Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I ever bought
I bought the combination of Core Java Fundimentals and Core Java Advanced Features. Both these books are excellent for gaining a deeper understanding of Java. Both books are extreemly interesting to read, I read the Fundimentals one cover to cover in two days. I would say this book is more for the intermediate programmer because it does not cover the basics of programming...
Published on 15 Jan 2003 by M. McNally

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be clearer
Generally seems to be a good & thorough book, though my main issue with it is its occasional use of concepts without adequate explanation. E.g. though the book professes to be suited to people new to object oriented programming, it uses concepts like 'method' without (or at least well before) explaining them, and keywords sometimes crop up in program examples chapters...
Published on 11 Jan 2007 by Ben Finn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I ever bought, 15 Jan 2003
By 
M. McNally (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought the combination of Core Java Fundimentals and Core Java Advanced Features. Both these books are excellent for gaining a deeper understanding of Java. Both books are extreemly interesting to read, I read the Fundimentals one cover to cover in two days. I would say this book is more for the intermediate programmer because it does not cover the basics of programming in great detail. I have bought a lot of java books but none as good as Core Java. A must buy for anyone looking to know more about the Java language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy!!, 11 Oct 2002
By 
Mr Stefan Goor (Belfield, Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This book has proven to be one the best books I have ever bought. I have 4 years of experience with Java yet I still use this book frequently as a reference. It is an excellent book for those who have just got around the very basics of Java such as assignments and loops etc, and want start writing useful object oriented code. The second volume also covers essential material for doing more complicated applications involving networks, gui's etc. Once I bought these two books, all the other Java books I have were given an early retirement.
I can't emphasize enough the the quality of this book!
It is very easy to follow (for any level of experience) and uses appropriate examples and code samples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best JAVA book around, 11 May 2005
By 
A. Papadopoulos "aris_p" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Core Java 2: Fundamentals v. 1 (Core Series) (Paperback)
I believe that in order to learn a language you need to refer to many books and discover all different styles and approaches. This especially applies in JAVA because of its size and depth. Inside the academic environment I had the opportunity to do so. If someone needs to buy one book in order to learn JAVA (fundamentals and advanced issues), this is definately the one. JAVA seems like a labyrinth especially for a beginner and this is the solution. Well written, updated (not all books are, although this sounds strange), most importantly covering all subjects from the right perspective, clarifying almost all readers possible questions or confusions of this huge subject. By far the best book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best java book available, 11 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This book is quite simply the best book for learning java available. It covers all the basic concepts required for a good understanding of java exceptionally well and is followed up by Volume 2 which covers the advanced features. There is alot of reading involved but the book does not waffle it simply appreciates the complexity of certain concepts and explains them well. This is not a book for someone that wants to learn java in a short space of time, though for those that do know some java it may be useful as a quick reference because if you have volume 2 as well the two cover virtually everything.
I have read java in 21 days deitel and deitels book, a number of flannagans books through my learning of java but this one i consider to be by far the best.
Phill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be clearer, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Ben Finn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Core Java 2: Fundamentals v. 1 (Core Series) (Paperback)
Generally seems to be a good & thorough book, though my main issue with it is its occasional use of concepts without adequate explanation. E.g. though the book professes to be suited to people new to object oriented programming, it uses concepts like 'method' without (or at least well before) explaining them, and keywords sometimes crop up in program examples chapters before they are explained. This is confusing.

I also have a sense the book sometimes makes a big deal of subtle & advanced aspects of the language that people don't need to worry about too much (or at least which could be covered later).

Additionally, the indexing is patchy. If you have read about something in the book and then try to find it again later via the index, as often as not you will fail, either because obvious index terms are omitted or because the index doesn't mention the most relevant pages. As it's a long book this can make for time-consuming hunting through chapters. To take a few examples, a fair part of the book deals with graphics, yet the index doesn't include the word 'draw' (if nothing else, the draw() method). Similarly if you want to know how to detect mouse clicks it is surprising not to find an index entry for 'click', even if it were just to cross-refer you to say 'mouse'. Similarly the book describes both the scroll wheel and scroll panes, but there is no index entry for 'scroll'. There is a section on file versioning, but no index entry for 'version' or 'versioning', nor even is it referenced under 'file'. Etc. etc.

All told a pretty good book, but these weaknesses are not insubstantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seventh Edition - little change, 31 Jan 2005
By 
Thomas Paul (Plainview, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Core Java 2: Fundamentals v. 1 (Core Series) (Paperback)
This is the seventh edition of this book and in some ways it hasn't changed much since the first edition. The first edition was aimed at C++ programmers who were looking to transition to the new language. The seventh edition is still fast-paced and detailed and aimed for the experienced programmer. This is not an easy-to-follow tutorial for the beginner programmer. The authors assume that you already know the basics of programming even if it isn't with an object oriented language. The book might make a fairly good college textbook but not as a first language.
The book covers the main areas that you would expect in an introductory Java book with a few surprises. The book gives a little bit of the history of Java and shows how to install and run Java from the console and Eclipse (but not NetBeans). There is an early introduction to reflection but exception handling isn't covered until well into the book. Swing is covered in a fair level of depth. J2SE 5.0 changes are covered throughout the book with the many examples written to show off the new additions to the language. Threading and Collections are not covered but rather are saved for volume two.
Overall this is a well written book but the target audience is getting small. How many C++ programmers can be left that don't already know Java? If you are looking for an introductory tutorial then this book may be a bit too advanced. Through seven editions, Core Java has changed little other than to reflect language changes. Perhaps it's time to rethink the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What they cover is good, but ...., 27 Aug 2003
By A Customer
I have volume I and volume II, which I think is needed, if any.
The subjects the books cover is ok described, good introduction.
But I ended up with several topics I could not find information about. E.g. Mnemonics and when 1.4 deprecated the getNextFocusableComponent, I did not find much help regarding focusCycleRoots and FocusTraversalPolicy.
Maybe I have just been unlucky with the subjects I needed information about, but I can't give it more than two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Core Java 2: Fundamentals v. 1 (Core Series)
Core Java 2: Fundamentals v. 1 (Core Series) by Gary Cornell (Paperback - 17 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: 0.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews