Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poker novice
Searching through all the titles on this website looking for a poker book aimed at complete beginners, I stumbled across this item. I can only repeat the title. This book is 'brilliant'. Following the detailed instructions which are accompanied by extremely helpful diagrams, I was able to pick up the basics of the game within a very short time. Having read the book...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by Bee Brown

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it is supposed to
A great book for people just starting out in poker and should last long until they get used to using the advanced strategies but anyone who already has played a fair bit might just read this and not learn anything new.

The first few pages are about how to set up your internet connection, how to play and how to make a deposit in a poker room.All of which i think...
Published on 28 Aug 2008 by M. Berwick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it is supposed to, 28 Aug 2008
By 
M. Berwick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
A great book for people just starting out in poker and should last long until they get used to using the advanced strategies but anyone who already has played a fair bit might just read this and not learn anything new.

The first few pages are about how to set up your internet connection, how to play and how to make a deposit in a poker room.All of which i think are pretty obvious even for people who have never done it before.The rest even through the advanced pages are still pretty obvious like check raising,bluffing and semi bluffing then what sites they recommend and add on programs to calculate odds.

As i said earlier this book is great for a beginner but for someone who has a read a few poker books i wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poker novice, 9 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
Searching through all the titles on this website looking for a poker book aimed at complete beginners, I stumbled across this item. I can only repeat the title. This book is 'brilliant'. Following the detailed instructions which are accompanied by extremely helpful diagrams, I was able to pick up the basics of the game within a very short time. Having read the book completely the first time, I now use it as a reference guide and have even been know to have it by my side whilst playing with friends. Much to their amusement. If the game interests you, but you don't know where to start, this is the book for you. Take my word for it, give it a try and you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy!, 9 Oct 2006
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
After flicking through Brilliant Online Poker in Borders I picked up copy from Amazon for a friend, who has been playing poker online for a few months now. He can't put it down! And to make things worse he's got me playing as well. The book is a great read, for someone like me who didin't even know the basics I learnt how to play the game and what cards to fold, there are intermediate strategies for people with a bit more experience and an advanced section (which I'm hoping to get to, eventually) which my friend swears has been invaluable. There's plenty of other information on tells, common mistakes and other resources you might not have heard of to improve your game. I can't recommend it enough! Well explained, concise and covers just about everything you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of knowledge, 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
The book is packed full of answers and practical tips for the would be on-line gambler including enough cautions about the risks involved. I would like to have read more about playing against the online casino computers and whether they can forecast the next move you will make. Having tried it out I am sceptical about whether truly random cards or numbers are generated by the computer, as it seems to have a lot more luck than I did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for Beginners, 9 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
Full of useful tips for the noob (even my Dad understood it) but will leave more experienced players feeling short changed. Having said that, it's easy to forget some of the basics and the tables are useful. Worth a punt if it's on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 29 Jan 2007
By 
D. Neish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
Because poker is a game of skill rather than luck, it's essential that you gain a good understanding of the fundamantals rather than learning through trial and error. This book takes you from complete beginner to some more advanced strategy without getting too technical. Superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Title, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Sear (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
Should be called "beginners online poker". Thats all it is. A beginners guide. No more, no less. Doesn't make it a poor book, but just don't expect any depth to it. Misleading title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a begginer then buy this book first !, 24 Sep 2008
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
I have to agree with the other reviews.

If you are new to the game, this is a must read book!

Read it before anything else, and at least it will give you all you need to play the game, and not feel like a complete FISH.

Once you have learned from this book, you can progress onto more detailed books with the Basic knowledge required to understand them.

I actually borrowed this book from the local library, and found it very interesting and informative as well as being very easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SMcCrossan, 5 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Brilliant Online Poker (Paperback)
If your not a beginner, this is a complete waste of time. In the whole book there are probably about 10 pages you will read as the majority of the contents are just basic information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0598cd0)

This product

Brilliant Online Poker
Brilliant Online Poker by Paul Lester (Paperback - 27 July 2006)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews