Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to general purpose GPU computing
This was my first book on GPU computing and a really pleasant surprise: well written, up to date and extremely easy to read.

The author introduces the basic tools of the trade, adding more constructs and techniques as the book progresses, including not-so-basic topics as "texture memory", "CUDA-OpenGL integration", "Streams" and "atomic operations" (and going...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by Riccardo Di Meo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not a starter book
Maybe I bought the wrong book, but this is the only one I found that looked like it was going to easily explain how to start with CUDA. The first chapter explains the awesomeness of CUDA and gets the reader all excited. Chapter 2 is all about getting set up and is way too short and does not provide enough detail. I get the impression from the book that you can just...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Sam S. Ung


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to general purpose GPU computing, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
This was my first book on GPU computing and a really pleasant surprise: well written, up to date and extremely easy to read.

The author introduces the basic tools of the trade, adding more constructs and techniques as the book progresses, including not-so-basic topics as "texture memory", "CUDA-OpenGL integration", "Streams" and "atomic operations" (and going as far as to deal with mutexes in the appendix).

The style is witty, clear and informative and the examples appealing: on each chapter at least a simple program is presented bottom up, they show some interesting graphics and give an immediate idea of what GPU computing can actually deliver, without relying on the "usual" plain number crunching examples.

Being an introductory text however, this book doesn't provide all the content required for serious GPU developing and should be complemented with other resources (by the way, suggested in the last chapter): for instance, it doesn't cover the GPU hardware capabilities and limitations, and the ways to work around them (you can find more about this in "Programming massively parallel processors" which I have also reviewed).

All in one, a great introductory book which is both informative and a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not a starter book, 13 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe I bought the wrong book, but this is the only one I found that looked like it was going to easily explain how to start with CUDA. The first chapter explains the awesomeness of CUDA and gets the reader all excited. Chapter 2 is all about getting set up and is way too short and does not provide enough detail. I get the impression from the book that you can just download the right applications and just start programming with the examples. Maybe for some people this is the case, but not for me. I have the right hardware/software (nvidia CUDA card, the nvidia SDK, and Microsoft Visual Studio C++ 2008 and have got the CUDA examples form the site to run, but not build) and am still trying to get Hello World Part two to compile. At the moment I am messing around with custom build steps for now trying to get it to compile. Would be nice if the book explains whether the HelloWorld file is supposed to be a .cu file and if it would mention all the other details like how to set up the IDE to work with CUDA. Once I get set up, Im sure the book will be useful, but until then I'm stuck reading forums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real fine introduction, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
It explains what CUDA programming is, with easy to follow examples. The similaritư with C language is also exposed clairly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start with CUDA, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this book does assume a familiarity with C/C++ and object-oriented programming, it's a straightforward and easy book to follow. The provided code is explained well and without unnecessary jargon. CUDA and GPGPU programming is, in itself, remarkably straightforward, but unlike many of the online material I found before buying this book, it actually takes the time to explain what's going on, rather than forcing the reader to decipher someone else's uncommented code. A worthwhile purchase for anyone looking to get started with CUDA.

This is also my first programming book bought on Kindle; the format works brilliantly and it's more manageable to have my Nexus 7 propped next to my laptop while I'm working rather than having to wrestle with a lump of dead tree that moves of its own accord far more than a dead thing should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CUDA by example, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
This is a good basic book on CUDA. CUDA can be quite difficult to pick up from reading web articles but this starts with basics and provides some of the low-end, simple stuff you need when you're starting out, so it fills in the gaps left by web resources which tend to be either high level and non-specific, or far too technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
Assuming you can code C to a decent standard, this book is perfect for an introduction. I would recommend the reader use this book in conjunction with the documentation on the website, especially when it comes to installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
Disclaimer: I havent completed the book yet, and I've not yet done the examples.

I was looking for an introduction to CUDA book and that is exactly what this is. The first few chapters are really good at slowly letting you into it, and whilst I haven't worked through the examples, the syntax gets pretty obvious. It does presume some knowledge of C, with things like malloc, free, etc (Which I don't have, but the purpose they serve are fairly obvious).

Strongly recommend, so far. Very well written, humorous at times, succint explanations, and very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
Good survey of GPU programming covering a number of key aspects well. Not deep but valuable for someone new to the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy the Kindle edition of this book..., 15 Jan 2011
...because all the sample code and all the images in the Kindle edition are hardly readable.
Once again Kindle editions of books containing not just plain text, but also images/tables/formulas/sample code, proved to be extremely disappointing. Almost £16 wasted on this, I can't really read the code examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect condition., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming (Paperback)
Brand new, perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming
CUDA by Example: An Introduction to General-Purpose GPU Programming by Edward Kandrot (Paperback - 19 July 2010)
£17.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews