Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book on software design, 8 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
Occupying conceptual ground between Bertrand Meyer's Object Oriented Software Construction and The Pragmatic Programmer by Dave Thomas & Andy Roberts, this is equally as good as those books.
I would suggest having read the likes of Martin Fowler's Refactoring and the GoF patterns book first, as well as knowing how JUnit works, as the value of this book is in examples of how to use the various practices and how they work together, rather than detailed introductory material.
The opening section briefly covers XP practices. Highlights are the example of refactoring a prime-number-generating program, and in particular, a long example of using Test Driven Development to write a bowling scoring application in Java.
The second part concerns itself with the various design principles associated with OOD that have crystallised in the last few years, e.g. the Liskov Substitution Principle (one of the best discussions of this I've read), the Open-Closed Principle, the Single Responsibility Principle, the Dependency Inversion Principle etc.
The rest of the book alternates between case studies and introducing design patterns. This is not the book to read to learn about design patterns, but it is an excellent resource for thinking about where those patterns are useful and what the pros and cons are.
The text is well-written and the style conversational and witty. I recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pragmatic, advanced in its concepts, best book in a while, 20 Nov 2002
By 
N. Robinson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
While I have read papers of excellent quality by Robert Martin, I wasnt expecting too much with this book on the basis that I havent purchased that many excellent books in a long while. However from the moment I read the first page (the principles to Agile Development), I have hardly had the book out of my sight. In my eyes, Martin is up there with the likes of Meyers, Booch, Oddell etc, and I have to say this book will sit with pride with the only other book that has inspired me so much - Meyers OO Software Construction.
While the concepts maybe advanced, this book is still for anyone serious enough about pragmatic software engineering. You will learn some beautiful principles to aid your development efforts, and even half way through the book you will be thinking differently about the software you design.
The book is excellent, its as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 17 May 2006
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
The other reviews sum up how good this book is so theres not much more to say other than that every developer should read it, oh and if your a C# developer then I'd recommend you consider two things:

1) You might want to hold on as there is a C# equivalent written coming out (0131857258), having said that this book is very relevant to C# as well as Java/C++.
2) When you get to the part of the book about designing your packages you'll probably want to look up the (free) NDepend utility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview of OO design and agile practices, 28 Sep 2004
By 
B. L. Norris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
Based on articles and papers written by OO guru and former editor of the C++ report, Bob Martin, this book is an excellent overview of both agile software development and of good OO software design practice. It's style and multitude of example code (both in Java and C++) make it very easy to read. Even for those people that don't have an interest in getting involved in Agile development, I would say that the design advice contained within this book would still allow it to have a worthy place on their shelf. A must-read also for anyone struggling with the GoF Design Patterns book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening text, 12 May 2005
By 
Paul "E" (Round Rock, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
Wow... this book is awesome. It's a great balance between academia and real life. It goes in to *real* application of patterns - rather then using patterns for their own sake. And encourages a work-ethic that really makes sense. Plus even has ideas for metrics for management.
There are some practices that I still cannot agree with (the use of extern style globals for example) - but the book is written as guidelines and promotes gut feelings and "smells" of code. It's pretty amusing to read, in a geek sort'a way.
I wish I had this text back when I was university - though I'm glad I've come across it now because I know it's made me a more productive developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book on modern software development, 29 Aug 2006
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
I was a faithful reader of the column "The Craftsman" by "Uncle Bob" in Software Development Magazine before reading this book, so, I sort of knew what I was getting at when started to read this.

First this is a generic book about agile and modern software development. It mainly covers principles, patterns and practices (PPP), but, it also provides some content on Methodology and processes (e.g., XP). The first chapters are easy to read and the difficulty starts to grow as you go through the book. The style is kept from the 4th chapter on, with the text being interrupted by good example code (C++ and Java) that is also very easy to read.

By being a book about three things (ie, PPP) and intelligently mixing them, you get an actual good view of these things taken into practice together by a master in the field. Therefore, this is something that will get into your memory and will make you see how all these complex things can be handled also in parallel, as they are in the reality of software development projects.

Specially fun to read is the "Appendix C. A Satire of Two Companies". "Appendix D. The Source Code Is the Design." is also a must read for anyone that wants to understand why in modern software development programming is always considered as design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
I can recommend this book to anyone, the ideas in the book are clearly explained and really make you think about the way in which you write software. Definitely 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!!!!, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Fabio Mattei - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
The first 4 chapters o this books changed my way for software developing.
Martin is a really good Software engineer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and useful, 17 May 2006
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
This is one of the most enjoyable and informative computer books I have ever read.

The multitude of code examples is backed up by well thought out arguments and an enjoyable writing style, I cant recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Hardcover)
Product used in a good condition and correct price. A little bit damage, but I think that the price is really fair. Thanks a lot for the object.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices
Agile Software Development, Principles, Patterns, and Practices by Robert C. Martin (Hardcover - 15 Oct 2002)
50.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews