bring the characters to life in a way that not even the old television series could do. I would heartily recommend this CD set for anyone who enjoys science fiction, and/or enjoys radio plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCI-FI CLASSIC!!!!!, 14 July 2001
By A Customer
Written from the perspective of the survivor - this is an absolute classic - the sci-fi cliches are here and published 50 years ago has had many imitations over the years.
Human Society has gone as we know it - social skills and survival are the name of the game. Do you help the helpless? Help yourself? Or try and start from scratch? These are the questions asked in this book. Wyndham addresses science and greed and what happens when both meet.
Why did this disaster happen? you never really find out but the asumptions are there - The Triffids really are the 'back-seat' storyline of the book and only appear as these pysedo-intellingent 'things' - but the menace is there throughout.
Classic sci-fi - YES . Classic novel - YES. If you've read it before - read it again. If you haven't - What has taken you so long??!!?
BUY IT -- A 100% CLASSIC!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Abridged Version!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Day of the Triffids is a favourite from my childhood that I revisit often. However, this is not the full text; some scenes seem to have been considered surplus to requirements: The suicidal doctor; Umberto and the exposition of the Triffids' origins and worldwide spread (I didn't read much further once I realised). They've made a mess of it too; Umberto is mentioned later in the text despite having been excised, for example. I could see no mention of the fact that this is an abridged version. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Sci-Fi Genius, 13 Feb 2007
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day of the Triffids (Paperback)
After first hearing The Day Of The Triffids on BBC7 a while ago, then seeing the TV adaptation on BBC4 I was delighted to find this among those 'unknown hidden items' under the Christmas Tree!

From the start it is written in a brilliant style. Seeing through Bills eyes it really brings the destruction of 'The Comet' over very well. The Triffids, the tripod walking plants, although sound more like a joke, are deadly serious and with mankind lost in the dark, the Triffids and the men who can do battle in a race to survive. However it is not just the Triffids, but his own kind who Bill finds himself racing in the sprint for survival

Quite unlike any Sci-Fi I've ever read (Asimov, Adams, Doctor Who stuff etc) Wyndham had an amazing talent for writing, and The Day Of The Triffids has got to be one of the best books I have ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Wyndham does it again..., 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This book is probably John Wyndham's best known book. If you remember the TV series or have seen the (dire) 1960's movie then you should read this. The book is nothing like these and is infinitely better. If you liked Stephen King's "The Stand", you'll like this as the stories are both on the same premise (disaster wipes out most of humanity, what happens next...). Wyndham had a way of making the unlikely (the fictional Triffids becoming top of the food chain) seem plausable and keeps the reader gripped throughout the whole story. You feel a mixture of emotions while reading this book and it is a must for everyone. This is how books SHOULD be written!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal sci-fi influence, 30 Jan 2007
Like all good science fiction should, Wyndham's terrifying vision of the future shakes to the very core the principles by which society functions, and asks what would become if something we took for granted was taken from us. After a freakish meteor shower, the world awakes without sight, and at the mercy of a horrific form of plant life that walks, talks and eats decomposing human flesh. With uncanny accuracy, Wyndham predicts the development of satellite defence systems and genetically modified plants, and produces one of the seminal sci-fi influences of all time. You should check out the BBC TV series made in the 80s. It's pretty true to the book, and great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic disaster novel - and hardly dated, 16 May 2007
By 
M. W. Stone (peterborough, cambs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first encountered "the Day of the Triffids" when I was ten years old - and can still read it with enjoyment at 59. For me that says it all.

Add to this that the book itself was seven years old when I read it, and its quality is brought home even more. Published in 1951, it is still believable in 2007, perhaps more credible now than when it was written. How many novels are there, sf or otherwise, of which this could be said?

The triffids of the title are a new breed of plant, produced by some unspecified means as a source of oil. The term "Genetically Engineered" was not known in the 50s, but would instantly spring to mind today. Despite their vicious sting, capable of blinding or even killing a man, and the fact they are carnivorous, they are no particular problem until a new disaster strikes. A meteor shower of incredible brilliance draws almost the whole population out at night to watch - and gives off harmful radiation which blinds all those who see it.

Bill Masen, temporarily blinded by a triffid sting, spends the crucial night in hospital with his eyes bandaged, and removes them the morning after to find a world gone blind (at least it seems to be the world. Were there no overcast skies anywhere that night? Never mind) and searches frantically for the handful of others who can see. They are faced with a terrible moral dilemma. Do they just clear off and leave the blind ones to (mostly) die? Or should the sighted stay to help the blind - and almost certainly end up dying with them? And of course not all, even among the sighted, are content to leave this to individual choice. There are those prepared to kidnap and enslave the sighted and force them into helping the blind - and equally those who see a not so brave new world with themselves as masters and the blind majority as serfs.

If all this weren't enough, the triffids are on the loose. With their deadly stings, they commit mayhem on the helpless blind humans, and soon develop into a major problem even for the sighted, who must search desperately for some refuge which can be defended against them. The rest of the novel is devoted to their finding one.

I have a few gripes here and there. Would the triffids really be much threat to sighted people, if the latter had sense enough to wear crash helmets, goggles and heavy coats? And where's the Navy? Did every submarine in the world surface to look at the meteors? I'd expect a sub or two to come moseying up the Thames before too long. Quibble, quibble, Mike.

I also feel that Wyndham made a mistake, later, in implying that the "comet" was a secret weapon that went wrong, and the meteors an official cover story. I don't trust government either, but this doesn't really fit the facts. Were it so, those in the know would surely have taken shelter, and ordered Army and police to do the same. Yet there's no sign whatever of this having happened. No mention of the Royal Family, Cabinet, or Armed Forces, who evidently all went out and got blinded along with the rest. Even for a British government, that's an improbable degree of stupidity. While fully sharing Wyndham's distrust of the Powers That Be, I feel we have to acquit them of this particular crime.

Finally, though appreciating how Wyndham liked his disasters "cosy" and localised, I'd have liked to see just a little more (either in this book or the sequel he never wrote) about how the world at large was getting on. Was everywhere as badly hit as England? Being plants, the triffids wouldn't fare too well in deserts, so Americans and Mexicans might hold out in the southwest, and the Moslems (Oh dear!) in N Africa and the Mideast, while the sighted Australians could retreat into their arid interior. Dry grasslands might also be unsuitable, and even if triffids could live there, a human would see them on the horizon long before they got near enough to detect him, so on steppes or prairies, or even in the Scottish highlands, human and triffid would generally meet only when the human wanted it. These, rather than the Isle of Wight, seem to me the "best hope of mankind".

But enough grousing. It's a really great novel, rivalling "Earth Abides" as the classic post disaster yarn. If you haven't read it, you are missing out big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good comes from bad, 29 Jan 2010
in that hopefully the abomination that was the Christmas BBC adaptation will lead people to what is undoubtedly a modern sci-fi classic in the book. Awarding it only 5 stars isn't being fair to it and it is easily in the top 10 of my favourite books.

A meteor shower (or was it?) leading to worldwide blindness to those who viewed it, the collapse of society, a plague and to top it off the rise of a new form of carnivorous plant life. It doesn't rain but it pours.

The book focuses on Bill Masen, a triffid expert, who survives the blindness from being in hospital with a triffid sting injury to the eyes. It then traces how he initially explores and then comes to terms with the collapse of society up to the 6th year afterwards.

He quickly comes across the few sighted survivors left who embark on differing ways of surviving. This is where some other readers seem to have become confused, a number of social structures are considered and debated between the characters and their pros and cons clearly spelt out. What is considered to be the best post-disaster structure requires the abandoning of certain social norms, most of which the characters are on the whole not in agreement with. But in the world that Wyndham created existing social norms and standards don't and can't exist, mankind is close to extinction and that is clearly highlighted.

The characters also act and think intelligently, in stark contrast to Earth Abides. They identify quickly that allowing the gradual descent back into savagery cannot be allowed to happen and that the emerging communities have to be structured and organised to prevent this happening. This is what I would of expect to be done and makes Earth Abides even more preposterous in its futile apathy.

Surprisingly the triffids themselves do not take centre stage, which in itself makes them more menacing. In many parts of the book they are only mentioned in passing and there aren't that many direct confrontations with them. They are in the background as a continuous and growing threat that will eventually wipe mankind out, but there are more pressing dangers in the short-term. What they also are is one of the best sci-fi monsters ever created, with little other than what the characters can deduce known about them.

So if you have seen the 'adaptation' and are wondering what the book would be like or have simply not got around to reading it, I can highly recommend this and would be very surprised if you didn't thoroughly enjoy it and read it again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, Believable and Very Very Good!, 6 April 2003
By 
Mr. C. Eames "ce124" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I guarantee that this book will suck you in on the first page and will never leave you. It's quality all hangs on one point: the story is very believable. It could happen, and if it did this is how it would happen. People would act just like this and YOU would think and act just like the lead character. The plot is initially about the mass blinding of most of the population and there are some eerie passages as Bill encounters the silent, deserted streets peppered with violent pockets of terrified blinded people. As we move on and Bill and Josella begin to form a survival plan the Triffids become more dangerous and menacing until they are the main threat. The ending is perfectly timed and not what you might expect but still very appropriate.
The novel is perhaps underappreciated these days but I would easily put it alongside '1984'. The world the characters are forced to survive in is equally as enthralling and menacing as Orwell's distopia. It's a real shame that the recent film '28 Days Later' wasn't a 100% adaptation of this book. The early bits of 28 Days that borrow from this book are its best and the rest of the film is not as good. It's a double shame because no-one else will film this book for a while now that 28 days has covered the ground.
For a few quid you can't get a much better story. Don't rent '28 Days Later', buy this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal reminder of the fragility of our society., 17 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Wyndham evokes a true sense of despair as a world so familiar, even fifty years after the book was written, crumbles like a house of cards.
A patient temporarily blinded by an agricultural accident wakes in hospital, on the day of his release, to find that the world has gone blind and he is one of the very few who still posses the gift of sight. The protagonist grows to realise that the population's loss of sight, probably caused by the accidental firing of a space based weapon seen in the skies on the previous evening, has effectively ended the old order.
Our world is gone. A few disparate survivors must find a way of existing without the protection of advanced society - no police, medicine, education, agriculture, industry or economy. In many ways humankind is hurled into a new Dark Age.
Worse still a new breed of plant, grown and engineered for its oil, is carnivorous and mobile. Without the means of modern agriculture and societal infrastructure to restrain them, these genetically modified plants break loose from their farms. They dominate and threaten the surviving humans. Theirs is the new order: it is the day of the Triffids.
This is an utterly gripping and highly topical read.
Austen Atkinson (Author Impact Earth)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day of the Triffids
The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham (Paperback - 28 Jun 1973)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews