Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward
I taught using the first half of this textbook. I found it well written with just the right amount of depth and information: a very good framework to build on later in a degree program. Boxes and empirical examples worked well.

The text also gives an appendix at the end of the book on major figures in contemporary economics and the different schools of thought...
Published on 24 Jun 2006 by James

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book but definitely not the best choice
Although this is a good book, I find it too light in some topics.

Moreover, it lacks an in depth explanation of the dynamics of inflation and
the Mundell-Fleming model.

My recommendation for macroeconomics' students is "Macroeconomics in the Global Economy" by Jefrey Sachs.
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Ned Louis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, 24 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
I taught using the first half of this textbook. I found it well written with just the right amount of depth and information: a very good framework to build on later in a degree program. Boxes and empirical examples worked well.

The text also gives an appendix at the end of the book on major figures in contemporary economics and the different schools of thought. This demonstrates to me that the book really intends to convey some genuine understanding about economics outside of basic theory.

I spotted a few typos that the editorial team should have ironed out by now, but nothing major.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book but definitely not the best choice, 5 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
Although this is a good book, I find it too light in some topics.

Moreover, it lacks an in depth explanation of the dynamics of inflation and
the Mundell-Fleming model.

My recommendation for macroeconomics' students is "Macroeconomics in the Global Economy" by Jefrey Sachs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inutitive knowledge and technical understanding, 14 Jun 2006
By 
D. J. Bowen "deigokid" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
The set text for Intermediate Macroeconomics at University of York.

As a combined arts student, I often struggle with economics. But the pace of this book is very challenging but at the same time comfortable.

Emphasis is placed on fiscal and monetary policy decisions and their implications. Perhaps the best feature of this book from the perspective of a weak mathematician, is that all proofs and derived equations are fully explained. Blanchard achieves this better than many other authors as he manages to maintain a good pace in his explanation and gives comprehensive explanation without patronising the reader.

After taking this course and using this book I now have both a technical and intuitive understanding of macroeconomics.

The only minor problem is it is written with respect to the US economy i.e. all examples in $.

Overall recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
This book gives an amazing insight in to the world of Macroeconomics. I used it in my freshman year at Uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interestingly Different!, 8 Feb 2003
By A Customer
Blanchard's book provides a keenly structured and different perspective to macroeconomics. The clarity in analyisis and use of models makes it a must read for all undergraduates. A highly recommended textbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macroeconomics
Macroeconomics by Olivier Blanchard (Hardcover - 29 July 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews