Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book title needs refactoring
This is a great book, and one which any developer will learn a great deal from. In most respects, it is a five-star book, but... the title is misleading. By rights it should be called "Clean Java Code".

Let me explain: I am an ActionScript developer, and bought this book to improve my code style and structure. For the most part, it has done that: the chapters...
Published on 27 Oct 2008 by Mr. D. N. Sumption

versus
81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scattergun list of pet peeves
This book is best described as a list of "pet peeves" by the authors. I stress that this book is mainly written by a collection of authors - and not Robert C. Martin - because this is not stated in any promotional material and appears as an unwelcome surprise in the introduction of many chapters.

The first chapter pledges a lot and is very motivational -...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Samuel Halliday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
Every programmer who wants to be considered a good one should read this book. It's sometimes not easy to make the software work, but maintaining ugly code is simply impossible. So if you want your software to last long, take a look at this book and apply some tips and guidelines into your code and coding habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
Excellent, definitely a must-read book for those who will improve quality of code. You learn something new each time you read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
Awesome book. I have read this book atleast 3 times. Absolute fan of Robert C. Martin. Highly recommend this this book for everyone who thinks they are professional software programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book. A must have for software engineers, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently bought this book and i have to say that is a must have for every software developer, experienced or novice. It is well written, provoking you to think (not only read), with examples and situations that everyone has encountered. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A turning point in a developer outlook, 10 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Thorrington (Worthing, West Sussex., England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this read, mainly because it makes a lot or sense and also because I realise that I wasn't the only one who was passionate about clean code. For me as a developer reading this book I realised an important thing, and that was if there are any mistakes it is my fault. This could be down to a multiple of reasons, but as the professional I must take responsilibility for what I build therefore I better make it good!

I think anyone aspiring to be a developer must read this book, I also know a lot of 'senior' developers that should also seriously considering reading this book. You may not agree with everything, but you still need to know about the principals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
I as a little worried by the appearance of 'agile' in the title but this turned out to be an excellent book packed with good advice and some first rate example code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean Code review - MUST READ, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
I have bought the "Clean Code" and it was a win. The book is well organized and written, easy to read and understand.
Every developer should find a benefit in it.
It should be in MUST READ books for developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to any dev, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best, most helpful and most readable software book I've ever read. Has really helped me in my job as a predominantly OO programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for java developers, 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
I bought this book and Implementation Patterns (Addison-Wesley Signature) at the same time and read them at the same time. The contrast could not be greater. This book has lots of examples and although much bigger is it is a real page turner. I failed to get anything but frustration out of the other book.

In the last day I attempted to put the books advice into practice on some security code. Get it working, then re-work it for clarity using the practical advice of the book. The book very much helped to spot complexity in the initial implementation and extensively refactor the code into something more obvious, easier to document and more re-usable.

There were a couple of minor things that I disagreed with. With the author putting so much down with a stamp of authority there is going to be at least one thing in the book for everyone to disagree with. That does not distract from giving it full marks though and recommending it one to read and possibly re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for writing high quality software, 9 Sep 2008
By 
Mikkel T. Kristiansen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin) (Paperback)
Uncle Bob (Robert C. Martin) is a recognized expert in todays world of software development. His books "Agile Software Development: Principles, Patterns and Practices" and "Agile Principles, Patterns and Practices in C#" should by now be well known by the majority of serious java and C# developers. I read the latter last year, and I was blown away by Uncle Bob's insight into the process of writing software in a manner, that more or less guarantees success for both the customer and the development company.

When "Clean Code" was published I rushed to buy it, and again I am in awe!

This book book hits the nail on why so many software development projects ends up in pain for the developers as the code rots and becomes unmaintainable. Not only are the symptoms cleary described and analyzed, Uncle Bob also provides the remedy. By breaking down the process of cleaning up code into detecting very specific "smells" and heuristics, and by supplying the reader the tools to fix the problems in the software, the reader automatically becomes empowered, inspired and motivated to go and clean up his or her mess.

I strongly believe, that if all developers were to read this book and start living by the rules stated within, life would improve for every single developer, customers would be able to purchase very high quality software products a lot cheaper, and everyone would benefit.

My applause to Uncle Bob - Thank you for this fantastic work of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Robert C. Martin)
£23.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews